We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful architecture

Beautiful church and architecture. The natural light and the stained glass in the main sanctuary... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PS93101
,
Santa Barbara, California
via mobile
Beautiful architecture

We visited during May when the sky was bright. There was a 5 NOR (about £4) charge each for entry... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Y5544DOnicolad
,
Upminster, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 3,050 reviews
  
Reviews (3,050)
Filter reviews
3,050 results
Traveler rating
891
1,126
793
175
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
891
1,126
793
175
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stained glass midnight concert across the bridge beautiful building modern architecture norwegian folk long bridge opening times worth a visit cable car midnight sun town centre northern lights acoustics organ pianist landmark
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,050 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Located on the far side of the bridge into Tromso, it’s a distinctive design. Worth a snap for any architecture fans.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

The simplicity of the architecture is the masterpiece - the stained glass reminds me of Klimt .Well worth a look inside .

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank yandinazetland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The Arctic Cathedral was an unexpected, dramatic sight against the dark background of a mountain ridge as our ship entered the harbor at Tromso. I took an easy bus ride from the ship to attend an afternoon organ concert. The hall has excellent acoustics. The organ is built in the French Romantic tradition and has an excellent sound. I have rarely heard such fire in an organ registration during the opening Bach prelude. The stained glass window was modern and an interesting study. At first I missed the hand of God descending toward the image of a broken Jesus. The cathedral (not actually the seat of the bishop, that church is downtown) was obviously underwhelming to some other reviewers, but my visit was very satisfactory and fondly remembered.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank walker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Interesting to see at night from afar. Not worth paying 50 nok to go inside. I wouldn’t even make it a stop at all if it wasn’t on the way to the cable car. There are magnificent churches all around the world for free - very disappointing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank JamiS131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

We walked on the bridge towards the Cathedral which offered a nice view. It was much more prettier from across the bridge and outside than inside. There was really nothing much to see inside and we felt the 50 NOK was too expensive and not worth paying.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank sllim2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews