We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lower Yelland Farm
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
$83
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$182
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durrant House(Bideford)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Hotel(Barnstaple)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Bideford)(Great Value!)
$123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Barnstaple)
$123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel(Barnstaple)(Great Value!)
$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
131
22
3
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
22
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadhot tubtarka trailon arrivaldirect accesswarm welcomeinstow beachinstow armsdecking areagas bbqfour poster bedfantastic weekfish and chip shophome madebe booking againexcellent place to stayperfect stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 160 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

On 21/03/2014 my parents,nan & dog stayed at your B&B, they thoroughly enjoyed their stay, very welcoming,clean, different food choices at breakfast, nice walks. thank you for your hospitality! They will be visiting again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaW468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

I am pleased that they all enjoyed their stay and look forward to having them back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were grateful to receive a call from Peter the Proprietor to check when we were arriving as we were running late. We were welcomed by Peter who is a lovely man and a great host. Our little dog Rocky was not a problem and made very welcome. Peter was great by recommending local pubs and restaurants that are dog friendly, we took his advice and had a great evening meal out. The room with its double poster bed was delightful and the area so quiet. In the morning I have to say we were up a little late but breakfast was outstanding with an amazing choice - best Full English also cereal, yogurts and the best fresh farm eggs I've been served in a long time and freshly baked bread with home made jams! We were then able to run our dog out across the walk ways near by. Peter you have a beautiful place and I hope this review will go some way to let all others out there know that if you're planning to go to North Devon definitely check out Lower Yelland Farm. One small comment if I may - some music or radio in the breakfast room may be an idea. x Great stay thanks so much and so reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Spent 5 days ,including Feb. 3rd, our 50th anniversary. We stayed in room 5 which is on the ground floor being ideal as my wife has great difficulty ascending stairs .The room was spacious and clean.Breakfast was excellent ,especially the free range eggs.By free range I mean eggs from hens wandering wild on the farm and not from hens wandering confined in a large shed with 1000s of other hens .My wife tells me the home made preserves are excellent Over breakfast we spent time discussing our both ,that's Peters and our confrontations with energy and phone suppliers.We concluded there must be thousands of people who have been or attempting to sort out problems with deaf utility suppliers. I would recommend this b&b as I am assured your visit will be agreeable and we will ,I hope,be returning later this year for a revisit.The only down side is when I booked in early January Peter did not tell this was going to be the worst stormy weekend since records began.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raymond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We are delighted that you chose Lower Yelland to celebrate your 50th anniversary and hopefully you will return for many more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our 3rd stay,,we love it here.
You are made to feel welcome from the minute you arrive,The breakfast is fabulous.. homemade bread! And owner Peter Day's scramble egg is to die for!!
Peter and his team are friendly and kind.
The rooms have everything u need and are clean and cosy... love the one with the fourposter.
Also they are dog friendly
looking forward to our nxt stay with our puppy...

1  Thank sallyannewidlke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thanks very much for your lovely review, looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Made to feel like one of the family on arrival Peter is a great host who cooks a mean breakfast and bakes some beautiful bread also a great sense of humour and wealth of local knowledge.Always a delight to go back for the odd night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodger1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thanks for your kind words, you are always welcome at Lower Yelland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews