We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise found!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just spent five wonderful days at Rihiveli with my two daughters. The resort, which is one of the first to be established in the Maldives, is located on arguably one of the most stunning islands in the Maldives. Its surrounded by a very large and beautiful blue lagoon, with two smaller islands opposite, to which one can kayak or walk. The resort itself is unpretentious and laid back, and their "no news no shoes" approach makes perfect sense if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. The food is fantastic and the staff are awesome. Everyone was friendly and helpful, from the waiters in the restaurant, the staff managing the water sports to the guest relations staff. The bungalows have no TVs, but we got to watch the World Cup semi-finals with the staff in their recreational area, which was fantastic. We love this place and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the sunrise side, between reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Andre M,

Very happy to read that you had a wonderful time at Rihiveli and thank you for sharing your honest views with our Rihiveli Followers!

Indeed, as you experienced daily while here, we have no gimmicks or artificial perks at Rihiveli, everything comes from the heart and this is the UNIQUENESS of our people !

Please do come back to visit us in a near future!

Best regards,
Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    120
    33
    2
    10
See reviews for
176
494
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Just back from a short but incredible weekend at Rihiveli. The resort is somewhat different in style, certainly to the one other resort i have stayed but also versus the research i did before this trip. Firstly it is not pretentious in any way, it is down to earth and yet very special. I stayed with a good friend for a girls weekend, easily possible when living in Dubai. Its only a 3.5 hour flight, followed by a fun and less than an hour speed boat trip to the resort. We booked a standard twin bungalow and we were really pleasantly surprised with how lovely it was, very clean, very minimalist and white but with a real warm touch of colour. The towels (bath and beach) were soft and fluffly and very large, this just adds to the care they have put in to the experience. We were greeted by the staff at the jetty, asked to follow the traditional "no news no shoes" concept and from there we felt like we were in heaven. The island is small and well set out. all the public areas are in the sand and it makes you feel like you are on the beach all the time. The beaches on both sides of the island are white sand and stunning. it only takes a few minutes to walk around the whole resort. you can swim or snorkle across to one the two islands close by. there are many watersports included, we only sis the snorkelling but it was superb. a speed boat ride out to a reef, on the way we saw a huge group of dolpins playing in the waves followed by 2 turtles on the reef and a shoal of amazing yellow fish who "danced" through the sea. Thinking there wouldn't be too much partying, we were very happy to find that the Friday night "white party" was very much about having fun, a dance and a few cocktails. The rate was fullboard and the food was superb. the drinks were reasonable compared to Dubai, but probably a bit expensie when compared to Europe. (around 8 to 10 US$ for a cocktail). The staff were excellent, a few stood out (our snorkel guide, our evening bar man, the excellent lady who greeted us and got us dancing). We had a massage, which was comparable to Dubai in terms of price and quality (balinese style). All in all woudl thoroughly recommend for families, couples, girls trips, boys trips diving etc..

Room Tip: We really liked being on the restaurant side, Amphipirion bungalow, it was very close to the water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Cheryl I,

THANK YOU!!!

Very true, your views on Rihiveli.! We do stand very different compared to other resorts in the Maldives. Our concept appeals to all our guests and we want to keep it going in this direction, DOWN TO EARTH RESORT WITH A GENUINE SERVICE!!!

Please do come back soon again!

Best regards,
Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male'
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

One very unforgettable trip with my family. Excellent staffs, very friendly and yet very entertaining.. They will certainly make you feel like your part of the Resort Family. Surrounded by a picture perfect Turquoise lagoon horizon which extends to two small uninhibited islands. This is a rare sight, not all resorts can offer the natural beauty which Rihiveli can offer. A great place to spend your holidays.. Or a simple relax trip just to get away from the hectic city lifestyle. A truly relaxing experience.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riffmontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Riffmontero,

Thank you for these delightful views on Rihiveli., We really feel happy that you felt at home here,and we strongly believe that Rihiveli is a very down to earth,nature-friendly resort !

Please do come back anytime!!

All the very best,

Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Well, what to say) I'm absolutely in love with this place. It's an incredible, lovely, peaceful and beautiful island. Each and everyone will find something special for himself in there. You can simply chill on the beautiful beach with your pina colada enjoying unbelievable sunsets or to make yourself busy with snorkeling, kitesurfing and see the beauty of the sea from inside with professional and handsome;) divers. Cozy villas, extremely friendly personnel, thematic dinners every evening and beautiful Maldives.. What else do you desire for your vacations?!) special thx to Valerie! It was great and I hope to come back soon! Anna

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Anna,

You came to Rihiveli and you had a great time!! Thanks for your genuine comments and please do visit us anytime in the future.

Best regards,

Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Unbelievable holiday and one that I will never forget! I cannot wait to return to Rihiveli! All water sports are free of charge except for scuba diving which is reasonably priced. The staff are phenomenal! There is a good selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The freshly barbecued fish is scrumptious! There are theme nights and entertainment most nights but if you enjoy peace and quiet, there's plenty of that too! You do as you please on the island. Anything goes! Truly relaxing resort. You feel part of the family!

Room Tip: All rooms are private bungalows and are adequately spaced from each other around the island to ensur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Loran_Qatar,

Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Rihiveli!! and thank you for posting these beautiful comments.

Please do come back soon again!!

Best regards,
Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is just awesome. Valerie is very accommodating. The staff were just as friendly as can be. They will make you feel at home. Best view for sunset,lovely food. Boat ride was long, but who cares! Even the birds in the island are friendly! I will surely come back and relax again whenever I need my sanity back. :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Hour_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Happy_Hour_09,


Thank you for your views on Rihiveli!

Indeed, Rihiveli stands right in the middle of a unique lagoon stretch!!

See you soon again!

Best regards,
Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Amazing holidays spent in this breath taking Resort, the island, surrounding beaches, reefs are out of this world.
Super friendly and caring staff and very special thanks to Valerie who dealt very professionally with our booking, Gael who kept checking on our satisfaction during our stay in the resort and Saleem who was very personal and attentive towards us, taking care of our breakfast-lunch-dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarchaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce B, General Manager at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Oscarchaile,

Thank you for your nice comments!

We are very happy to read your comments and we are also excited to greet you again in a very near future!

Best regards,
Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,463 reviews
7.3 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,415 reviews
3.9 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
1,185 reviews
8.3 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,459 reviews
21.4 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes

Property: Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Address: South Male Atoll
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes boasts sea-facing bungalows, each with their own private terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean. Located in South Male Atoll, the resort has its own spa and restaurant which offers buffet meals and open-air dining. 400 metres from Sunrise Island and Bird Island, the resort is accessible from Male International Airport via a 1-hour speedboat ride. The fan-cooled bungalows open out to a private terrace and feature wooden flooring. A private garden with hammock or deck chairs leads to the lagoon water. Outdoor showers are available in the Deluxe Bungalows, complimenting the separate indoor bathroom. Guests can enjoy a variety of water sports including sailing, water-skiing and night snorkelling during their stay at Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes. Other recreation facilities include volleyball, tennis and billiards. Each day the resort's talented chefs prepare a different cuisine which can include French, Italian, Maldivian and Asian. Dinner is either a buffet or set menu depending on the daily theme, 3 times during the week dinner is set up on the beach to enjoy the beautiful starry nights. An extensive wine list is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihiveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing