We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You had us at Maruhabaa, see you soon Kandooma!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My friend and I booked a one-week All-inclusive package in Kandooma. We've never been to the Maldives before so we decided to upgrade to a water villa, to fully enjoy the crystal clear Maldivian sea from our room even at nighttime. We weren't disappointed. As soon as we got into our room on the first day, we saw a baby black-tipped reef shark swimming in front of our private sundeck. Two nights later, an eagle ray came to visit! There was always something to watch from the hammock, some strange-looking fish which kept us entertained. We were also very impressed with the cleanliness and lay-out of the room which looked exactly like it did on the website photos (this wasn't always the case in some resorts). The cleanliness of the bathroom exceeded our expectations. Everyday of our stay, housekeeping did a fantastic job. Well done.
The service from landing at Male to leaving the hotel was also exceptional. There was one small issue which we did not like - as soon as we were served drinks at the hotel lobby upon arrival, we were asked for either credit card or cash as a deposit of USD 700 was required, apparently for any 'extras' we might incur during our stay. It was quite shocking for us, considering the huge amount of money we already paid for the holiday. No harm done, we paid in cash at the end of our stay for the excursions and they cancelled the credit card charge. We preferred not to have had that experience, though. After that, the rest of the holiday was a dream! Almost 98% of the staff we met during our stay had a warm greeting and nice smile (we assumed that those who didn't were just having a bad day). The restaurant staff, chefs and bartenders all seemed genuinely interested in making our dining experience pleasurable. Food and drinks were very good and varied, and more enjoyable with lively banter from staff like Anees and Raja (Kandooma cafe).
There was a big pool which was just lovely to soak in during the afternoons. The views into the ocean from the pool was great and I found it perfect for just watching the goings-on at the jetty for the day. What really made our holiday memorable was the beauty of the crystal clear waters of the Maldivian sea. We're not good swimmers but we're still able to fully enjoy the sea with the help of everyone from the Kandooma Water Sports Center! The resort provided free snorkelling lessons and trips which we joined almost daily. They were very patient with novices like us and were more than happy to assist us in any way. On one of the trips, my friend suffered from leg cramps and needed to be hauled back into the boat. The assistance we received was truly exceptional and nobody made us feel like we were an inconvenience. They even made sure that we made the most of our time on the boat while waiting for other snorkellers by telling us more about the reefs, and of course, joining in the picture-taking! Special thanks to Ahu, Capt. Naseer, Tele-tele and everyone on the boat that day! We went on a 2nd dolphin cruise with Robyn, resident marine biologist, which she rearranged for us as the first trip was unsuccessful. The 2nd time was awesome, we saw loads of dolphins and they seemed to want to show off their acrobatic jumps and spins! Thanks, Robyn. We also went on a catamaran sailing (highly recommended) with Ali who made us feel at ease on the catamaran, considering it was our first time. He took us to a beautiful reef and my friend even saw a turtle! We also went on a night fishing excursion where everybody had a good catch. It was part of our AI package, however upon arrival at the resort, we were told they didn't offer the free excursion anymore eventhough it was on the Thomson website. Our rep, Lou, was able to sort it out about 4 days later, which we were happy about. We caught a lot of fish and they cooked it for free and served it at dinner that same night. Lovely.
Kandooma offers free Wi-Fi all around the island and one can even use computers in the Library. There's a well-equipped gym (also very clean and well-maintained), and a Spa which we didn't use (we thought it was a bit overpriced). There's also a Diving Center which was quite irrelevant to non-swimmers like us. The Kids' Club had table tennis which we were able to use before the evening entertainment started.There was a variety of nightly entertainment including a very informative Marine Biology night, Trivia, Bingo, Boduberu (Maldivian drums-playing), Karaoke (which I regrettably participated in without maxing out on the alcohol first!!) and live bands which played on 2 different nights. We liked the first band better, they played more contemporary songs. The most entertaining for us though was the Crab race, organized by Roto and Ahu (multi-talented, aren't you?), who had the crowd, adults and children alike, in stitches. It was such a good laugh, don't miss it.
All in all, we can say that this was our best holiday ever, not only because we were surrounded by Maldives' exceptional beauty, but also due to the warmth and friendliness everybody showed us during our stay. We really felt like we were in the company of friends. Shukkuriyaa, Kandooma. See you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheru_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I travelled to Kandooma with my son, his wife and my two granddaughters aged 4 and 6. The accommodation was excellent,clean, modern and bright with white washed floorboards and good decor,Ipod docking station and flat screen TVS (which we never watched - too busy relaxing). The bathrooms were great with outside showers where we could watch the fruit bats in the trees while showering. We stayed in a family villa which was kept really tidy (we are not the tidiest of families) and spotless every day. There was a great choice of food - we mainly ate the buffet and we all agreed that it was good value. The island doesn't have a house reef although that's being worked on but we went on the free 3.00 pm snorkelling trip most days which was great and my son went on the scuba diving trips (extra but worth it he said) . My husband and daughter-in-law enjoyed the night fishing and the restaurant staff prepared their 'huge' catch which we BBQ'd outside the villa - bliss! Overall the restaurant staff were very good and our thanks to Hussein who looked after us so well. The girls enjoyed the beautiful swimming pool which is very well designed with lots of shallow areas and some shade too. We had a great time at the resort and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Very good value. We have not been to the Maldives before, but have stayed in some very comfortable hotels elsewhere in the world and were slightly concerned that Holiday Inn might not be up to their levels. However we were very pleasantly surprised, and the holiday exceeded our expectations.

The transfers from the airport worked well. 45 minutes in a boat from door to door.

We stayed for 10 days, in a beach bungalow. It was clean, the bed was large and comfortable. The room had effective air conditioning, wifi (slow but free), real coffee, fresh orange juice (oranges and juicer), outdoor shower, verandah with sofa and hammock. Helpful room attendant, who arranged to clean room at a time that was convenient to us and provided us with extra beach towels. The hotel asked us if they could update the locks to the room one day when we were out diving, and gave us a bottle of champagne to thank us (and we had been out anyway, so it was not remotely inconvenient). We had drinks one evening in the flagship overwater villa. It had 2.5 bedrooms (ie one double, one twin and one small bunk room), kitchenette, sitting room, dining area and sunbathing deck.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We booked "room only" so ate in all the restaurants. The price was broadly similar in all three. The Kitchen Restaurant was slightly more expensive, but good quality. They even provided a birthday cake for us. We had lunch most days in the poolside restaurant, and ate in the buffet for "local" food night and the beach barbecue, both of which were good.

The hotel has its own Dive Centre which is run by EuroDivers. They were efficient and well equipped. The hotel is close to some very good dive sites. We are experienced divers and were very satisfied, although not sure how suitable the diving would be for complete beginners, due to currents etc. We saw lots of grey sharks and white tip reef sharks, turtles, dolphins, plus all the usual smaller fish.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCCubitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Overall, we enjoyed it. Hotel villas were nice but far away from the pool and eating areas. If you stay in room then this is the place to stay. Not much to do on the atoll but sit at beach which was not the best unless you were directly in front of the pool. Pool area was large and nice but could have had better service. I never got service on the beach or pool. Had to go to bar and get myself. Check-in and check-out was good though. The price of the room is the least of your concern when you see the price of beer and food though. Can expect to spend on food and drinks what you spent for the room every day but I guess that is the price you pay for staying in the Maldives. Overall, if you like nothing to do all day and night, then stay here and enjoy the solitude. If you like more action and better food steer clear to another hotel or atoll.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

was impressed with this hotel from first contact which was booking then arranging transfers which they did very well and effectively

room was immaculate, had a beach view villa, a relatively cheap room but very well equipped including knives, forks, all sorts of plates and things so you could actually bring some food and not pay island prices. also contained all types of glass even cocktail shakers which was very impressive, highly effective AC , and good quality of cleaning, cleaner even asks when is the best time for cleaning to minimise inconvenience

outdoor shower very cool but yes u will find ants and quite afew of them, best leave the light switched on it seems to discourage them, if u leave it off and visit bathroom in middle of night u will find 15 to 30 ants (and once actually a crab) having a party there which can be a shock

good well maintained fitness centre which was never busy, good to escaope the midday sun

food was very good, pizzas overrated though

service was excellent throughout, never felt taken advantage of or hassled for tips 12% service is included to all bills but was never 100% certain whether that goes to staff or hotels so still gave cash tips sometimes when service very good

prices not as high as i expected about the same as low to medium price rest. in lonodn however the difference is most people dont eat out every meal for a week so it soon adds up with transfres you wont escape with a bill under 1200 usd for the week even if you dont have lunch

cheapest wine is 39 usd a bottle ( a south african rose which i can recommend) but beer at 5 usd (but not a pint) is reasonably priced i think

the kitchen rest. is very good and not a great deal more expensive than the basic rest if u dont go crazy, i preferred it by far, nice to have a candlelit dinner with white sand at your feet and the sea lapping only 2 or 3 yards away

btw the 2 for 1 cocktails finished in december 2010 which was a surprise but not a disaster cocktails are very good and not expensive at about 15 usd each

good mix of countries with no one country dominating and varies day to day a small smattering of east europeans to make the beach more pretty

internet in room painfully slow, basically unusable , internet in reception a bit better but wouldnt ever work with hotmail which was odd

didnt try andy spa treatment, opened the menu saw a couples massage for 500 usd and closed it immediately never to open again, too pricey, better to top up on teh spa stuff next time you are in thailand and it will be a tenth of the price

about 3 usable beaches which vary interms of smooth / rockiness best take water shoes then u dont need to worry at all , main beach fine without shoes and very beautiful typical picture postcard stuff

pool very pretty but mostly shallow better for posing than swimming and not a great deal of shade at the beach, and where there is many loungres crammed in but still a relaxing environment

quite a few thing to do such as pool, table football, table tennis in evening plus films slidehsows etc, nothing in the way fo bars / clubs but that sprobbaly not why youre there
there was a band on saturday whom i thought were excellent also and really really desrve a bigger audience than playing im a hotel

didnt find the various taxes / service fees an issue as had booked with holiday inn own website up front so i knew what i was paying for and all the various adds ons (10% tax, another 3.5% tax, bed tax 16 usd a day, another flat rate tax tax and something else i cannot even recall) were included and nothing extra added at checkout which was a nice surprise i think with maldives generally booking with teh hotels own site is teh way to go to avoid surprises

all in all excellent and highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IRBaboonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We went for our honeymoon there for 5 days upon the recommendation of another couple, which was such an awesome and unforgettable experience! Apart from the fact that the maldives is a paradise,this hotel island made it extra special!!
Very friendly and helpful staff who would do anything to make your experience better!
Unique food at breakfast and dinner with amazing variety of cuisones and restaurants at dinner!! We tried the seafood restaurant the snack bar and the main restaurant which offers different cuisine each night for every taste! We know we loved the indian and far eastern which made us regret not going for the italian!
Lots of activities in the morning.the dolphin cruise was just fantastic!we must've been lucky to see all of these dolphins!
Although it's difficult to go out of the island at night,they made sure there are activities to enjoy ea h night! Make sure to stay a week to try all their activities!!
The room is always fresh and clean.the only thing that buggrd us were the ants,but we discovered it comes with the wildlife experience there plus there's ant spray in the room for your use.
The water current issue in which there are areas u cant swim in on the island is another disadvantage that came with the natural experience but we got over it once we found areas in which u can swim!make sure to get water shoes because it's rocky on shore;)
A definite plus we discovered on our way home is that they provide transportation if your flight is at night.a lot of the other hotels make u leave early for that reason!just make sure u book ur roundtrip from and to the airport in advance and notify the hotel of ur flight details;)
Value for price is very good!!
We really thank the hotel for making it a perfect experience we'll never forget!! I hope we can come back again!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed in this resort for only two nights but was quite happy with the facilities, the cleanliness and confort. Food was of a good standard for the Maldives (the breakfast though, was standard).
The pool is big and compensates a little bit for the lack of real sand beaches.
I recommend the private snorkling trip which is very well organized. There is also a daily and free-of-charge group snorkling trip.
The terrace provides guests with one of the nicest sunset you can experience in the Maldives.
Wireless Internet was poor but one cannot expect better in the aera.
I had an issue paying with an AMEX due to a broken connection or crowded network but the Visa was ok.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWGoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandoomaafushi Island
24.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,774 reviews
8.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,484 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
1,942 reviews
1.7 mi away
Biyadhoo Island Resort
Biyadhoo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Biyaadhoo Island
1,499 reviews
15.1 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Address: Kandooma Fushi
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range: $121 - $832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives. Let speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary Maldives holiday resort in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort (R) Kandooma Maldives, with world-class diving and surfing facilities at your doorstep. Our beach villas ooze style and boast elegant touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and enjoy views over the peaceful lagoon. You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and other beauty treatments at our Kandooma Spa and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Discover a Maldives hotel for family here, where you can learn to sail on a catamaran around the region's sandbanks and sip on alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. Diving and snorkelling among colourful reefs is just five minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort(R) Kandooma Maldives. As a child-friendly Maldives hotel, your children will be kept entertained with face-painting and fun games, while parents can unwind with a game of tennis or a workout at the gym. Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing