We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveler rating
1,188
423
103
32
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,188
423
103
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant our waiter fish half board main restaurant our honeymoon table tennis an open air shower water sports per day curries male airport mini bar great holiday domestic airport sports facilities room boy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The emotional response from my wife when we arrived at the island proved we had made the right choice a beautiful jewel in the ocean . The beach villa was lovely with an outdoor shower and of course access to our own sun beds on the white sandy beach
The food was fantastic and the service very good the staff were very friendly and professional.
The spa is a must do it is the best we have ever been to.
The lagoon is stunning teaming with sea life a snorkelers dream and the scuba diving was fantastic. I would recommend the Royal island to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ctambrosebrickwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, Public Relations Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ctambrosebrickwork,
Greetings from Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your shared feedback following your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations during your birthday visit here at Royal Island . We are glad that you have enjoyed every step of your birthday holiday , especially from your experience towards our offered dining buffet, our Araamu Spa, and the pristine beach that Royal has to offer. We are delighted with all your kind words and compliments about our resort.

Thank you once again for your praising words and the exceptional recommendation. We are awaiting to provide another birthday paradise experience to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time visiting Royal Island Resort & Spa. Me and my two daughters (9and 14), and this time also together with my oldest daughter and her family, they have a daughter 5 years old. Something to do on this island for everyone regardless of age.
As last time we had a wonderful holiday. You have the choice of having calm days in the sun at the beach or at the pool which also have a child area. Or you can choose to do different activities. Its possible to borrow canoes, or do other water sport activities.
We had a private sunset boat trip that everyone enjoyed very much. We also had a trip to an under water restaurant.
And the island is not over crowded, you will always find sun beds at the beach, or at the pool. I can recommend to take a walk on the beach early in the morning and have a look at the beautiful sunrise. You will feel that you are almost alone in the island.
The staff is very professional, and provide very good service, thank you to everyone.
And a special thank you to Abdullah at the restuarant, for excellent service to all of us. And Ahmed at the reception for been very helpful, and making our holiday unforgettable.
Hoping to visit you again soon.
Frank, Kamilla and Elisa. Pia, Anders and Emma.

In Maldives there is a lot of high end resorts that is impossible for me and other people with a normal income to visit. We are hoping that Royal Island can continue as you do now.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank silderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, Public Relations Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear silderen,
Greetings from Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your shared feedback following your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed your expectations during your second visit here with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed every step of your stay, especially your experience with the activities that we offer, excursions and the facility that is available for both the kids and adults. We shall be pleased to share your appreciation to the mentioned staffs as this will certainly make them happy knowing that they have made your stay extra special. Our Royal Team aims to provide the perfect Maldives experience to all our valuable guests and we are beyond happy to have succeeded from your the second time around.

We thank you once again and we await to welcome you back for another paradise stay here at Royal Island.

Thank you and best regards,
Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice island, a lot of sport facilities, very friendly people, very good service, nice chalets on the beach with a lot of comfort, our own strandchairs with towels....
The only little remark is that everything was not included with all-in, no snacks and a very limited number of cocktails.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, Public Relations Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Krista V,
Greetings from Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your shared feedback following your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide a paradise on earth experience during your visit here at Royal Island. We thank you for your kind words about our facility, services and to our amazing staffs. However, we would like to apologize if we were unable to exceed your expectations in terms of the package that you have availed. We are pleased to inform you that our package entitlements has been fully informed thoroughly to our valuable guests, we do offer afternoon snacks to all our all inclusive guests which is stated clearly to the all inclusive information sheet that has been provided upon your arrival for your reference and guide during your stay.

Nonetheless, we do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you here with us!

Thank you and best regards,
Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the best islands to be in Maldives. The property is very clean well maintained and they have a beautiful beach with ample of marine life. We were a group of 6 with two kids and stayed here for 7 nights.

Things to lookout for when you select any property in maldives
Location: It should be far from the mainland male and preferably should be accesable by flight only. By flight only means the location will have less crowd movement and day picnic travellers. In case of Royal Island it is at an isolated location of an beautiful atol. The reef is damaged as rest of maldives but they have fantastic marine life (Sharks / rays / eels and unlimited colourful fishes). Entire periphery of the island have got beautiful corals which are reviving back. There aint any island close by so all throughout you will get unobstructed view. The sunset here were mesmerising.

Food:
We were a group of 6 with few vegetarian, royal island team went out of their way to see we were serviced properly and were given ample of veg dishes over and above the buffet. Infact they have a section for vegetarian options.
The service provided by the team here is perfect and will set new standards of hospitality.
Special mention to Murli and Sai for the ever smiling table service and also to chef Mahendra / Gopal / Mani for taking care of our requirement.
They kept a designated table for us for the entire trip and Murli was appointed to serve us the entire time. Murli understood and catered to every food requirement of ours.
In 7 nights there were various options to keep you not getting bored with buffet. All their deserts were very well made.

Room:
Bad news for all selfie Instagram travellers , there are no water villa. Which for others will be the best part of this island. No damage to the reef and 360 degree access to all. They have beautiful beach villa and garden villa. We stayed in beach villa which I would highly recommend. You would be twenty steps away from water when you open the back door. Sitting in the room we could spot rays and sharks in the water. Each villa has an open air shower , bathtub / fridge and all the necessity things. They have 42 inch tv with multiple channel options. Rooms are cleaned twice a day and housekeeping team are very well trained. Rahul was appointed for our room and he was bang on with his work. Always smiling and ready to help.

Spa:
We did use the Spa on property and would highly recommend them. Great service and well priced.

Excursion:
Private sandbank tour for 150$ per couple. In this they send you on an private island 15 mins away via speed boat. They provide lunch and wine along with an emergency phone.
The sandbank has one big shed and washroom. It is beautiful but there the reef around is all damaged for snorkelling. It is a great experience for honeymooners.

Shark Ray Feeding 20$ each: 5 mins away from the island. Get to see and touch nurse sharks and Sting rays. Good experience but feels more like visiting a zoo over being in the wild.

Turtle Snorkeling 74$: This was my best excursion out here. 20 mins speed boat ride. Got to see 8 turtles in the wild. Was lucky enough to have one come right at me where I could touch. If you comfortable swimming in the middle of the ocean do not miss this.

Scuba 140$: Was planning on doing it but saw the dive site where they take, realised thanks to the clarity of water and the shallow depth of reef, snorkelling was enough.

There are lot of other activities to do out here these are the ones we did.

Package:
We had taken half board package which I feel is the best option. For lunch we tried their ala carte menu. Alcohol is well priced for Maldives standard with 20% off happy hours in evening. Price for Tiger beer is 6$ and absolute vodka is 8$.

Tips:
Will recommended to carry the below things:
Snorkeling shoes
Suntan
Snorkeling mask full face for better visibility
property provides regular snorkelling sets for free.
Room Tip: Select beach villa around 240 - 212 number. They all are on the sunset side of the island with calmer water. Walk from 212 to restaurant is around 5 mins, 240 being the closest. Farther your room will give better privacy.

Overall this property is 100% recommended and will be going there soon to relive the memories.

Room tip: take room between 240-212
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nishantv0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, Public Relations Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear nishantv0ra,
Greetings from Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your shared feedback following your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to exceed all your expectations during you and your family's visit here at Royal Island. We are grateful with all the kind words and compliments you have for us. We shall be pleased to share your appreciation to the mentioned staffs as this will certainly make them happy knowing that they have made your stay extra special. We are delighted to learn of all your enjoyable experiences throughout your stay, from your excursion trip, our offered dining experience and most all from the warmth hospitality of our staffs. Our Royal Team aims to provide the best Maldives experience to all our valuable guests and we are honored to have succeeded from your end.

Thank you once again for your praising words and the exceptional recommendation. We are awaiting to provide another paradise experience to you.

Thank you and best regards,
Royal Island Resort and Spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent 2 days in this resort (I wish I could have stayed longer...
I loved every minute. All staff is amazing. Food is very good (notice that I am Italian.. So. little picky about the food). The island offer a lot of sports possibility from water sport to land such as badminton, tennis, beach volley, gym soon also yoga. It is very green with a lot of landscaping and old trees. The best part of course is the snorkeling. The house reef is abundant with life:i could see Turtles and sting rays and bBy shark very close to the shore.. And lots of colorful fish at the house reef. I was lucky to be there in summer season. In September it is Manta season. I did the excursion to See the mamtas (they never guarantee you see them, but I could not miss a lifetime opportunity).. And we found them. So amazingly beautiful to swim with them. I hope I can go back soon. I recommend this resort. I like the fact they did not destroy their reef and sealife to build watervillas. It is more of the natural original maldive island resorts. Rich in nature and quiet. Rooms are weel mainteined and comfortable. It is defenetely the best price quality value in one of the most beautiful Atol.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Eledamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews