We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveler rating
950
390
97
26
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
950
390
97
26
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantour waiterhalf boardfishour honeymoonroyal island resortmain restauranttable tennissea planewater sportscurriesper daypalm treesbuffet stylemale airportgreat holidayreef sharks
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2017

I am writing this review on the back terrace of our villa, 10 meters away from the ocean.it's 6 30 in the morning, I am looking at the Royal Resort employees, they are cleaning each morning the leaves fallen from the trees, when you wake up all is white and blue!
The island is beautiful, surrounded by clear waters with lot of places for snorkeling, we were surprised by the large variety of fishes swimming just 15 meters away from the beach. Closer than that, just 1 meter from the shore you can see sometimes the reef sharks, small size sharks, you should not fear them at all.
If we are speaking of animals on the island you will see and especially you will hear the bats, different kind of lizards, crabs, etc. All are part of the fauna here in the island, no danger for the tourists and very interesting to observe.
The beach villa is very nice, well furnished and it has everything someone could use during his holiday, The room and bathroom are very spacious, the terrace very nice as it offers beautiful view over the ocean. The minibar and the prices are ok considering all these imported things, drinking water you will get for free but only 1 liter/day.
Restaurant is really ok, you get a table upon your arrival and you will keep it during your entire stay. The food is plenty, of course you will not get European buffet, the accent is on oriental food. Anyhow you will find a lot of nice dishes, various steaks( except for pork), salads, sweets, etc. The drinks are only included if you have an all inclusive plan , otherwise you have tp pay for water and alcoholic beverages. At breakfast you will get for free different fruit juices, coffee and tea.
There are a lot of activities which you can join here ( extra charged ) , we went on a dolphin safari which was very nice and we've seen many dolphins swimming and jumping half meter from the speed boat, i do recommend it.
We had also a lobster dinner at the restaurant on the other side of the island ( a la carte restaurant) and it was worth it. The dinner was a bit expensive but we've had an unique romantic experience, tables arranged at the sea front, torchlights, very nice service and plenty of food. If you can spend few extra bucks, don't miss it!
There is also a big bar, with pool tables, where you can have a variety of cocktails, wines, and where they organize dance and karaoke nights.
The bar is located near the central swimming pool which can be used during daylight by anybody on the island, sun beds are available, beach towels, waiter service and even a water bar.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend more time at the swimming pool or bar you shall request a room close to the center of the island.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raduf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Dear raduf11

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort an it is great to know that you have enjoyed every step you made during your stay at Royal Island. Our ultimate goal is to provide an unforgettable experience to each and every one of our guests and we are happy to know that we succeed in your case.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and we truly hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

We stayed at Royal Island resort for ten days and had a great time! Bungalow and food was great with good variation but if we would have stayed longer it would have been a little boring. The main surprize was the snorkling at Royal Isl house reef, definatley one of the best reefs I have visited, very easy to access with a huge variation of marine life, I´m not used to see reef sharks at almost every snorkling trip!
We spent a lot of time with the the dive center, the staff was great and the dive sites was in general in a very good conditon. We saw many sharks, turtles, eagle rays, manta rays beside all small fishes and coralls!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Roger S

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort an it is great to know that you have enjoyed every step you made during your stay at Royal Island. Our ultimate goal is to provide an unforgettable experience to each and every one of our guests and we are happy to know that we succeed in your case.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

It was great, and everything was great organized, Staff was friendly. The rooms were very nice, and the food was very good. You could relax but also do a lot of water sports. Also you could snorkel great

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Vero G

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort & your words tell us that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your short & sweet feedback, We are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Perfect place for those who need peace and calmness.. really good service, tasty food and of course gorgeous nature snorkling is a must! Drinks r not that expensive as others were mentioning in their reviews.. Beers, cocktails u can get for around 10$. We have only breakfast and dinner which is more than enough.
Basically Its a paradise that is strongly recommended to visit!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Karolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Karolina J

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort & your words tell us that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your compliments and recommendation, we are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Stayed on Royal Island for 10 days last month, after my partner booked it as a surprise Birthday treat. The resort exceeded both our expectations! We were expecting a beautiful setting, but the service and quality of the food really impressed us too.

We usually avoid all-inclusive holidays, but the quality of the food here was terrific. As well as a great selection of hot and cold food, they run live 'kitchen stations' every mealtime where the chefs prepare a number of other dishes as you wait. Fresh fish and other meats are also grilled on the BBQ daily. As you'd expect from the location, fresh fruits are in abundance too. Mid-afternoon snacks are served between lunch and dinner though we were usually too full from lunch!

The all-inclusive deal includes house wines, cocktails, local spirits and Tiger beer (as well as soft drinks, water and tea/coffee). Yes, imported drinks are quite expensive, but surely people expect this?! It wasn't an issue for us.

Our waiter (Wisham) was very attentive and always made our mealtimes pleasant. The flowers on the table on our last night were a very nice touch!

We ate at the À la carte restaurant one evening, which was fabulous. Slightly expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion (top notch food and wine selection). Eating by candlelight on the beach was a memorable experience!

Would recommend the nurse shark/manta feeding excursion (short, but cheap and fascinating to see them up close). Snorkelling around the island is a must! We saw hundreds of tropical fish, as well as eels, crabs, reef sharks, black tip sharks (harmless) and a turtle... incredible stuff.

Lovely bungalow leading directly onto beach. Solih (housekeeping) was very thorough and came to clean the room and deliver clean towels twice a day. The only downside was the fact that the room was conjoined with another. This was fine for most of our trip, until a loud, annoying couple arrived on our last day. Worth checking this when booking if you want to avoid potentially noisy neighbours!

All in all, a magical trip and I wouldn't hesitate to return to Horubadhoo. Transfers all ran smoothly and the 24 hour journey from the UK was well worth it in our opinion!

Room Tip: Request a detached room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie_3656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Ellie_3656

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort. It is great to know that you have enjoyed every step you made during your stay at Royal Island. Our ultimate goal is to provide an unforgettable experience to each and every one of our guests and we are happy to know that we succeed in your case.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and we are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews