We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,494)
Filter reviews
1,494 results
Traveler rating
949
390
97
26
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
949
390
97
26
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantour waiterhalf boardfishour honeymoonroyal island resortmain restauranttable tennissea planewater sportscurriesper daypalm treesbuffet stylemale airportgreat holidayreef sharks
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,494 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017

We stayed at Royal Island resort for ten days and had a great time! Bungalow and food was great with good variation but if we would have stayed longer it would have been a little boring. The main surprize was the snorkling at Royal Isl house reef, definatley one of the best reefs I have visited, very easy to access with a huge variation of marine life, I´m not used to see reef sharks at almost every snorkling trip!
We spent a lot of time with the the dive center, the staff was great and the dive sites was in general in a very good conditon. We saw many sharks, turtles, eagle rays, manta rays beside all small fishes and coralls!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Roger S

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort an it is great to know that you have enjoyed every step you made during your stay at Royal Island. Our ultimate goal is to provide an unforgettable experience to each and every one of our guests and we are happy to know that we succeed in your case.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope that we will get another chance to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

It was great, and everything was great organized, Staff was friendly. The rooms were very nice, and the food was very good. You could relax but also do a lot of water sports. Also you could snorkel great

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Vero G

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort & your words tell us that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your short & sweet feedback, We are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Perfect place for those who need peace and calmness.. really good service, tasty food and of course gorgeous nature snorkling is a must! Drinks r not that expensive as others were mentioning in their reviews.. Beers, cocktails u can get for around 10$. We have only breakfast and dinner which is more than enough.
Basically Its a paradise that is strongly recommended to visit!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Karolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Karolina J

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort & your words tell us that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your compliments and recommendation, we are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Stayed on Royal Island for 10 days last month, after my partner booked it as a surprise Birthday treat. The resort exceeded both our expectations! We were expecting a beautiful setting, but the service and quality of the food really impressed us too.

We usually avoid all-inclusive holidays, but the quality of the food here was terrific. As well as a great selection of hot and cold food, they run live 'kitchen stations' every mealtime where the chefs prepare a number of other dishes as you wait. Fresh fish and other meats are also grilled on the BBQ daily. As you'd expect from the location, fresh fruits are in abundance too. Mid-afternoon snacks are served between lunch and dinner though we were usually too full from lunch!

The all-inclusive deal includes house wines, cocktails, local spirits and Tiger beer (as well as soft drinks, water and tea/coffee). Yes, imported drinks are quite expensive, but surely people expect this?! It wasn't an issue for us.

Our waiter (Wisham) was very attentive and always made our mealtimes pleasant. The flowers on the table on our last night were a very nice touch!

We ate at the À la carte restaurant one evening, which was fabulous. Slightly expensive, but well worth it for a special occasion (top notch food and wine selection). Eating by candlelight on the beach was a memorable experience!

Would recommend the nurse shark/manta feeding excursion (short, but cheap and fascinating to see them up close). Snorkelling around the island is a must! We saw hundreds of tropical fish, as well as eels, crabs, reef sharks, black tip sharks (harmless) and a turtle... incredible stuff.

Lovely bungalow leading directly onto beach. Solih (housekeeping) was very thorough and came to clean the room and deliver clean towels twice a day. The only downside was the fact that the room was conjoined with another. This was fine for most of our trip, until a loud, annoying couple arrived on our last day. Worth checking this when booking if you want to avoid potentially noisy neighbours!

All in all, a magical trip and I wouldn't hesitate to return to Horubadhoo. Transfers all ran smoothly and the 24 hour journey from the UK was well worth it in our opinion!

Room Tip: Request a detached room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie_3656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2018

Dear Ellie_3656

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

We are honored to receive your compliments regarding our resort. It is great to know that you have enjoyed every step you made during your stay at Royal Island. Our ultimate goal is to provide an unforgettable experience to each and every one of our guests and we are happy to know that we succeed in your case.

Thank you once again for your detailed review and we are awaiting to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

food? always the same. the all inclusive not include expressos, ice creams, snacks apart from 4pm to 6pm!!! And The drinks are a joke!! prices? high!!! some waiters in the bar are always trying to slowdown you, taking so much time to bring your drink!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Bruno Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal-Maldives, General Manager at Royal Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Dear Bruno Daniel P

Sunny greetings from Royal Island!

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in Royal Island Resort and Spa.

Our team is committed to fulfill the expectations of each & everyone of our guests, but I am regret to hear that we couldn't accomplish your requirements.

We appreciate all your comments and highlights of the areas where we missed your expectations and I hope that we will have another opportunity welcome you back

Best Regards
Royal Island Resort & Spa



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews