We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Heavenly Experience....!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuda-Funafaru Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Hotel is amazingly build with every thing picture perfect. The Pool aqua villas were amazing, the villa had a big room well furnished and the bath was amazing with a jacuzzi for 4 adults. The view was mesmerizing and the pool was cheery on the top. The staff were friendly and well mannered, they took care of every little needs....this was by far the most amazing resort i have been to really loved it <3..!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2008

Since this will be the first review of Kuda Funafaru I will try my best to be as detailed as possible.

We arrived into Male on the 09 Sep 08. We were met by our agent who quickly introduced us to the Zitahli representative who took care of our bags and escorted us to the Zitahli lounge. It is a shared lounge with some of the other resorts but is not busy, you are offered drinks and food at no cost until your seaplane arrives. The seaplane flight is 45 minutes if there are no stops, we had 2 on the way but each stop only added about 10 minutes each to the flight time.

The seaplane did a ‘fly around’ of the island before landing and it is truly beautiful, the island itself is only 1km long and some 300m wide so walking to any of the facilities is only minutes away. On arrival we were welcomed by Jeffry (Front of house manager), Alistair (Executive Chef) and a number of other staff. It was here we were told we were only the second couple to arrive since its opening on the 04 Sep 08! We were somewhat apprehensive when we heard this but this was quickly alleviated once we got settled in.

We were taken by buggy to our deluxe water villa on the north side of the island. The villa itself was wonderful, with all the modern conveniences you would expect for a 5 star resort, in particular the Bose sound system with Ipod connection is fantastic. I have attached pictures for you to see for yourself rather than go on about it too much in the review. The housekeeping staff are very attentive and the villa was always kept spotless by our houseboy with minimal disruption to us.

There is only one word for the food here – Fantastic! Since there were only 4 guests on the island we were asked what we would the chefs to prepare, there was no menu whatsoever! Quality and presentation was out of this world, I have eaten in many restaurants around the globe and the food here comes high on the list of the best places I have eaten in. I just hope the staff can maintain this level of service when the island gets to capacity.

The snorkeling on the north side of the island is very good with the south side being cloudy due to the necessary digging of a channel for boats and aircraft. We did 2 dives on the house reef which was fantastic, a massive range of species including turtles and octopus seen on both dives. If youre keen on diving then this is the place to come!

As with all new resorts there are a few teething problems on the island but these didn’t really affect us to any great extent. There was no WiFI in the villa’s and I found myself having to take my laptop to reception or the restaurant to use the internet. It did get going in the villas around day 5 but we lost it again towards the end of the week. Also, there was no TV reception but since we had no intention of watching TV it had little impact. I understand from other guests there were a few problems with the gym but we didn’t use it but I believe the aircon problems have now been rectified. There is no shop yet so make sure you have all your supplies for your stay, Jeffry advised if we need anything they can get it shipped in but we never needed to.

I think we were very lucky to be one of the first guests to arrive, it was like having your own personal island with 250 staff to look after your needs! Anyone who goes here will fall in love with the place and Im sure that with more people on the island it will only add to our next great vacation at the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank RobEH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
1  Thank 507stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mapou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taegong81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fwittchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gue_Sie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kuda Funafaru Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuda Funafaru Resort and Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Noonu Atoll > Kuda-Funafaru Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuda-Funafaru Island
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing