We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort for water sports fans”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

When I decided to book a trip to Maldives with my wife to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we were looking for a hotel/resort that could offer both the commodities of an ocean villa and a good access to the surf breaks. The Adaaran Prestige is the resort that has the best of both worlds. The ocean villas are really nice and the overall resort facilities are very good. The island has its own surf break (Lohi's) that the guests have exclusive access, so you have good waves at a walking distance from your villa. Besides that, every two days they have a boat that can take you to the other nearby breaks like Sultan's, Ninjas, Chickens and Jailbreak. They water sports team have a good selection of surfboards (Rusty, Firewire, etc) and SUP's that you can rent. They also have a diving school where you can take your PADI certificate and offer several snorkeling and fishing trips.
Definitely the only two points that there are room for improvement are the food and the quality of the bathroom amenities. Since is an "all inclusive" deal, all the meals are on a buffet. The food is not bad but after three days the food is basically the same. They are very economic on soap and shampoo, so bring your own.
Besides this we had an amazing time at the Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas and I really recommend it for anyone who wants to enjoy this paradise island.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side have a fantastic view of the sunrise meanwhile the ones on the right view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ganhama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this break as more or less a last minute job - having had a very stressful two months of the year - we decided to get away! Our usual carriers Virgin and BA had nothing that we really fancied so we trawled through the Internet and settled on this place - booked business class flights with Emirates and a three week all inclusive holiday in the water villas. Then.... oh my we read some of the reviews on here ( a little back to front I appreciate - but thats the way it was). Worry set in - some of the reviews where awful!
Flight was great - well looked after as we would expect by Emirates and their staff. No issues at the airport at Male on arrival. Downside - boat transfer from male to the resort was to say the least very uncomfortable - very bouncy and our seats at the front of the boat - awful - so avoid these seats if you wish to keep your spine intact!
Arrival at the resort - absolutely super - Abdul our butler arrived almost immediately and we were whisked away on a 'Golf Buggy' to our lovely residence for three weeks.
Bungalow and facilities were great complete with a four poster bed - mini bar (extra cost) great bathroom and a fantastic sun-deck with direct access to the sea - very private!
Food - great - just remember that this is (unless you choose the a la cart'e menu) a buffet menu - the meals are varied - but I noticed that people were tempted to put a bit of everything on their plate - well this can of course lead to complaints that the meals become 'samey' and boring - choose your meal and take just that! Our waiter was Ananan and he looked after us very very well - always a smile and very polite. You can eat outside on the 'sea deck' or inside - as a resident of the Ocean Villas you eat in the 'Sunset Restaurant.' Breakfast is also great - you eat at 'Breeze Restaurant' which is situated actually with the Ocean Villas - waiter service - sit outside on the water deck or inside in the air conditioned interior - watch the fish waiting in shoals for a snippet of bread!
There are many other facilities and I have to confess I didn't use them all - Tennis Courts look fine (I didn't use them) Great Fitness centre. Great Dive Centre and 'Yumi' will take great care of you!
The manager of the Ocean Villas came to see us on two occasions enquiring if we were OK - and impressed upon us that if anything was not up to scratch to speak to him immediately.
Well I can't leave this without saying that our sheets were changed every day as were our towels - the villa was cleaned and spotless everyday - many thanks to our room boy (did't get his name).
Last of all I have to mention the 'Coconut Spa' - now normally I wouldn't attend these treatments - just not my thing - BUT - the staff are absolutely lovely and my introduction to massage - well what can I say - fantastic - Ayu is the manager a lovely lady - Julia - Junia - Sari all fabulous - well done and thank you so much for looking after us.
Well to continue would maybe get a little boring - I can't comment really about the beach villas or other accommodation - this was our seventh trip to the Maldives - we have stayed in some very expensive resorts - I would rate this one among the top - don't be put off - go for the Ocean Villas and spoil yourself!

Room Tip: I would suggest an Ocean Villa with an odd number we had 213 - sun on the deck from around 10 am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Shabby place with damaged furniture, stained and sticky surfaces, poor hygiene and little comfort. No individual toilettries. No slippers. Shower gel is offered in a small bottle used by previous guests, which is hygienically unacceptable. Waste is burnt on the neighbouring island and you can see and smell it. "Juice" is actually diluted squash. On arrival guests are labelled with plastic straps and are constantly instructed to sit, to wait, etc. More cattle class than "luxury" and "boutique", and definitely far from 4 stars.

Overbooking mentioned in other reviews seems to be still an issue as hotel management tried to shift us to a different Adaaran resort for part of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexnex_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this resort in Aug 2012 and took my parents over as a surprise holiday. When we arrived and saw the quality of where we would be spending 6 nights I was praying that the boat transfer would pass this resort, but unfortunately it did not! It was extremely run down and very 80's looking. No one greeted us, in fact, the staff were all sitting down talking as our boat pulled in. It took 20 mins for us to get off the boat as we were trapped behind a pile of surf-boards reaching above our heads. When we were herded to the reception we sat for an hour waiting to taken to our water bungalow. Eventually, when we got taken to the reception to check-in to the water bungalow we observed a football pitch in the centre of the resort and that the entire island was made up of a man made concrete road covered with a sprinkling of sand: this was not capturing the typical Maldivian beauty. The rooms: filthy, dirty, old and dilapidated. The stairs leading to the blue crystal water were covered in slime and algae and a potential death trap to climb. We complained and asked for the rooms to be cleaned and after being told they would be, we noticed no difference. The food: our all-inclusive package only allowed us to use one restaurant for lunch and dinner, the choice was extremely limited and over salted.The buffet breakfast that was advertised was in a modified water villa and was cooked to order, not what was expected however quite nice. Please be advised, when ordering be specific of how much you want, for example my husband ordered mushrooms but got one mushroom. The drinks: all-inclusive entitles you to house selected beverages, they gave the cheapest brands possible, spirits were foul, wine was like vinegar and the larger was the only thing drinkable, 'Lion' from Sri-Lanka. A friend from Sri-Lanka advised us its the cheapest larger available.
We were very disappointed in this alleged 4- star resort where the majority of staff were rude, unhelpful and not very accommodating. If you are looking for a resort that is tailor made for large groups and is all about the surfing then its probably ok for you. Having said this, we did speak to a group of Australian guys who were on a boys surfing holiday and though they loved the surfing, they were not impressed with the quality of food, drink and accommodation.
The only bonus to this holiday was the snorkeling, it was incredible and breath- taking, but when you think about it, this aspect had nothing to do with the resort.
In 2011, we stayed at Anantara Dhigu resort, where we had such a wonderful stay in all regards. It really puts Adaaran Prestige Hudhuran Fushi to shame.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Before going there I especially informed the hotel that it is our honeymoon. I payed for ocean villas for six nights and guess what? When we reached the hotel they told us ocean villas are fully occupied. What kind of start is that for a honeymoon! We talked with them for a long time. Tired and exhausted we had to accept to stay in a beach bungalow for the first night (beach bungalows are horrible). They promised to provide some complimentary stuff and refunding one night room rate difference for the ocean villa which is around $200. It's been more than one month and they don't even reply my emails. Honeymooners, never go there!

About the resort; beach bungalows suck, do not ever pay $300 for that. Ocean villas are nice but expensive. Food is good but all inclusive drinks are low quality. Forget about the all sandy white beach. It's really hard to swim without putting something on your feet, there are lots of stones and pebbles in the sea.

This is a moderate resort promising more than it has. It's expensive and not worth it. You can find much better resorts for lower prices. This is Maldives; many people will be going there once in a lifetime. Don't waste this opportunity here..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank yky623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

we were 4 couples with one child and booked ocean villas water bungalows almost two months
ago. we arrived at the Male airport and was transferred to the prestige ocean villas on arrival we were welcomed by the staff and things seemed quite normal and we were given the registration forms for check in , at this point I realised that our check in should be from the ocean villas reception and inquired after it. that was at the time we were told that we have been allocated beach bunglaows for the first night as the water bunglows were over booked .
They seemed quite casual about it untill we insisited it was unacceptable we made it very clear that we did not want anything less but the water bungalows unfortunately we wasted a good three hours trying to sort this out but nothing came out of it we were given the first night complimentary at a beach bungalow but which is not what we wanted and was not given any other choice other than being transferred to to low category resort in the same chain .we were very dissapointed and angry it was handled in a very unproffessional manner they had no back up plan for us knowing they had this situation they simply expected us to accept it since we insisted that we were not willing to accept it is when they tried to transfer us to another resort but once agian I realised they were prolonging the situation so that we would get tired and give in to it . We gave them the choice of transferring us to Fullmoon resort which was availble not they simply said it was full which was untrue
on the plus side the ocean villas water bungalows are very nice ,spacious bathrooms , free wifi, the breeze restuartant had wonderful views of the sea which is open till 12 midnight , marine life around the water bungalows was not that great. the service of the staff was fantastic . choice of food was very basic except we were given a 5 course meal as a part of the the reconcilation which was fabulous!!
The beach bungalows in my opinion are about a low three star the rooms were musty ,the bathrooms were terrible with stained bath tubs and worn out fittings etc and most of all no proper flow of water in the showers ,the bed linen was laundered but did not feel crisp and clean. avoid rooms 116-140 and request rooms around 200-209 which was much nicer with more privacy and secluded . the other facilities of the huduranfushi island is very basic and old and a simple three star . all inclusive is good but no branded alcohol example no Baccardi but fairly acceptable liquors.
overall if not for the terrible start to our two day vacation the ocean villas are fantastic value for money water bungalows with great set of staff . but i would not say the same with the beach bungalows . Kasun and Patrick from the front office were very polite and helpful and
tried their best but i beleive it was beyond their control..overall we had a terrible vacation as we felt lost out on our holiday in terms of time having to change rooms etc as well as the quality of the entire Holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an odd number which is the sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank iroshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We opted for the all inclusive water villa package. We were very happy with the villa and the service we received from our Guest Executive - Sundil, who certainly made us feel special. In fact, only with two exceptions all staff tried very hard to please and make you feel welcome.

The resort is beautiful and the island large enough to have a decent walk (some islands you can cover from one end to the other in 30 minutes). Snorkelling around the water villas was good but I have seen better else where. There is a very good beach at one end that is very popular with surfers.

There were only two things that we felt needed more attention. The minor one was there did not appear to be any notification of island activities other than the usual tourist trips. I know this sounds a small matter but this was our second trip to the Maldives and as stunning as the islands and the surroundings are after four days you start to get a bit bored. Granted you can pay extra for the tourist trips but it would have been nice to know what is available to do on the island itself. A typical example is at night there would be fish feeding from the jetty. This was never advertised and so it was only by chance that we found about it. There was nightly entertainment in the form of music but again it was never advertised.

The more major matter for us though was the poor standard of the food. On the all inclusive water villa package you get to have a very good breakfast in the "Breezes" restaurant, which is also over water. The food here was good and we had no complaints at all. However, for all other meals you have to go to , the "Sunset" restaurant. Here we found the food to be very mediocre and certainly not up to 4* standard. The selection of drinks included in the package is minimal (you have to pay extra for fresh juice, but cordial is free), cocktails are no more than a shot of alcohol with a mixer thrown in. On two occassions I ordered a glass of white wine with my meal and both times the wine was undrinkable. We complained to both the bar manager and the general manager but it all fell on deaf ears.

Overall though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would I go back again ? Only if the food was improved

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sandyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lohifushi Island
8.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,793 reviews
19.2 mi away
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
Adaaran Prestige Vadoo
#1 of 1 in Vaadhoo Island
923 reviews
17.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
Adaaran Select Hudhuranfushi
#1 of 1 in Lhohifushi Island
1,817 reviews
10.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,695 reviews
6.2 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas

Address: North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lohifushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lohifushi Island
Price Range: $587 - $1,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas Hotel North Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing