We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

First of all you need to decide what do you want from Maldives.

If you are looking for a luxury don't come to this hotel. if you want relax by lying on a white sands and swim in the crystal clear water with the comfortable rooms and reasonable price you should go Holiday Island Resort...

Rooms are clean and well furnished. You have AC, ceiling ventilator, minibar, LCD TV, kettle (with a free of charge tea & coffee), safe etc. It is not luxury but meets our needs/demands. Only in the lobby you have free wi-fi, there is NO FREE WI-FI in the rooms and it is quite expensive (1$/1MB as far as I remember). So what I recommend you is buy a Maldivian Sim Card for internet purpose (I bought dhiraagu's prepaid card. Dhiraagu has a 3G coverage in the island although it's not like real 3G still fair enough).

You have only beach bungalow room type. Every bungalow has its own veranda on the beach side of the Bungalow.

Service is nice, they assign you a table in your first meal and you sit there in every meal during your stay. So, every bungalow has it's own table and waiter.

We choose half board as recommended and I also recommend half board. If you have a place in your luggage you can easily bring some drinks and snakes (like biscuits, canned foods etc) and use the minibar to preserve. Because of the humidity and hot weather this kind of little snakes mostly enough for the lunch.

Drinks are not included in dinner (even water is not included). But the prices are not so high, for example 1,5 lt water is around 4$ as well as coke. Beer is also around 5$. Because the table is fixed, when you buy a 1,5 lt water it stays on your table till it is finished. So you don't have to buy a new one in every meal.

Regarding the snorkeling; Unfortunately this island is poor regarding the snorkeling. The only place is the western part of the island, close to the beach bar (but not in front of it). There is an independent water sport center next to the beach bar, you can ask them. Also they can take you a good places, as far as I remember it costs around 75-100$ per 2-3 hours.
Besides, there is a free service to the Sun Island Resort (sister island) 5-6 times in a day. You can do snorkeling beneath the Italian restaurant in the Sun Island Resort, it is much better then the one in Holiday Island. Apart from these, in the eastern edge of the Holiday Island there is another water sports center, DiveOceanus. They have very nice tours, such as, whale shark snorkeling tour (~45$/person), Stingray Snorkeling Tour (~45$/person), Aternoon Snorkeling Tour (~25$/person). I've been in whaleshark and afternoon snorkeling tours and strongly recommend...

Room Tip: The best part is the island is the northern part, the beach is unbelievable. Sea is very shallow but...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank baybaycuneyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 632 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have just returned from Holiday Island resort. It was so great! Perfect and clean beach, beautiful scenery and very quiet place. The hotel has everything you need for quiet, relaxing holiday with your loved ones. Staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. They did their best to help us with whatever we need. The food was great, high variety and it changes every day. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We loved shower in our garden. All villas are on the beach. Certainly, there are more luxurious resorts in Maledives, but we could not ask for more. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends. I cannot wait to come back next year. Thank you for a wonderful holidays!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Radka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from Holiday island few days back and would want to say that it is really a honeymooners paradise. Got a bit late due to the location but once we reached the spot it was absolute bliss. Empty Beaches, light music, white sand, what else can one ask for. Advantage is you can always hop in another resort called Sun Island which is just 10 minutes by ferry. I would recommend Holiday Island to all my friends.

Room Tip: Room nos. starting from 131 are good as they are right next to the bar and also the main beach.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rajeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice location. Very quiet, nice and empty beaches, white sand, coconut palms, good food. Warm and clean sea, Pleasant spa. There is a a good diving centre at the hotel providing diving and snorkelling trips.

Room Tip: Try to get to central or western part of the island to avoid the technological background.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 750Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at Holiday Island for a week and it was so relaxing.

After reading all the trip advisor reviews I was totally surprised with the rooms as some people had said they were a bit tired (yes they are) but they were still very clean, comfortable and spacious.

The bungalows are situated directly on the beach and the beach views are spectacular.

We took half board option which was recommended (you can arrange this on arrival).

The best part about this resort is there is a sister island, Sun Island, which you can visit by ferry which runs between the two Islands a few times a day. (This is a free service)
Sun Island has a large pool and a few other facilities that Holiday Island lacks (but it's a lot more expensive). While you are visiting Sun Island you are able to book your food and drinks to your room on Holiday Island so it's very convenient.

We hired a push bike on Sun Island and it was a good way of seeing this lovely resort.

We were happy to visit Sun Island and then return to our small intimate paradise.

If you prefer a pool more choice in restaurants and nightlife I would suggest Sun Island otherwise
I would thoroughly recommend Holiday Island Resort & Spa.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing sun island 140-160
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chez2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We chose this resort for the first week of our honeymoon. It is one of the smaller, more unspoilt and under developed islands in the Maldives and it is for this reason it owes a lot of it's charm. You can walk around the whole thing in about 40 minutes. There is one tiny ugly industrial dock part of it at the end nearest the airport, which is a necessary evil but apart from that it is beautiful. Be careful you do not get charged for the bus and boat transfer from Male airport if it has all been included though, which we nearly did, but the staff soon sorted it out.

The staff are another reason this resort is so good. They are so friendly, I did not come in contact with one grumpy one the whole time. You end up building up a report with your waiter and other key members which makes it feel like a home from home. We had all inclusive and as long as you are careful to stick to the drinks included on the list I think this is well worth it. There is one big main restaurant and you sit in the same place with the same waiter every night. It is a lovely airy space with good views and I thought the wide choice of food was excellent. You have lots of scope to go plan or spicy or healthy or indulgent and all really fresh and satisfying.

The accommodation itself was a really pleasant surprise. We had researched it thoroughly before we went and the photos and reviews made it seem that the little bungalows might have been a bit of a compromise. But we thought they were excellent. Really large clean and bright. Cleaned two times a day. Excellent air conditioning and lighting and fan options. A little TV with some good movie channels. A large bathroom and the option of a private outdoor shower, which we ended up using more, just for the novelty of being under the palm trees. A good size fridge and mini bar with water and soft drinks replenished daily. Each bungalow has 2 loungers and 2 chairs for your patio area and leads directly to your own little slice of the amazing white sand beach and turquoise sea. You definitely do not miss a pool.

The large friendly airy bar is fantastically situated for the best views and has we if and you can while away the hours playing board games, playing pool and sipping cocktails. In the evening they have a different entertainment each night, from Karaoke to jugglers, acoustic singers, crab racing to traditional dancers. You can get involved as much or as little in these and it is so relaxed I felt very uninhibited. You can even try a flavoured shish pipe. It was May so we did have one day of rain and a few passing storms, but this in no way spoils it. It is humid tropical heat and be careful of the mosquitoes but the gardens and grounds are really lovely to walk round.

We had a day trip to its sister island Sun Island which is far bigger and more commercial. You can hire a bike and go round it for a fun day trip. It does have a very nice pool, but we ended up coming away feeling we preferred our little Holiday Island as it felt more private and special. So all in all this is an excellent honeymoon and couples relaxing destination. Oh I nearly forgot to mention one of the best things. If you do go here, make sure you use the Spa. We splashed out for a couples treatment. It was so tranquil, the massage and charming staff in the most stunning setting of gardens and gentle fountains with gentle piped music is an experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Freindly service and a lovely location for a relaxing holiday. Clear clean water for snorkelling.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for two weeks half board and didn't regret the decision at all. The room we stayed in (116) was ideal if you are there to dive - halfway between dive centre and restaurant on the jetty side of the island (not facing Maamgili airport which was not busy). The room was a little tired and could do with a lick of paint but you still get your tea/coffee facilities and your TV. The area at the back was fairly sheltered from the sun which was very nice on occasion especially as you are so near the beach. The staff were helpful and we had no problems during our stay. We have been visiting the Maldives for 10 years and this is the best value for money we have found. The island caters to a lot of international guests including many Russians...
We enjoyed our holiday immensely and will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gad001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maamingili Island
14.3 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
23.3 mi away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,032 reviews
8.9 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Oliva Palm Cottages
Oliva Palm Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dhigurah Island
5 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nalaguraidhoo Island
2,471 reviews
5.2 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Maamingili Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maamingili Island
Price Range: $163 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Island Resort & Spa, the rush of time slows. The crystalline seas and soft, sandy shores remain as nature made them, beckoning guests to one of the world’s last unspoiled paradises. Shape your dream holiday at this secluded Maldives beach hotel, where pristine beauty, personalized service and modern indulgences have formed a retreat of unparalleled allure. Explore the underwater treasures of one of the world’s premier dive locations. Sip a cocktail on your private terrace as you watch the sun dip below the horizon. Or simply lounge on the white coral sand and soak up the radiant sun. Escape to this tranquil, wonderfully relaxed choice of Maldives beach resorts, and discover a tangible embodiment of your ideal tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Island Resort And Spa
Holiday Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Hotel Holiday Island
Holiday Island Maldives
Holiday Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing