We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hangnaameedhoo Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sea G
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extremely basic, not as portrayed online.”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

After arriving from speedboat from Male (the transfer that I had reserved has not been arranged and after a couple calls to Ali, I was able to get aboard speedboat from Male to the atoll). On arrival I was met by Adam, who was very pleasant and took me to the guesthouse (I actually was assigned to "Sunny Lodge, which is their second property across the street). Pictures in *no way* reflect the actual rooms, which were clean but extremely basic. In my experience there was no 24 hour front desk, there were no manta ray or whale shark excursions on offer (there was not an "excursions board" to be found), there were no BBQ grills, playground, or other amenities which were listed online as present at the guest house. Linens were not changed once during a week-long stay, and aside from when the cook prepared/served meals, no staff onsite. I did have a window...that looked into another room which was the service area, so there was no natural light; lighting was provided by bare glaring compact fluorescent bulbs; the room was pitch black without the lights turned on. On the plus side, air conditioning worked well and shower was with hot water. Additionally, the private beach was beautiful and an excursion was arranged to the picnic island which was gorgeous, and transfer back to Male was without issue. I was there 7 days, which turned out to be 4 days too long. While the tiny atoll itself was beautiful, I found the inhabitants (numbering ~ 700), extremely unfriendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanc0uver...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

I stayed for a week at Kalaafaanu. It is a very nice, clean and comfortable place. They even took care of reserving a place for me in the speed boat from Male. This can be an issue especially in high season if you do not have a reservation in advance.
The rooms have both a fan and AC, hot water to shower, a nice garden to site and read or have a coffee or eat.
The guys, Adam and Hussain, are very nice and friendly and made my stay very comfortable.
The location is perfect as they are located almost next to the bikini beach, about 3 minutes walking. At the bikini beach they also have their chairs and umbrella for the guests, which is not always the case in other Islands with even more tourists like Rasdhoo.
They run lots of activities around the island like diving, sand bank, manta visits, fishing, etc.
The only dive center on the island is also owned and run by them. Besides the known dive sites close the island like “Fish Head”, Adam knows many other amazing sites also close to the island. I dived with them few times and had an amazing time and seen really amazing sites.
I really recommend the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
694nichol...
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience staying here!”
Reviewed December 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed in this inn in November 2017. Shout out to Ali (owner) and Edam (dive master).

Host is friendly, speaks English, and is knowledgable about surrounding attractions and activities.

Ali, the owner, also owns a local dive shop, which makes staying at this inn convenient for divin and other aquatic activities.

We managed to go snorkelling and saw a pod of dolphins playing at the surface!

The inn also offers aquatic sport activities at a reasonable price!

Restaurant food is also good.

10/10 would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna m
Le Vesinet, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice place to stay”
Reviewed December 25, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Kalaafaanu retreat is a very nice place to stay if you want to discover an inhabited island.
The rooms are reallly clean, spacious, and comfortable.
The staff is very nice and helpfull.
We made an amazing trip to sand bank and pic-nic island, and enjoyed our time in kalaafaanu.
If we come back one day, it would be there!
Thanks to Adam and his family to make our Maldives's trip unforgettable!
Anna & Olivier

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2015
Thank you very much. It was pleasure to serve you. We are serve you again & again. Please keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofieV24
Kremlin Bicetre, France
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing