We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,454)
Filter reviews
4,454 results
Traveler rating
4,052
310
62
23
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,052
310
62
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south ari atoll our honeymoon the resort manager beach villa all inclusive package water sports kids club sea plane japanese restaurant towel art whale sharks special thanks romantic pool restaurants and bars fish a la carte restaurants male airport
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 4,454 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have already stayed at this beautiful resort twice and have now booked to return again this year.

We got engaged here and then came back for our honeymoon, both times staying in (villa no.150) one of the absolutely stunning Romantic Water Villas. We were looked after by the lovely Ismail, who could not have done more to make our room more comfortable and special.

The island, staff and food, are truly out of this world and we are so excited to return in September.

We'll check back in September with an update :-)

Mr & Mrs Lander

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AmeteLander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSA_GM, General Manager at LUX South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Lander,

Thank you very much for the message as we are very excited about your return in September ! Please keep in contact with us for anything our team could assist prior to your trip because we would like to make sure everything is arranged to help you celebrate another great time on our little piece of paradise.

Warm regards,


Jonas Amstad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I type this review as we fly at 40000 feet back to Qatar on out journey back to London.

We stayed at the Lux from the 14th January for 7 nights to end our honeymoon after being in Thailand for three weeks.

As soon as stepped off the plane and were greeted by the representatives from Lux, I had a good feeling about what was coming. We were taken to the lounge and we waited roughly one hour for a sea plane to take us to the hotel.

We were the first stop on the sea plane, about 20 minutes and from the moment we landed seeing the staff waving and welcoming, I knew we had made the right choice.

The food is incredible. I would recommend nothing less than all inclusive as prices are high if you aren’t in the AIP. Breakfast there are two buffets but most food is cooked to order so all fresh. So much choice and one of the best breakfast spreads I have seen.

Our personal favourites were Allegria for dinner and Veli bar for lunch. I highly recommended booking all restaurants before you arrive as some guests were disappointed that they couldn’t get a table at Allegria for the whole duration.

Staff are just incredible. Jonas who is the GM had an amazing team and they really cannot do enough for you but our personal favourites are Shokat (driver), Tika (Mixe chef) and Allaudin (Senses). These three in particular are a credit to the Lux organisation and made our stay incredible in any way that they could.

Rooms are lovely and spacious. We had an over water villa but the beach villas were also equally as nice.

Few developments but nothing that can taint your stay
1) I would like to see a children’s pool or a dedicated adults only pool. As there are two pools, this could be possible.
2) The message and prize in the bottle is such a fabulous idea but I think they could be fairer by communicating to people that they can only pick up one bottle. Although you can only win one prize, we saw people with up to 5 bottles at one time meaning that there were a lot of other guests that couldn’t participate.

We have one negative remark which was the Boat trip we did to see the whale sharks. We had a conversation with the GM about it and it’s such a shame as it actually has nothing to do with Lux as is an independent company but as they are based on site, unless told you wouldn’t know. We witnessed the boat hit someone in the head twice, drive pretty much over the top of someone. They tried to get my husband on the boat whilst the propellers underneath were still in full operation. We did manage to see the whale sharks but it was not a good experience. About 10 boats flocked to the area, hundreds of people shouting to show others where it was (which was handy) but it was completely unsafe with boats just driving full speed to the area so their guests could witness the sharks and putting people in danger. This could be avoided so please just be cautious on these trips as they aren’t arranged via the hotel.

All in all, wonderful stay and we will definitely be back. Thank you Lux!!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hannah915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSA_GM, General Manager at LUX South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hannah,

It means a lot to us to be chosen as the last destination of your honeymoon celebration, and I am really glad to hear you had an amazing time where our team had looked after you well.

Thank you for taking time to share the experience on your way back home. Apart from the lovely experience you have highlighted, I have well noted your suggestions as well as the situation happened while out to the sea. This will certainly be brought up to the scheduled community meeting because it is the responsibility of every and each member in this atoll.

On behalf of Sowkat, Tika, Allauddin and everyone living on the island, I would like to use this opportunity to congratulate you once again on your recent marriage and wish you a lifetime of happiness and love. Please let us know if there is anything LUX* South Ari Atoll team could assist in the future because we will always be available to be at your service and help you celebrate any special moment in life.

Best regards,


Jonas Amstad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such an amazing resort. So peaceful and perfect! Thank you to all the staff at Lux South Ari Atoll for looking after us and making our stay so special, and a special Big Thank You to Faruq and Rana for going the extra mile at the MIXE restaurant.
Also a big shout out to Harish, Fatho, Koo
Axyz, Sowcath and Shafeen for assisting us and ensuring us that nothing was too much trouble. Only criticism was that the more casual restaurants should be more accommodating and should be able to offer slight variations from the food that is noted on the menus. From the Patel Family

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank PritiPriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSA_GM, General Manager at LUX South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Priti,

Thank you very much for the lovely message to Faruq, Rana, Harish, Fatho, Koo. Axyz, Sowkat and Shafeen ! They have learnt about your comments, and I would like to use this opportunity to send the greetings to you on everyone's behalf.

Your point about the culinary experience has also been noted, it will certainly be used for future improvement. Should there be anything LUX* South Ari Atoll could assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime. We hope to hear from you again and look forward to welcoming your family back very soon.

Warm regards,


Jonas Amstad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from seven days on this amazing island. What an experience. The staff are the most helpful and friendliest we’ve come across. They work so hard to keep you happy, fed and watered. The room was just amazing, we had a beach villa with plunge pool and to have the beach on your doorstep was fab. Although there were other guests around you felt like they were a million miles away.

Thank you to the guys driving the buggies up and down all day they were friendly and helpful. To the bar staff everywhere but especially senses bar thank you for your service and hospitality. it seems like other holiday makers prefer beach rouge but for us Senses was the best. The food was amazing and catered to everyone’s taste. We paid extra for the seafood night at Mixe and was not disappointed. You name it they had it from lobster to oysters, they bbq’d you’re fish once you picked it, but don’t worry they still had other choices if one of you isn’t a fish eater. We also had a romantic beach dinner for our anniversary which provided us with a lantern lit spot on the beach alone except for the chef and the waiter, again the food was amazing.

Amazing place with amazing staff. One point for us was a bit of a let down but didn’t let it spoil our holiday was the mini bar, you get your soft drinks, white and red wine but the only spirits you get are vodka and gin. We don’t drink either of these and they wouldn’t change them therefore, we were limited to having spirits at the bars only. Like I said we didn’t let it ruin our holiday but I think they could give you a bottle of whisky and take the others away if that’s what you drink especially when your paying for AI.

A word of warning and not a hotel issue is your luggage needs to weigh a certain amount for the seaplane transfer, ours was slightly over and we had to pay extra so if you pay for more luggage on your main flight be warned you may have to pay extra on the sea plane, sometimes they also can’t fit it all on the sea plane do it will come on a later flight. Not a reflection on Lux just a word of caution for your transfer so your not caught out.

Fantastic holiday with fantastic amenities to do as little or as much as you like, I had a bit of an accident requiring stitches and the Dr was amazing, thank you for your help.

Don’t take too many pairs of shoes you’ll hardly wear them, it’s so casual and relaxed, it’s just a shame you have to return home!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nfev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSA_GM, General Manager at LUX South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing the experience with other travelers. I am really glad to hear from you again, and I hope you have been recovering well from the injury.

Apart from the wonderful messages to the team who helped you celebrate these lovely 7 days, your feedback on the minibar offer in the all-inclusive meal plan has been noted for further discussion and review for improvements in the future. As we value every comment coming from the experience of each guest, I would like to thank you once again for giving the feedback in order to help us be better.

It was a great pleasure to have you on the island celebrate the anniversary with us. If you ever plan another visit back to the Maldives for any celebration or holiday, I look forward to having that honor to be at your service again.

Warm regards,


Jonas Amstad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we have stay for 5 nights and the service here was amazing. we love it so much. there is many choices for the restaurant. we would prefer to have in East market as the taste very good. MIXE not my taste. we a bit disappointed as we have cancel the Italian restaurant due to our son not feeling well. our Chinese speaking staff richel,Vivian was amazing and they help us through we chat.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank wuchangfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSA_GM, General Manager at LUX South Ari Atoll, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Wu,

Thank you for the message to Rachael and Vi-vian. We are glad to hear from you again sharing the experience with others.

If you are planning to be back to the Maldives, we hope you will contact us again and let our team help you celebrate another family time at LUX* South Ari Atoll.

Happy Chinese New Year !

Best regards,


Jonas Amstad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews