We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa
Nearby Hotels
The Residence Maldives(Falhumaafushi)
$424
$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AYADA Maldives(Maguhdhuvaa)
$496
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$251
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
$629
$476
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amari Havodda Maldives(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
$706
$435
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pearl Beach View(North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll)
$55
$53
Hotels.com
View Deal
Island Guest(Maamendhoo)
$34
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
661
78
25
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
78
25
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villaour honeymoonfishhouse touroutdoor showerthe general managerboat ridereef sharksdomestic flightremote islandremote locationmain beachtunascuba divingoverwater villadining roommale airport
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 780 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been to the Maldives many times over the past 10 years but mainly to the same two resorts. We decided to try somewhere further afield this time. One of the most important criteria for us when choosing a resort is that it must have an accessible house reef (ie accessible from the beach) and the Park Hyatt does (although you have to use steep steps from the jetty unless you pick your way carefully through the reef at high tide only - which is not recommended as that is how the coral becomes damaged). Snorkelling is excellent - we did the reef explorer trip which was very interesting.

The hotel rooms are very well equipped (as you might expect from a Park Hyatt) with everything you might need including ipad and TV (which we only switched on once!). The internet is however very slow - so not very easy to use. We had a pool villa which was lovely. The outdoor bathroom was beautiful as well as indoor shower etc.

The resort has two beautiful pools - not something we were looking for in the Maldives but they were a great focal point especially the main pool in the evening.

The food was excellent - some choices better than others - but given the location it was impressive. The grill was particularly good. There is a good (but pricey) wine list. The bar was also a very nice area to sit. Unlike other resorts we have visited there was a much better ambience throughout with a great balance between being quiet and peaceful but not lacking in atmosphere as a result.

The hotel has so many different places to sit to enjoy the views, sun, shade etc that it feels as though you have it to yourself even though it was close to full when we were there.

We stayed on the all inclusive package which was good value given the high cost of everything in the resort.

Service was exceptionally good. Everyone was very friendly, efficient and helpful. I won't go into details but we had one frustrating evening where things did not go as we had hoped and expected. The hotel staff dealt with our complaint very well and turned the situation around and we would not hesitate to return or to recommend the resort to others.

On the downside the transfer is a bit of a pain - we stayed in a resort close to Male first which made the transfer easier than after a long haul flight - however the return journey did seem like a big deal compared to a transfer by speedboat direct to Male. That said we will definitely go to other parts of the Maldives again - and the domestic flight is probably better than the seaplane in many ways, where the waits can be worse and the weather is more of an issue.

On the topic of the weather - it was not the best in late October - we had one day of torrential rain and high winds and the weather was bad on our day of departure too. We have visited previously in Feb, April, July and August and had generally very good weather - we hadn't realised this time is between monsoons and therefore the weather can be quite poor late October/ November.

If you are looking for a stylish resort with a good reef, great food, staff and wine - then you can't go wrong with the Park Hyatt!

Room Tip: Sunset side is probably the preferred side - but if you don't want to see a man-made structure (ie the jetty and quite ugly actually) ask for a room on the other side of the island.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneShepherdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_Park_Hyatt, General Manager at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Suzanne Shepherdess,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa.

I am so glad you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay and we appreciate the constructive criticism to ensure problems are dealt with.

We apologise for the slow internet. A temporary problem that has now been fixed.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards

Julian Moore
General Manager
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from three nights at the PH Maldives following a long trek through India. Very few places match in reality what the photographs on the website show. This property equals if not betters them all and has to be seen to be believed. Like many others who have written here, I have been to beaches in SE Asia, Hawaii, the Caribbean, Europe, Africa, and Australia and none have compared to what this resort has. Pristine and immaculate white sand, colors of water that can hardly be described accurately (I tried, numerous times, to explain it to family and friends and I don't think they grasped it), and an unequaled house reef that is populated all day with bright, colorful tropical fish and sharks.

The staff was amazing. Our host, Kelly, was so friendly, helpful and attentive that we just wanted to take her back with us to New York to hang out. Anna was also as sprightly, energetic and outgoing as you could ever want. Fayaz was really personable and engaging. Sangeetha was lovely as well. I wish I could remember everyone's names because they all went above and beyond. I am sure it's difficult living on a tiny island and catering to the needs of travelers almost 24/7 and they did a phenomenal job of it.

The food was remarkable. Pricey but you have to expect that given the remoteness of the resort. The Maldivian feast was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone. The tuna was definitely the freshest and among the most well-prepared we've ever had. My wife swears by the passion fruit iced tea, yet I could drink the coconut iced tea all day long. Needless to say you can't go wrong in the iced tea department.

The only thing that we could think of to improve (and it probably rarely comes up as we were there during an unusual storm) would be to have some rainy day activities. We did catch the tail end of the Phailin cyclone so I imagine our experience was slightly different than anyone else.

I'm sure there are many amazing resorts in the Maldives but (candidly without having experienced any of them), I doubt they match up to what the Park Hyatt offers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_Park_Hyatt, General Manager at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Cameron G

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience in the resort and that the goals for which our team have trained have been delivered.

Thank you particularly for your kind comments about Kelly, Anna, Susitha and Fayaz but unfortunately you may not take Kelly home with you. What would we do without her?

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards

Julian Moore
General Manager
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights at the Park Hyatt Hadahaa in late September / early October. This was by a country mile the best beach holiday we have had. This was our first time to the Maldives, so can’t compare to other resorts there, but we have been to several Caribbean islands, Mauritius, and French Polynesia before. The island is beautiful and very secluded. As mentioned by many others, it takes a while to get to, even by Maldivian standards, but there are no other resorts or inhabited islands in view once you get there. It feels special and exclusive as a result.

The architectural style of the resort common areas and the villas is very elegant, with slick lines yet it does feel welcoming and relaxing. Our room was lovely. We only went for the Park villa, but in the end we didn’t regret it. Our villa was very private; not overlooked from other villas or by people walking around, and we valued that very much. Also as it gets very hot in the sun, I think that some of the water villas must feel a bit warm, even with A/C at full blast, whereas ours was nestled in the shade of luxurious vegetation. I loved the outdoor shower, never used the indoor one once. That does mean there are a few little lizzards around, but I don’t mind that at all, we thought they were very cute. One thing of note for me is that I didn’t even hear a mosquito there, I was prepared with lots of anti-mosquito lotion that never got used! Score.
The rooms in general are spacious. The amenities in the room are great, we did like the ipad in the room, especially with the skymap app so we took it out a couple times for stargazing. Really neat idea. We didn’t turn the telly on once so no idea what it’s like, but who cares… There is wi-fi in the rooms, sometimes drops when there is some rain/wind, but again, don’t really care too much, as long as we managed to check emails once or twice to make sure everyone’s fine back home, that’s all we needed it for.

The entire staff and management are very friendly and know their jobs well. Kudos to Julian and his management team for keeping the entire team so motivated and pleasant. With around 180 staff on the island (for a maximum of 100 guests), there is always someone around when you need something, yet they are not intrusive. We have found that if you want to have a chat with some of the staff, to find out how they got to do something or ask where they’re from, etc, they are very open, and many of them are very passionate about what they do, either directly in their job, or as part of community support activities that the Hyatt group encourages. Equally, if you want discreet service for a romantic meal, they will not get in the way.

We made a note of a few people that were particularly friendly with us, but I must say that we have not found one person to be wanting in that department. I just can’t remember everyone’s name!

Rilwan and the dive team – see more below on diving and activities. These guys and gals are great. We felt in good (safe) hands at all times and there is no doubt they care about what they are doing and preserving the reef.

Ameez, our host – for his help throughout the stay and his passionate account of the Hyatt community outreach work (Hyatt thrive) he is involved in, translating the PADI open water course into dhiveni for local fishermen to be more familiar with safety practices.

Fayaz, barman and our waiter for our private meal. Always pleased to see us, pleasant and had a lovely chat with him about architecture of all things!

Abdullah, the Engineering Manager who took us on the back-of-the-house tour which we really enjoyed. Being both engineers, we really like that sort of things, and it is interesting to see what it takes to be mostly self-reliant in this paradise… As my husband put it “it’s just like being offshore!”… yeah, right, just like an offshore platform...!

Pramod, chef at the Island Grill for the lovely food and a great chat. Ask him for recommendations on the best food places in India!

Thanks to Muaz and Faisal for the Mushuni Roshi recipe. This is the tuna mix you can get at breakfast on a little flatbread, I loved it…

The food is splendid. We were on an All Inclusive special deal and could not believe that all food items were included. I could have had a whole lobster every night if I wanted or a filet steak with no extra cost. But we also tried to sample the many various Asian influenced specialties and everything was fantastic. Not a bad or even average meal in the whole time we were there. The selection of wines by the glass on AI was also very good, and they were all good options, which is not always the case in AI deals. There was an impressive wine list beyond that if you wanted to indulge. Cocktails were also really good, including the non-alcoholic ones… My favourite drink there was called the Hadahaa detox, which I had nearly every day, not because it was a “healthy” drink, just because it tasted great and refreshing, although the name had the added benefit of making me feel better about eating so much the rest of the time!

The activities on hand are just what we needed. Now if you want a lot of diversity of sports, tennis, etc, you’re in the wrong place, but if like us, you were primarily focused on water, and specifically underwater activities, then this is your spot. The entire diving team under the supervision of Rilwan was great. Rilwan is very professional, which we rate highly as we’re not very experienced divers, yet he is relaxed in his approach, always smiling and enthusiastic. The resident marine biologist Ciara was our dive master for a couple dives as well, and she was very good and a wealth of knowledge. The diving and even simply snorkelling around the reef is great. We saw so many fish of all colours, along with the very colourful clams and coral, and a few black-tip and white-tip sharks. We went on a couple boat dives, and first of all the boat is spacious and comfortable, plenty of room to get ready and put your kit on. It has a toilet which can be very useful if you have to get to a site further away. No backwards entry in the water either, I never liked those, just a big step in… We did a channel drift dive, but the current was not very strong, so that was quite relaxing. We also did a coral garden dive. Both were really good, and we saw several turtles, one of them, quite a large one, swam just next to us for a couple minutes. That was a big highlight for me. The night dive was also quite impressive, but definitely put me outside my comfort zone. Try turning the light against you for a few seconds so it’s pitch black, now that is a bit scary!
We also went on the dolphin spotting cruise with Ciara, and that was a real blast. We were lucky enough to see what must have been hundreds of the little spinner dolphins out on the edge of the atoll. They gave us a wonderful show playing in the bow of the boat and jumping and spinning around. We gave up on trying to take photos, they’re so quick you end up just having a picture of water where a dolphin has been! So we just sat there enjoying the show while the sun was coming down. Magic!
We had a couple massages at the spa, very nice and the setting is beautiful. The girls got just the right amount of pressure for both of us and we have very different thresholds so they know their stuff!

Because this was September, we were a touch concerned beforehand that this time of year could get us a very rainy few days, but we only had one shower on day 2 and a few showers our last day there. They only last about 5 min so you just dive into the bar for a quick drink and by the time you’re done it’s warm and sunny again…

So all in all, this was a real tropical paradise and we hope to come back one day!
Thanks to all at the Park Hyatt Hadahaa!

Room Tip: If you want privacy above all, our Park villa 22 was perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marielle274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_Park_Hyatt, General Manager at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Marielle274,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa.

It is reviews like this that make all that we do so worthwhile. Your comments are inspiring as we endeavor to continue to create everlasting memories.

Have you tested out the tuna recipe? How did it go?

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards

Julian Moore
General Manager
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I didn't want to go to this lovely place because of the lonnnggg travel time but it was totally worth it. The fabulous elegant room (with a proper hairdryer - v important) had an outdoor pool and bath and a view of the beach. The lovely location, fabulous reef, stupendous infinity pool, some great food, friendly attentive staff made this a really pleasant experience. A few minor food problems were ironed out nicely. The dinner for the 2 of us in the gazebo was very romantic and dead tasty! The specially prepared last meal of the holiday was sublime and felt very personal - thanks Jean Pierre! Service at breakfast and lunch seemed a bit slow sometimes. Unfortunately we were presented with a bill at the end of the hol for items and trips we shouldn't have been charged for as we were all inclusive but again that was sorted out fine. My husband had researched this place to the nth degree and was a big fan before we even arrived and we were not disappointed. Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Room 10 is great for getting quickly to a nice part of the beach and straight onto a part of the reef that has the best fish and coral. 7am swim worth it despite certain hangovers!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deeborn1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_Park_Hyatt, General Manager at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Deeborn1961

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa.

We appreciate the comments regarding the service and the issue with the bill which allows us to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

We can’t wait to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Julian Moore
General Manager
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013


We just returned from the Park Hyatt in the Maldives where we celebrated our 12th anniversary. This place has the essence of a great relationship, it has it's pro's and con's but you wouldn't change it and can't imagine your life without it once you've been here. It has beautiful scenery, private villas and warm friendly staff, while at the same time showing some of the wrinkles that living gives to us all. If someone were to critique each of us individually they would probably find a few flaws we would prefer to keep hidden but let's face it, our flaws help make us who we are.

When it comes to reviews online such as this I usually just list my likes and dislikes about the places we go and then move on to the next. But let's face it, this place is pricey. If your trying to decide if it's worth it to you, consider this. Most hotels are more or less a bedroom for people to sleep in after a long day of sightseeing, but not in this case. Park Hyatt Maldives is a destination resort, (yes it does have great excursions) but it's where you go to enjoy the privacy and natural beauty of the location. The overall essence of this resort encourages romance and gratification for all one has. Our lives are filled with great opportunities and amazing thing's, this vacation will be remembered as one of the best we have ever experienced.

The spa was blissful with Deeksha's yoga, our couples massage's were probably the best we have yet to have. The bartenders were always up for any exotic challenges we could throw there way, Fayaz (one of the many great bartenders) has a great way of adding some flare to your drink you may never have thought to try. Ciara and all the staff in the dive shop/activity center were fantastic, willing to do whatever they could to make our every desire a reality. There are too many people to mention, but never did we have anything but polite, pleasant and most importantly Sincere service from every staff member! Julius, the property's General Manager is very engaging with a warm smile and great sense of humor.

Travel to and from was easy enough, once you reach the Capitol city's airport in Male, you will always have a Hyatt member at your side there to guide to the final stretch of your journey.

In summary,

This location is among the best in the world for its views, the great food, it's remoteness, the peace and quiet, romance, inspiration, privacy, modern conveniences all surrounded by warm tropical waters with breath taking star filled nights..

Park Hyatt Maldives has more than great villas, great food and warm friendly staff you are sure to love, it has the essence of paradise here on Earth.

We cannot recommend this resort more!!

Just remember, you might be staying at a Park Hyatt resort, but your a visitor in the small nation of the Maldives. If you are highly critical and carry around a check list to critique everything little flaw then you will never be disappointed anywhere you go.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOS_Park_Hyatt, General Manager at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Jerome D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and candid review of your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa.

Your honesty is incredibly refreshing and to have left the kind of impact you refer to is exactly what gets each and every one of us in the morning. For this we thank you.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regards

Julian Moore
General Manager
Park Hyatt Maldives Hadahaa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews