We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Island, Great Beach Villas, Aweful Food”
Review of Velassaru Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Velassaru Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NIce Island, Great Beach Villas, Aweful Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Stayed there for 10 days, booked throgh Kuoni UK, Half Board. We flew Srilankan, not a good airline, food is below average, TV screen very small and horrible quality, staff are ok though. We arrived in Male at night, been welcomed by a velassaru rep and took the boat to the island, it takes 20mns, nothing special. As per my request we have been allocated beach villa 226 on the side of the island I thought was the best: I was right (as always;)). The beach is larger, no view of rubbish island at all, snorkeling ok but not great (I'll explain later). The beach villa is great, very spacious, outdoor bathroom is amazing, loved taking shower outside! The beach villa are quite close to each other so don't expect total privacy however villa 224,223,222 have bushes/trees between them so make it more private. Villa have access to the beach apart a couple of it.
We were on half board so breakfast and dinner. Breakfast food was below average: orange juice from concentrate and weird fresh juice such as cucumber or carrot, lots of savoury, pastries, few fruits, always the same and not in large quantity, and usual english breakfast...I have never seen such a disgusting bacon, the colour of it was like a beige/white. Other wise you can have omelettes done by a "chef" called Stalin !!!!! The staff is 99% from India. The dinner was taken in the same place as breakfast, a large room with tables everywhere a bit cantine style, not nice at all. Dinner was as poor as breakfast: few starter and 99% of western food, nothing from Maldives. We ended eating grilled chicken for 10 days. The worst part is the fact that the food was not warm at all, eveyrything has to be re heating on request as too cold....
We had dinner one night at Sand where there was a Eat as you can buffet of sea food and prawns and squids. Food was again average and The fish comes frozen, not even fresh from the sea, imported as the chef told us. The price of the buffet was 80USD + tax so a total rip off as all the prices of food and beverage in the resort.
Beach is great, plenty of spaces, quiet.
Snorkeling is not impressive at all compare to destination like Malaysia. We saw small ray, samll sharks and various fishes. But again don't expect to be amazed, this is not aquarium style. I recommend Pulau Perhentian in Malaysia for the best snorkling/diving experience ever.
Activities are various but again pricey. We have done a fishing trip (didn't cath anything) for 3 hours, with 20 people on the boat, holding a string with a hook and a piece of fish, no rod nothing. Quite funny though.
The tourists are mostly couple, some with children, from Russia, Europe, Asia ( on a funny note we were amused to see that all the asian couple carries a tripod for their camera at ALL TIME !!!!! So funny to see all of them walking with tripod, eating with tripod, etc...Guess that's the new trend in Asia, don't buy a pet, buy a Tripod instead !!)
Hotel has a big pool facing the ocean.
Internet is provided but you have to enter a code each time you want to use it, pretty boring.

Overall it was 10 beautiful days to relax, read, listen music, chil out with the other half.
However the main issues in my view if the food and the prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paris_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    265
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
242
1,083
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

First of all, I have to agree with all the comments posted.

As this was my first visit to the Maldives, I had no basis for comparison, but this forum provided me with a lot of insights (pity the good ones only came in AFTER my trip).
I don't understand how people can stay here for more than a week - unless you're a scuba diving fanatic, there is very little else to do.
Everything in the resort is OVERPRICED, from the food to the sea sports to the spa.
We stayed in a water Villa #420, part of the villa faced the main resort island, while on the far horizon, you can see Male. The water villas are built on a man made reef, so it gives you the feeling of floating on an ocean, but actually you're not on a real ocean bed.

We got bored on the island afer the first few days, and decided to take a day trip to Male. If you take the hotel's Male tour package (which includes airplane tour, from noon-5pm or something like that it costs $125 per person, if I remember correctly). We opted for the cheaper alternative of $70 for 2 persons but the pickup schedule is based on the hotel-airport speedboat pickups. Male is a tiny city - about 2km wide and high and you can cover most of the tourist "landmarks" within half a day or so. These "landmarks" are historic buildings, fish markets, souvenir shops, and more old buildings. Here in Male, you will see how much things really cost and you will feel tempted to buy a luggage full of beverages and food, fruits in particular!

Speaking about food, the food offered at Velassaru is very average, considering the prices they're charging. USD25 for a club sandwich/ small pizza. The breakfast offering in either of the 2 restraunts was SAD to say the least. Warm milk, flies buzzing around the food, and everyday, the variety of food is about the same - eggs, sausages, bread, muffins, pastry, cereal, fruit.....bleah.

There are some service staff who stand out from the rest, but overall most of the staff here seem smiley on the outside, but there is no soul to to the people. The front desk is horrible - clueless and some have their noses so high up in the air.

If you really must stay here...couple of tips.
TIP: 1. Head to the gym for FREE bottled water :)
2. Opt for half board (you can switch the buffet to either dinner or lunch)
3. Bring your own food/drinks (non-alcholic)
4. The beach bunglows/villas really aren't all that special (you can find these in Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia for a fraction of the price), in the Maldives you have
to stay in an over water villa of some sort
5. Grab lotsa honey/jam/bread and whatever you can can your hands on for morning/afternoon snacks.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunny_side_up_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We honeymooned at Velassaru two months after it had been totally refurbished and expected it to be chaos.

It was the total opposite - pristine in every sense of the word and staff so attentive that you'd struggle to find a better team anywhere in the world.

Rooms were enormous and beds so soft (but supporting) it felt like sleeping on feathers. The food was incredible - and a constant mix of local & international cuisine.

The deserts were so decorative that you'll spend as much time looking at them as eating them.

Facilities were excellent, Ivan, the sailing/windsurfing instructor was brilliant, (do hire the 'glass' canoe and paddle round the island - it's a great way to see the coral close to the island) and although the diving was a little disappointing (lack of interesting coral / fish) you couldn't fault the service or instructors.

Weather was a constant 30 degrees, clear blue water was a constant 29 degrees, sand so bright that sunglasses were mandatory until the sun went down!

The island is a mix of beach and water villas, whilst the water villas were amazing, we probably only spent half a day sunbathing / swimming from there. No idea what the cost difference is, but we'd be as happy in a beach villa if we went back. Each room has DVD player (good selection of DVDs available at reception), a brilliant sound system, wide screen tv, mini bar (make sure you get soft drinks refilled), snacks, separate shower / bath, sofas etc etc.

We went full board, and would recommend this as the option to go for.
Of the three additional restaurants on the island we 'dined out' in two - $250 a time which seemed rather a lot, especially as we didn't have a bottle of wine. The teppanyaki restuarant (on stilts) is good fun - and feeding the fish that gather below it every evening is worth doing.

Spa was amazing - had massages (go for the thai massage), did yoga (great in the morning on the deck overlooking the sea) and the missus had a few 'treatments' which genuinely seemed to do her good.

You can walk round the island in 20 minutes. We did it every day if only to follow the 3 baby sharks and sting rays that do it as a matter of routine.

Overall, couldn't have asked for more. Excellent resort, excellent staff, excellent faclities.

TIPS:

If you want anything DO ask the senior staff - it will be sorted instantly.

Take ear plugs if staying in a water villa as it can get noisy at night.

Do accept the fact that the island uses solar power to heat the water....so don't expect hot water first thing in the morning! (not that you need it when it's 30 degrees outside)

Booze can be relatively expensive there - $10 a beer, $15-20 a cocktail, $40-80 bottle of wine - HOWEVER, if you're staying full board they always have a range of recommended wines each day (displayed at lunchtime in the middle of the restaurant) at around $15-$20 a bottle which is v good value. You can take partially finished bottles away if you so wish.

Do book direct - or shop around (Kuoni / Turquoise Holidays) go there - it ended up costing us £1,000 a day all in (inc business flights from the UK, water villa, full board and 2 activities (e.g. spa / windsurfing) a day - but I think you could do it for around £3-4,000 for a 10 day stay if you're sensible.

If you want to go to Male, they have speedboats (20 mins transfer) that go each day - just take one and go and have a wander - don't take a guide as there is little to see and at $150 a time it's a bit over the top. Do go and see the fish and vegetable markets which are at the end of the main boat jetty (just look for fishing boats!).

Apart from the guys who carry your case to/from the boat/room, people don't expect tips - a good mainland salary a month there is $600 so I suspect that the lower grade staff may earn a good deal less. I was advised that $5-6 dollars for the room staff as a tip at the end of the stay would be 'generous'. We gave him, and the 3 waiters who looked after us $10-20 a go which seemed to be very well received.

Bottom line - go. The Maldives are not expected to be around after 2020 and Velassaru is a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokerdunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Lovely villas, good staff, great beach and great diving with the very best equipment.
Only disappointment was the price of everything:
A single dive came to $110 per person
A can of beer $13
A single Gin & Tonic $17
A very ordinary evening meal for 2 with a bottle of wine came to $235
Leaves a slightly bitter taste.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obvius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We have to be honest and totally agree with Gail and Steve.

We have been to the Maldives five times in the last four years and have always thought that a hotel would have to work extremely hard at messing up a Holiday in the Maldives. That said Velassaru have had about the best attempt we have seen.

After a visit to kurumba 4 years ago which is also close to Male (and part of universal resorts too) we decided that we would not want to be so close to the capital and the shipping lanes as it clearly has had a damaging effect on the Corals. We subsequently visited Coco Palm Bodu Hithi which advertises a 45 minute boat trip which was accurate and the difference is jaw dropping for Snorkeling or Diving. It was this 45 minute experience that led us to believe that Velassaru would be equally good, which naturally at 20 minutes (and that isn’t in a straight line) it is not.

Got to agree with the layout comments too. Almost any other Island has ensured that the restaurants are either on the beach or close to the sea and the planning here is almost astonishingly ill thought out.

On the subject of the restaurants they are punching very much above their weight here. The quality is good but the pricing was extreme and as much as, if not more, than some of London’s top locations Pont De La Tour et al. With a Fillet steak in Etisian setting you back 88USD and bottle of Louis Jadot Mersault, at 180USD it is far too much. You couldn’t escape being felt like a captive audience, which is something no other hotel has done where I have visited. Pizza at lunch was 25USD, bottle of beer around 10USD. My suspicions about being treated as a captive audience were confirmed on our last day when we left. This was because we arrived at breakfast very early and there were no staff around, I stuck my head round the door of the kitchen to see the white board with previous days taking, today’s target etc etc which also explained why waiters (who could articulate in English) sold options quite hard at breakfast for dinner. We went to Sand on a particularly windy evening and decided before eating to change venue to the bar as the secluded, wind protect spots were all taken, instead of helping us with the process they wanted us to wait for another guest to leave, I didn’t think much of this until we saw the ‘target boards’. Breakfast was again poor, if cucumber or carrot juice is your thing, you will of course be fine and the Bacon was some of the fatest, cheapest streaky bacon we have seen, consequently didn’t participate which may just be a clever ruse to keep their costs down.

Also for a hotel that wants to portray itself as 5* the linguistic capabilities of most, and sadly I mean most, of the staff was below understanding and therefore acceptable. They were however I would add very friendly and always with a smile. At a discussion with one of the better ones at a dinner I subsequent discovered that there are extreme politics, recent high turnover of staff and a general fear of the manager.

The Maldives genuinely one of the most beautiful, picturesque places on the planet and it is hard for a hotel to detract from this natural beauty. We have never had a bad experience in the range of hotels that we have visited, hence wanting to leave this review to ensure other peoples hard earned money is enjoyed and you all get the most from it. Those who are or have visited Velassaru as your first visit would really suggest a second visit to a different location as it does not do it justice and while you will still have a nice time, it cannot compare to a location where you aren’t feeling like your being ripped off, can’t escape and can communicate well with the staff.

Regarding our ratings to put a bit of flesh on them. I could not fault that they were clean and very well equiped. The location is I would say one of the worst three hotels in the Maldives. Rooms were well equiped but the bathroom was shabby. Service was poor, this wasn't however a lack of staff but mainly because of the communication. Value for money.......well, Velassaru is trading off the natural beauty of the Maldives to extort money for services that clearly were not worth the amount from a captive audience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AandCLondon_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Stayed for 15 nights from 20/04 in a deluxe villa on B/B. The purpose of our holiday was to get away and
having visited the Maldives previously (this was our 7th visit) we feel able to offer some opinion as to where Velassaru are getting it right, but mainly getting it wrong.
Their own web site says a “45-minute scenic speedboat ride from Malé International Airport”, give me a rowing boat and it wouldn't take much longer than 45 mins! The speedboat takes no more than 15 to 20 minutes, and their claim must be to give the impression that the island is further from Male than it is. You can quite clearly see Male from the island and it doesn't give you that feeling of being on a desert island that most of the other islands do.
The rubbish island too is quite clearly visible and has been mentioned in most previous reviews. We would describe it as an industrial island since in addition to the near continual plume of smoke, buildings/storage tanks etc can be seen. Plus it is a big island.
The whole island is overdeveloped, with all available space taken with the villas, very little space between each villa which gives the feeling that you are always sharing it with someone else, rather than our previous experiences when you feel as if you are the only people there.
All the public areas are new build. Velassaru's greatest assets are the beach/sea, (as are all the other islands), so why oh why did the planners choose to build the Vela restaurant (where most people have breakfast and dinner) with a view of a toilet block and the screened off view of the kitchens for the Sands restaurant, rather than a view of the beach/sea.
Now the things they can change.
Plastic sun beds - definitely not 5* - we asked the lady who accompanied us to our villa if we could have sun bed mattress & she said contact housekeeping and they will get you two. Housekeeping said they didn't have any. 2 days into our holiday after complaining to the room boy supervisor he got us two. During the remainder of our stay we didn't see any other plastic sun beds with cushions on. The supervisor was then always around checking that the room boys were getting it right, which was another problem.
Because of the heat we found it uncomfortable to sit on the beach between 12:00 and 15:00, and so liked to go to our villa for a rest, but because invariably the room hadn’t been made up you were constantly watching for the room boy, and he would come once with the towels, and then half an hour later to clean the rooms, and then half an hour later with the water etc.
We were in villa 121 and next door they were finishing the construction of a junior suite, odd days there would be some workmen making building noises, and should we have wanted to relax on our outdoor day bed then this would have been impossible. A few days they were spray painting the walls and the smell of paint fumes was over powering. No apologies or any “freebie” to compensate was forthcoming from the management even though this was mentioned to the General Manager.
Generally building work could be heard all over the island at different times where they were completing work on staff areas.
The room boy would leave us 3 red apples each day, nice to have some fruit in the room, but the same fruit each day!! Oh except for one day when they were green apples!!
Breakfast was adequate, but very repetitive. The only change they made was to alternate between beans one morning and grilled tomatoes the next. Other than that the hot food was always eggs, bacon, chicken sausage, fried potatoes and noodles. On our first few days we asked for fresh orange juice (the 4 choices from the dispensers was usually watermelon, carrot, cucumber and pineapple), and they brought us a glass of lovely freshly squeezed juice. Then midway into our holiday they put the orange juice out in the dispensers, but it was definitely from a carton and not freshly squeezed.
There were other things that weren’t up to standard such as the air-conditioning not working fully in the Etesian restaurant, and only choice of two sweets on the night we visited the Sand grill, and I won’t even start to mention the prices they charge.

To summarize, there are certain things that the management cannot change, the other things I am sure they will improve upon. Anyone who has booked will still have a wonderful holiday. Anyone visiting the Maldives for the first time will think it is great, those who have visited before will inevitably draw comparisons from their previous visits. No hotels get everything 100% right all of the time, but Velasssaru will have to work exceptionally harder to get anywhere near the 5* experience they are aiming to achieve.

To those who have already booked, go and enjoy yourselves, to those who are contemplating going, unless you have got an exceptionally cheap deal, then consider alternative islands.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GailSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful stay. Stayed in a water villa. Room was fabulous and definately had the wow factor. The bed was huge and very comfortable (the best I've ever slept in). Room was very light and airy and the photos just don't do it justice. It exceeded all expectations. We were lucky that our villa faced away from rubbish island. I would have been a little bit disappointed otherwise given that the rates are the same regardless of view. You can see it (and Male) in the distance from some villas. That said, it wouldn't have disuaded me from going, particularly at these current prices, so don't let it put you off. If you can afford to splurge, I think that the water villas are definately worth the extra money. Shampoo and conditioners etc were really good, so I needn't have bothered taking my own expensive stuff.

Some minor niggles though. The porch light shone through into the bedroom at night and it was not possible to turn it off. Strangly, there was no black out blind on the small window next to it. We had to use a towel to cover up the window. Take a sleep mask if you light to sleep in the pitch black! Our aircon also dripped slightly onto the floor, as did the sink. It didn't bother us that much, but was marking the floor which was a shame. We also discovered towards the end of the stay that our safe wasn't bolted down and could simply be lifted/carried out of the room. We only discovered this when they sent someone in to drill it in place. I think that we should have been informed of this as we would have left our valuables/passports etc at reception had we known. This is probably a minor teething problem, given the newness of the resort. I'm sure that they're now all fixed, but it may be worth checking when you get there if you have anything really valuable on you. These were minor issues though and wouldn't disuade me from going and didn't ruin our stay at all.

The island was clean and well manicured. Rubbish etc was not a problem and the landscaping was good. Lots of birds, fruitbats, fish and ....er...a white rabbit (brownie points if you spot him).

Service could be a little hap hazard at times as the room service was slow. Sometimes, despite having been out all morning/early aft, the room wasn't done until late afternoon. This wasn't a particular problem generally, but we sometimes ran out of tea/water/toilet rolls etc. When they did come to clean the room the staff did a very thorough job, although again, took their time. Personally I would have preferred a quick fix (i.e. just made the bed, swept up any sand and replenished water etc) rather than wait for a complete overhaul each day. When we did call housekeeping, they were very quick to respond and the staff were very professional.

Service could also be a little hit and miss at breakfast. We sometimes had to ask for tea/coffee etc and it was a bit slow to arrive. Only a minor point though. Generally was good as was food (esp eggs benedict). That said, the staff do seem to be fairly young and are learning. Things did run much more smoothly when the manager, Saurabh (who was very proficient ), was around. Alish was also superb and did an excellent job.

The snorkelling was fairly good on one side of the island. Lots of colourful fish, but currents were a little strong at times so was hard to get to outer reef as we just kept getting pushed back to shore. We also had a couple of huge stingrays outside our villa each day (410) which were great to look at. Do heed warnings about the trigger fish. There were quite a few around, particularly near the water villas. You will have to go about 50-100m off shore for most of the snorkelling, but we could generally stand up in the water. We also went on a snorkelling trip which I could not recommend highly enough. It was fantastic! It took us along the drop off edge of a reef. Saw lots of mantra rays and a small reef shark, plus huge shoals of fish. You generally can't stand up in the water though as it's too deep, in case you're not a reasonable swimmer, although the staff made me feel very safe and the boat is always close at hand. Would definately recommend it.

Hired the glass bottomed kayak and it wasn't worth it. You couldn't go near the coral/fish in it and there wasn't much to see. Definately worth skipping.

Also had a spa treatment (velassaru signature/experience) . Was good, but expensive ($255 for 2 hrs 15 mins). They didn't really cater much for couples (they only had one treatment on offer) and they weren't able to offer a slight discount or customise anything else for the two of us. It also seemed a bit strange that the most expensive treatment was for men ($425). I'm not sure that they have got their market and pricing right given that most people there were couples. We've had better spa sessions for couples elsewhere which have been much more romantic. That said, if using spa facililties you can show up 45 mins early and use the outdoor jacuzzi pool, sauna and steam room. If you are going for a treatment, then show up early and get the most out of it. In hindsight I would have skipped it and taken some nice salt scrubs, massage oils etc out there with me and had a good diy session in my own bathroom instead. The bathrooms are so nice in the water villas that I spent many an hour in the bath.

Originally we'd booked full board, but cancelled it following reviews on this site. We were glad that we did, (not to say that the food in Vela wasn't great - it was actually very nice), but because it didn't save us any money and would have been too restrictive. We often skipped lunch as breakfast was so big in any event. That said, there was a limited choice available during the day (only buffet at Vela, pizza or bar snacks). The in-dining menu was also very limited (comprising of a couple of sandwiches, a burger and breakfast (which was included anyway). I would have expected more choice.

The pricing of the restaurants was also strange. It was the same price to have a pizza by the pool (which by the way, were delicious) as to go to Etesian and have a bowl of pasta, a free cheese and wine tasting session and a huge bowl of complimentary homemade breads and dips etc. We went to the teppanyaki bar which was also the same price as a big meal at Etesian, but was not nearly as good and overpriced. As a result we went to Etesian most nights and could not speak highly enough about it. The food was truely amazing. The chef is very talented, (particularly given his age) and has trained with the best in the world. The squid ink tanglioni and fish stew were superb, as was his lemongrass creme brulee (quite possibly the best desert that I've ever had!). We were also given complementary deserts on our final night by the chef. In fact, all the staff at Etesian went out of their way to make our experience special. Lei, in particular, provided the best service that I have had in a restaurant and was so attentive and provided a personal touch, going out of our way to remember our names and preferences etc. Saurabh and Gen were also very good. It was because of this service and the excellent food that we kept going back. Don't be put off by the initial formality of the place. It really is possible to dine there for the same price as elsewhere and was definately worth going back to. Am so glad that we stumbled across it on our first night and not out last!

All in all, a great stay. Would have given it 5/5 if not for those minor niggles (but then this is a new resort, so to be expected, and the prices currently reflect this!). There is evidence that the resort is listening to feedback as some previous niggles made by others had been corrected. Would definately consider going back and would recommend it. Special thanks to Lei, Saurabh, Alish, Gen and the chef at Etesian.

Tips:
Take lots of suncream. We got through loads (4 bottles in a week) and it's extortionate to buy in the shop.
Splash out on some lovely aromatherapy scrubs/bath oils etc to take with you (Aromatherpay Essentials do excellent travel sizes).
Take lots of underwater cameras.
Go on a snorkelling trip.
Ladies - flat shoes are best, but you could sling on a pair of heels once inside restaurants (esp Etesian).
Take some nuts/snacks for those inbetween times (esp in the afternoons if you're not up to having a big lunch).
If you fancy an early dinner, then bar snacks from Fen as starters and a pizza (open until 6) makes for a fairly substantial meal.
Definately go to Etesian!!
Don't fly Monach, or upgrade to Premium (see below).


Word of warning re flying with Monach. It is definately not worth it. Initially we decided to go with them as we were going to save about £300 if we went on a Sunday, rather than fly out on the Saturday with Sri Lanka. However, they changed our flight times 3 times, with the result that we had to pay for a hotel at the airport (cost £150) and also lost an additional day off work. Despite showing up 3 hrs before departure, there were no seats left for us to sit together. I am a very nervous flyer, so really did need to sit next to my husband. It turned out that check in opened at 9am (for a 10pm flight) and that many people showed up early or payed premium to secure seats. As a result, I very nearly didn't get on the flight due to nerves, although we were able to get seats together at the last min due to a no show. Whilst some staff were nice, the manager was very abrupt/rude when I tried to explain that I was a nervous flyer. The same happened on the way back. The seats were cramped, no personal tv's/film choice etc, no complimentary water, meals were served very late on the night flight as staff tryed to sell sandwiches etc first to make money. Both on the way and back, the seat in front wouldn't stay in the upright position, so I was particularly cramped. If you don't fancy spending 10 1/2 hrs sat next to a stranger on a really budget airline, then don't fly Monach or at least try and upgrade (I think that this needs to be done at least 5 days before you fly, but do check this with your travel agent).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V_M_CBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velassaru Island
11.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
11.4 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
11.0 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
18.8 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velassaru Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velassaru Maldives

Property: Velassaru Maldives
Address: Velassaru Island
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Velassaru Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velassaru Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Velassaru Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Undressed. Gentle sands leading you to the water's edge. Soothing vistas across the spectacular turquoise lagoon at sunset. Minimalist contemporary chic meets comfortable natural elegance in your own private hideaway. Five dining venues, each providing a taste of the exotic. Two innovative bars, the ultimate chill-out. Experiences that immerse you in local culture, underwater explorations that introduce you to our tropical marine world. Days and nights of simple indulgence. Step into the unknown. Welcome to Velassaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Velassaru Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velassaru Maldives Hotel South Male Atoll
Velassaru Maldives Laguna Beach Male
Velassaru Maldives Laguna Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing