We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Medhufushi Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Kandima Maldives(Dhaalu Atoll)
$249
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angsana Velavaru(Haa Dhaalu Atoll)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef(Dhaalu Atoll)
$450
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$1,135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Filitheyo Island Resort(Filitheyo Island)
$174
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Plumeria Maldives(Thinadhoo Island)
$60
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$310
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bodu Huraa Maldives(South Male Atoll)
$369
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Zoza Relax In(Kudahuvadhoo Island)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
467
283
99
33
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
283
99
33
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardwater villaa la carte restaurantour honeymoonbreakfast and dinnerfishsea planedolphin watchall inclusive packageper daycurriesour waiterwater sportsseaplane transferdive centrepalm treesmale airport
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 920 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights in September 2010 as pat of our Honeymoon. We had a wonderful time; the staff and accommodation were fantastic and the surroundings idyllic. We had a water bungalow (highly recommended). You can walk around the Island in twenty minutes. There is one bar and one buffet style restaurant, which is all you need. The food was out of this world, there was an extremely wide variety to choose from at every meal. The Medhufushi resort is probably the furthest atoll from Male, as such the transfer time is about an hour by sea plane, total time from landing in Male to arriving in the hotel room was around four hours, something that they don’t tell you when you book the holiday! However, at the end of the day you would expect to travel some distance if the aim of your holiday is to end up on a luxury desert island in the middle of no-where.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 173,900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, Administrative Secretary at Medhufushi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear 173900,

Thank you so much for spending the special occasion of your honeymoon at Medhufushi Island Resort.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful honeymoon with us. We are happy to read your remarks about the staff, accommodation and surroundings. It is always our goal to provide the most memorable vacation to our guests and we are glad that it has been visible throughout your stay.

It is very delightful to know that you have enjoyed the variety of food that we prepare in the buffet, as well as its quality.

Medhufushi Island Resort is not really the furthest atoll from Malé, however it would take approximately 40 minutes to travel by seaplane.

Once again, thank you for choosing Medhufushi Island Resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had picked this place based on the website pictures of the resort and reviews on trip advisor. They sure fool the people, pictures and the way they describe the resort on the website is sure different from what it actually is. We stayed 4 days here and did not have the best time like we did in the Constance Moofushi Resort. Do read my review there as I recommend that place. Anyway, back to Medhufushi, upon arrival we were greeted by staff and with some cold towels and a fruity drink which was not so great as it was not cold and seemed like there was a little bit of too much essence added to the drink. We were then informed that our rooms were not ready! We spent 2 hours sitting at the Villu bar doing nothing. In between we were called for lunch since we did have the all- inclusive package. Well lunch was good. Lots of food variety. The staff then called for us and took us to our water villa. All the water villas need a major renovation!!! This resort is 11 years old. The wood panels are starting to loose the color, the pillars that hold the villas are very very dirty. The roof panels are falling apart. The water pots on the boardwalk are very flimsy and look like they are about to break. The resort must do something about the bubble bees that hoover around the water villas and boardwalk. Lots of ants and other small critters everywhere you go. Also, our water villa was very small compared that this should be a 4 star resort. The bathroom had a damp yucky smell. The floors on the villa were creaking and the AC make funny sounds which did not make the room so cold. The beach and pool areas were ok. The staff was not so friendly and our waiter mentioned to us that this resort is more for the Maldivian local vacationers which is why we did not expect that great quality and which explained a lot of things by it self.

Room Tip: The water villas are much better than the beach villas. Beach villas are not quiet and lots of critters everywhere.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travel-from-NY-79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, Administrative Secretary at Medhufushi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear travel-from-NY-79,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at Medhufushi Island Resort. We are so sorry to learn that you have found the pictures in the website as befooling however we would like to tell you that the pictures from the website were directly taken from the resort therefore it is what the resort looks like and it is indeed one of the great things that we have to offer to our guests.

We do regret that the welcome drink that has been offered to you on your arrival did not give you satisfaction; it is not common for us to receive such comment as our guests have always liked it.

We are also sorry that you had to wait for 2 hours in the Vilu Bar, however I must explain that our standard check – in time in the resort is at 1400hours (02:00PM) and you have arrived at 12:00noon. Moreover, there are variety of social games and plays in the Vilu Bar that you can make use of while waiting for your rooms to be ready. On the other hand, we do appreciate your positive comment about the food in the restaurant, we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your lunch while waiting for your rooms to be ready.

It is surprising to read about your comments regarding the Water Villas, may I once again note that we do not normally receive such comment from our guests as our Water Villas have always been noted as beautiful and luxurious. We also feel apologetic reading your comments about the roof panels, wood panels, and pillars in the water villa area, however we must assure you that these matters are being checked regularly by our concerned department and therefore, should there be any action necessary, they will surely be working on it. Furthermore, we would like to assure you that we are already doing something about the bumblebees. We would also like to explain that, as we cannot fully remove the ants and other creatures in the island, we are doing our level best to have it reduced.

We are also disappointed to know that you have found our staff as not so friendly. Is our ultimate goal to provide an excellent customer service, yet we are sorry that you have found it unseen during your stay.

Medhufushi Island Resort is a well established five star resort, and it has been built to be a tourist vacation destination, not so often that we have local vacationers in the island, therefore we do nullify the idea that your waiter have told you. We do express our regret to such behavior and this matter is now being looked into.

Once again, we would take this opportunity to express our sincerest apology for not being able to meet your expectation. Thank you for choosing us as a destination for your vacation and we wish you all the best.

Best Regards,

Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent 7 night in Medhufushi for our honeymoon and it was awesome!
July to September is rainy season, but don't let that put you off. Our first day was a little cloudy and we had a little rain for about 10 minutes. We thought we wouldn't need sun block on that day, but we burned a little. it hovers between 28 & 30c all year round, and trust me you will need factor 50 sunblock. in 2 days we had a tan with factor 50.

It was glorious most of the time and we got to see sharks, turtles, stingrays and that was just swimming around our water villa. Go snorkelling on the boat trip too that was fun, we saw an octopus on that one.

OK the rooms are great and the food choice and quality is fabulous.
There is a few things you should know about the service there. You are basically paying for paradise, but if you are expecting 5 star hotel service you'll be disappointed. It isn't bad either though.

A few tips for you. Most of the staff are being paid less that $200 per month, they live in a different world to most of us and don't get to see their families very often. The local staff have it a bit backwards, as you won't get great service and a smile until you tip, where as the Sri Lankan staff in the bar are smiley happy people all the time. We tipped our waiter $5 day, which you do at the end of the day after dinner, they don't expect it at every meal. At the beginning of the week he struggled to smile, but by the end we knew about his family and he even told a joke, I think. I'm being a picky here as it really was fantastic and they will go out of their way for you.

Definately go all inclusive, this gets you all drinks except cocktails which are $14.00 each. It will cost you more in the end if you don't. somethings are cheap on the island, some are rediculously expensive. A pack of 20 cigarettes only $5 fab! If you want to snorkell alot (you will, when you see the tropical fish everywhere) then make room in your suitcase and take mask snorkel and flippers with you. Otherwise hiring is $8 per day for a whole set, they do 7 day offer for $40 per set. It is even more to buy your own there. It's your choice!

OK how paying for things work. They will put everything on your room to pay at the end of the holiday. When you get the bill there will be a small tax added (pence not worth worrying about), but there also be a 10% service charge. We spent $700 in a week, but we did a lot from dolphin watching, fishing, snorkelling, towed by a speedboat on an inflatable banana (they don't have the same speed restrictions, just a warning), a few cocktails and the wife had about 3 spa treatments (Fellas try to delay your wife going there as long as you can, because she will be there a lot and your credit card will feel it :-).

The island is gorgeous it is everything you see in the pictures. Another tip, if it is windy on your side of the island go to the other side. The breeze seemed to change sides every other day, so depending on how you like to be cooked you can move around accordingly. The pool is great and you can dip in and out and they will bring you drinks all day. Met some really nice people from all over the world too.

This place is about relaxing and not doing a great deal, you can find 1 different activity to do for about 5 days and then it is more of the same. If you want action packed and a variety of entertainment, then this isn't for you. If you want to slow down and spend quality time as a couple, then you've found the right place. There is entertainment some evenings provided by the staff. Some dancing from the ladies in the spa, or some traditional music from the locals and my absolute favourite Hermit crab racing. No glitz or glamour about it, but that made it even more charming.

You have to go and see for yourself, getting there was an adventure especially the seaplane, but we will be boring our grandchildren with the stories from Medhufushi.

Room Tip: The Water Villas are perfect and the way to go!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned from a 8 night stay at Medhufushi, Maldives. This being our third trip to the Maldives, were were really expecting something luxurious, based on the reviews here and the supposed 4-star rating, however we were disappointed!!!

Upon arrival by Sea plane, we were greeted with cold towels and a cold drink (not quite a tropical cocktail) - ok, but could have been better. The guest relations lady told us the room number and showed us where our beach villa was on a beat-up old map and then she took us over to check the villa out.

Room:
The room was small, gloomy and bit disappointing for a 4*. Also all beach villas seem to be set quite a bit back from the beach, behind a lot of unsightly, unmanaged foilage. We have stayed at other Beach villas and they were a considerably better quality. There was an outdoor shower thing, which we didn't really like, since the place was crawling with ants and other insects.

We decided that we had to upgrade as this was not great. We asked them to show us a Water villa and this was beautiful, so there was no question we had to take it. However on discussing this with the guest relations lady, we were told that there would be one available but we would have to pay the extra per night, which worked out at 150USD per night - costly but worth it. Although two days in at the Water Villa and we had the peace disturbed by some work-men bangin away out side on our jetty, which later left an uncomfortable loud generator noise in our room -aaarggh! they did eventually sort it, but come on - !

Food: The food was really good and there was plenty of choice.Upon our first night at the restaurant we were designated a waiter but we have to say this was very disappointing. Our waiter was often late in welcoming us, late in taking our orders and quite miserable. He tried but, we could see that he wasn't happy, and didnt really want to be there. Having said that, we did find the kitchen staff a bit more friendly, especially Laxman and Habib who couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble.


Beach and Cleanliness of island:Average beach, a little untidy with seaweed and litter also on one side of the island the sand bank is raised and quite eroded, so not picture-perfect. We have been to other resorts in the Maldives and the beaches have been better.

Pool area:Good sized pool, although we did see the same people spending all day, everyday by the pool side - like a scene from Costa Del Sol.

Spa:Good choice of treatments, but very expensive, the SPA staff were good, but on more than one occassion, we noticed quite a few of them gathered around the Spa reception chatting with not much to do. Also the treatment rooms themselves were a bit clinical and lacked atmosphere.

Summary: Medhufushi is an average island,for a good holiday. The Maldives is such a special place, its vitrually impossible not to have a good time.The food was good, the water villas were lovely, but general customer service and attitude of staff really poor. I agree with the previous reviewer that they do try and get every single penny out of you.

We did have a good time, but to be honest we were disappointed by the lack of customer service. Once more I agree with the previous reviewer, I'd say Medhufushi needs to look at the star rating, it is definitely more like a 3.5 star property.

TIP: Watch out for staff approaching you at the beach, or when you are on your verandah offering you coconut water - this is not free and they will expect money!!!

Room Tip: If going for beach villa - choose detached and ask for one one sunset side (much quieter). If you can - go for Water Villa
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ace_and_Sace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, Administrative Secretary at Medhufushi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

Dear MrandMrsA,
We deeply regret to read that we have not been able to meet your expectations entirely and to know that you have found our resort as disappointing.

Thank you, though, for your great remarks to the food on our buffet. We apologize for the impression created by your waiter, however, we must say that our team is always dedicated to guest satisfaction and providing the highest level of service and we are sorry that you were not able to feel it during your stay. Your compliments to Lakshman and Habib have been informed to them and they are delighted to hear about it.

On the other hand, we are grateful somehow that you have considered Water Villas as beautiful, but we apologize if you have found any noise regarding any maintenance work carried out in the water villa area, but please be advised that we do always give particular attention that if any maintenance work is planned, it is only done in a way that no inconvenience is caused to our guests.

Regarding the beach cleanliness, we have employed certain people to clean the beach at certain hours and several times a day, you may have seen it on a time that it was not cleaned yet but surely it will be cleaned on a certain time as the beach cleaners surely do.

Concerning the sand erosion, we are already doing the best that we can to solve this problem, though it is needed for us to understand that, while Maldives’ unique geographical layout and isolation contributes to its fame, it also experiences some economical challenges as you can imagine.

Nonetheless, thank you for taking the time to write your review about our resort. Your valuable comments are well received which will be looked into, one by one, and addressed with the concerned staffs and concerned departments.

Warm Regards,

Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights from 19th June. We stayed in a water villa on the sunrise side.
On the whole we really enjoyed our holiday, and could only find fault with some slight problems which if resolved would make this absolutely a 5 star score.

*The bed, although enormous, was absolutely rock hard. Very uncomfortable.
*We didn't feel safe walking back to our villa at night along the wooden walkways as they are in urgent need of refurb, with uneven and broken planks and quite poorly lit.
*Cost of extras. It really is expensive. We went half board, did 3 excursions, had chips and a drink by the pool during the day (not every day though), a nice bottle of wine with dinner every night ($38.50) used the mini bar a little bit (really the odd drink only) and our bill at the end was $1150. Plus tips.
*Tips are still expected even though 13.5% is added to everything. 10% is service charge and 3.5% is government tax!
*Smoking in the restaurant. There is a no smoking section but it's not clear and is a tiny part of the restaurant right at the front near the food and not where you would want to be sitting really, amongst the queues. It is well ventilated as there are no walls! But it's not nice when you're trying to enjoy your dinner and there's people all around you smoking.
*We just felt the whole place was a little bit shabby and in need of a bit of TLC.

All this considered we had an amazing time and things we really enjoyed were:

*Sunset cruise with cocktails and canapés. Bonus was there was only one other couple aboard so it felt like our own private boat! Excellent.
*Dolphin watch. Absolutely amazing! We thought we might see one or two, there were hundreds!! And they love to show off!! Mesmerising.
*Free snorkel trip. These are available daily although we only did one. It was excellent though they take you out to a reef, the boat anchors in very deep water and you have to swim then to the reef. Not good if youre not a particularly confident swimmer.
*Private beach BBQ was stunning. Service was excellent you get your own chef and waiter in a beautiful setting on the beach. Gorgeous.
*Our water villa was just beautiful. Aircon and ceiling fan. Kettle and pod coffee machine. Satellite tv. Basket of fruit. Spotlessly clean, enormous bathroom, inside which were the huge wardrobes with loads of room for your clothes, with massive walk in drench shower, bath overlooking the water, his and hers sinks and the loo in its own little glassed room. Stunning views to wake up to every day. A lovely swing seat to relax on. 2 sunbeds and fresh towels for these delivered daily. Steps directly into the ocean, we snorkelled with turtles, barracuda, black tipped sharks, leopard shark, eagle rays, sea snake and countless fish of all size and description.
*The food in the buffet was wonderful. there was so much choice and it was always plentiful. The chefs stand behind the counters and if you have a request they will do anything to accommodate you. (we never tried the a la carte restaurant as we didn't feel we needed to).
*Around the pool the man looks after you, providing fresh clean towels and when you go in the pool to cool off, he comes and straightens your bed up for you! Really amazing service.
*Sevice in general is very good. We found the staff would do anything to help you. Our room boy even decorated our bed with petals and leaves one night. It was such a lovely surprise when we returned from dinner. He also gave us extra coffee and creams everyday as we used quite a lot of these. Nothing is too much trouble. We asked for extra pillows and they were delivered very quickly. The rooms are serviced twice daily. Complimentary water is provided daily.
*There is staff clearing the beaches of seaweed all day, they walk along with a rake and a wheelbarrow to make sure the beach is pristine! Incredible. Also ladies sweeping up leaves from under the trees and around the villas/paths keeping everywhere looking very pretty.

So, in short, go to medhufushi. Go for a water villa rather than a beach villa then you won't have problems with insects. Go half board as you're unlikely to eat much during the day so it's not worth the extra cost. Definitely do the excursions I've mentioned. Well worth it.
Relax and enjoy!! It's paradise ;-)

Room Tip: Water villa rather than beach villa to avoid insect problems but also for the breeze, views and being able to snorkel straight off your deck
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruthie7668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinTheseira, Administrative Secretary at Medhufushi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Ruthie7668,

We are delighted to read your glowing review of your recent stay at Medhufushi Island Resort. We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed most of your experiences in the resort, and we thank you for sharing your experiences in a very detailed manner for the readers of TripAdvisor.

It is such a great pleasure to know that you had an amazing time with us and we are pleased to read all about your great and enjoyable experiences. It is enchanting to read about your memories with your sunset cruise, dolphin watching with the show-off dolphins, and the free snorkeling trip. It is also heartwarming to know that you have found the private beach barbecue as stunning, the water villa as beautiful, as well as the view, the food in the buffet as wonderful, the service and the staffs as very good. Your compliments to the efforts of our team are very much appreciated. It was an absolute pleasure to be of service to you. Our team is always dedicated to guest satisfaction and providing the highest level of service. It is motivating to see these efforts visible throughout your stay.

However, we deeply regret to read that we have not been able to quite meet your expectations about some things and rest assured that these were noted and considered as something to improve on; nonetheless, we are grateful for your positive rating.

Once again, thank you for choosing Medhufushi Island Resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to this paradise again.

Sincerely,

Dolores

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews