We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,332)
Filter reviews
3,332 results
Traveler rating
2,183
754
240
87
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,183
754
240
87
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset restaurant dhoni bar deluxe room manta rays all inclusive package water villa our honeymoon fish main restaurant infinity pool beautiful island jet ski mini bar our waiter kite surfing room boy water sports
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 3,332 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

We have just returned from 9 nights at the Olhuveli and I really felt I needed to give an honest opinion to others viewing this in order to help them make a decision. Last year we went to the Oblu at Sangeli. We went in the same first week of January and had beautiful weather both times (no mosquitos experienced at either). At the Oblu we had a water villa with pool and a glass floor which was amazing. At the Olhuveli we opted for the grand beach villa with pool which was also very nice but I understand from others that the water villas are rather dated. At the Oblu you can snorkel straight from your villa and see lots of fish but at the Olhuveli you need to snorkel at the end of their jetty to see anything. If you have children then the Olhuveli is for you because half the guests were children! What we weren't so keen on is the fact that it is two islands joined together by a bridge and you are only allowed to eat your 'inclusive' meals at the restaurant on your own island. We noticed on the first night that there was far more choice in the bigger restaurant and asked to speak to the manager, he wasn't so happy with us but arranged for us to meet with the restaurant manager who said it was ok to swap, however we heard other people being charged $65 dollars per person to eat there which is totally unfair as we have all paid the same price for inclusivity. The other thing to bear in mind, it is quite a walk between the two islands and as my husband had a bad knee our whole holiday was dictated by being at the buggy stop at the right time to travel between the two (all the activities are on the bigger island) and they only went every half an hour. Although the sea is beautiful here it is very sharp under foot with broken coral on some of the beaches (unfortunately ours!)
Most of the guests were Japanese or Chinese and very much catered for and so I struggled to be honest to find nice food each evening and basically ate pasta for 9 days as everything else was so hot and spicy or unrecognisable! The service was also quite poor and drinks/coffee usually took about 15 mins to arrive. To compare this with the Oblu is very easy. The food there was exquisite and the service amazing, you were greeted at every meal time and taken to a table and drinks came instantly. It is very quiet & relaxing with very few children and a much nicer place I believe for a honeymoon. Incidentally we paid the same amount for both places. The Olhuveli is building even more villas and goodness only knows how they are going to cope with so many more people when they struggle now ! However, i suggest the Olhuveli is probably better if you have children as they will all have a friend to play with racing around the restaurant !

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 393jennil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedAfeef, . at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear 393jennil,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor about your recent experience at Olhuveli Beach & Spa, Maldives.

We would like to convey our heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay. It is with regret to learn of your disappointment regarding the available facilities and service you have experienced on our island. Everything your have heard from people may not be true. We did not charge any guests who have prepaid for their package. I would like to assure you that we are closely monitoring every guest feedback and working closely with our team to improve our guest experience in future.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith at Olhuveli Beach & Spa and thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We wish you a very happy 2020 and enjoyable day ahead.

Your sincerely,

Mohamed Afeef
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

An amazing amazing place to choose and stay and specially if you are with kids , believe me, this is the only thing you are looking for.

I have read a lot of reviews and researched many sites before choosing this property, so sit tight and read with ease as this is the only one you would require to read before choosing this property.

I was travelling with my wife and 2 children, one of them was an infant.An I choose their DIAMOND ALL INCLUSIVE package which had all the necessary charges including that of rooms, food and drinks.

Maldives is a muslim county and taking or bringing duty free Hard drinks is not allowed here - so drop the plan of carrying yours for sure.

We reach from Delhi to Malè at 14:10 and move smoothly to the counter 21-22 where the pick up is scheduled for the guests. I had 20 more guests travelling with me and I was the first one to reach. Luckily their flight was supposed to land minutes after mine - so the wait time was limited. You may have to wait for a longer period as they provide limited transport facility.

Located in South Malè Atoll - a 40 KM distance from Malè Airport which takes approx 45 mins ride from there. A gala ride with lots of swings and jerks in the midst of the Indian ocean - you can see water all around. If you are fresh and energetic you may find several islands crossing by.

This island is an hour ahead of the scheduled Malè time for Sunlight saving and you will have to set your clock manually.

Welcomed on a beautiful island - one of the largest in Maldives - surrounded with turquoise water and white sands and beautiful wooden layovers. The whole of Olhuveli reception staff was standing in a que waiting for us welcoming us with cool fragrance towels and a welcome drink to start off our stay. A smooth check-in style where all papers were ready on our arrival and with minute details they hand us our key to the room.

I choose 3 different rooms for my 4-Night stays here as this is a large island and required quite a lot of walk around.

The first day, as I knew, would be a late check-in day I choose their basic room which was a - DELUX room. Located in the proximity to the reception, a little inside the beach area - it had 2 floors - we being with children were provided the ground floor - quite crunched with a king bed, small bed and the COT. The lightings were quite less but just sufficient. 4 water bottles - refilled twice a day - tea/coffee sets. Mini bar with soft and hard drinks to keep you and your kids happy. Happy that it was just a one night stay here.
2nd Night in Water Villa Jacquizi Room - Very Very spacious and very expensive - but worth every penny. Massive suit like room - a kids room - a dressing room - a beautiful bathroom and to top it all the open Jacquizi over the waters, a view which you may have just seen in your dreams. You would simply love being in it. An espresso machine added in the room to make the coffee feel a little more good.
3rd and 4th Night in Grand Series - a different island connected by a small bridge which was built last year - believe me it's the best of the best thing you will be staying in your life. I booked a Grand Beach villa with pool and the series begins with 631 - very happy this was my room - just next to the restro which we were to eat for the next 2 days. Massive room newly build and with a superb washroom - choose as you like - open to sky.
All these rooms were located in different locations and I am happy that my travel planner planned these things as per my direction.

Coming to the resto's and bars.

If you're in Deluxe series you will have to have most of your buffet in Sunset Restaurant - a lot of veg options found here - located in one side of the buffet - only one or two eggless bakery items which was quite a turn down. A limited drinks menu to choose from for an all inclusive member - all the drinks mentioned DAI were for these members and I must tell you they are just OK types.

For the Grand Series - the Buffet is Maafushi - almost the same menu as before but this is a little small place to dine in - but very good and open sitting facility. Staff are really helpful and they get things prepared for your Infant/ children on request.

The bar's Lagoon, Sunrise, Dhoni, Island Pizza are all filled with the same drinks and there is no change in the menu. So it's the same thing all around in the ISLAND.

To your amazement there is a Kids club - Mankanzaa, if I can remember correctly - very good and nice place for your child to stay. They have good play areas, sleeping cots for infants and a play station room for the wild child as well.

Snorkelling is a little difficult in the area - but I suggest you carry your own SCUBA set along to enjoy it - you would find a lot of corals in the GRAND area and there are no supervisors to help you there - so plz be a little CAUTIOUS.

Spa area is lovely they offered us a $100 Spa voucher to use and we used it well - though expensive - but worth all the money you will spend there.

Check our was smooth as a whistle - we had received a letter a night prior to our departure for our scheduled departure - hence we kept the baggage outside our room for pick up. We reached the reception at time and then a beautiful journey came to an end.

Over all if you love a peaceful vacation with family and scenic beauty - this is the place you would love to visit for sure.

Word of CAUTION :-
Always and yes always prefer an ALL INCLUSIVE package here - things are really really expensive. Drinks can burn a hole in your pocket as you are not allowed to bring in your own drink here from the airport itself.

Room tip: grand beach villa with pool will be best..!!
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank b2bhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedAfeef, . at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear b2bhai,

Sunny greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa, Maldives.

Thank you very much for choosing Olhuveli Beach & Spa and the awesome review shared on TripAdvisor about your experience with us.

We are delight to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and satisfied with our island, our facilities and appreciated the service provided by our team members.

We are happy with the kind encouraging feedback and compliments such as these gives our teams the best motivation in their continued work to improve customer service to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you and your families a very Happy 2020!


Kind regards,

Mohamed Afeef
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We had a brilliant time staying at the Olhuveli. I researched high and low for a family friendly Maldivian resort and found Olhuveli through British Airways. We were not disappointed, direct BA flights were perfect and the transfer from the airport was great.
The resort is relatively large and set across a few islands. We spent most of our time on the newer dream island as we loved the lagoon water and outlook from the pool. It was very chilled through the day and there was never more than 10people around the pool.
Our beach villa with pool on dream island was stunning, best part was the outdoor bathroom (pure luxury)! Food was fab and a nice variety within the buffet each day. We had most of our lunches at the beach restaurant and really enjoyed the selection there.

My wife and I travelled with our two boys (3 & 1 yrs), the resort staff were so good with us all and especially took a liking to them! Special thanks to the buffet restaurant staff in the kids area who went out of there way each day to chat and play with them (shout out to Thaney - my boys miss you)!

Our boys had daily sand art drawn in front of them by the talented Afeef, my eldest was so excited each time we saw him, as he knew he would have some marine life drawn in the sand by him.

Suraya (front of house for the guests) went above and beyond to make our stay special.

We will always remember our holiday at this beautiful location in the stunning Maldives. Can't wait to return x

Room tip: Head to dream island for the most beautiful lagoon photos whilst sipping back on a cocktail from the pool area.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itripadvised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedAfeef, . at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear guest,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa, Maldives.

Thank you very much for the kind review shared on Trip Advisor about your experience with us.

We are delighted to read that you and your family had a memorable holiday at Olhuveli chilling on the beach of Dream Island, enjoying swimming in the pool, snorkeling on house reef as well as appreciated the facilities , food and drinks, and the service provided by our team members especially Thaney and Suraya.

We are very pleased with your kind feedback and compliments to our team members for their genuine service and compliments such as these gives our team members the best motivation for their continued work to improve customer service to all our guests.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Your sincerely,

Mohamed Afeef
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

My husban and i spent an unforgettable and beautiful honeymoon at olhuveli beach & spa maldives. The beaches and the sea are beautiful. All very nice and clean. The staff always smiling and very kind. Thanks to Nammiz who has always welcomed us with great kindness to the restaurant Malaafaiy, very professional. Thanks to our Rumesh who cleaned and decorated our bungalow every day, to ensure that our stay did not miss anything.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 971biankas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedAfeef, . at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

Dear 971biankas,

Sunny greetings from the Maldives !

Thank you very much for the kind review shared on tripadvisor about about your experience at Olhuveli Beach & Spa, Maldives.

We are delighted to read that you and your partner had an unforgettable honeymoon on our island paradise and appreciated the island, the beaches, the sea, the facilities and the service provided by our team members especially Nazim and Rumesh. They both are overjoyed with your kind words and very grateful to you.

Thank you for staying with us and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again soon. |

Wishing you and your family a wonderful year ahead.

Your sincerely,

Mohamed Afeef
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Our first trip to the Maldives, we arrived at Male airport on 30th December 2019 on an all inclusive package. It took about 2 hrs to get through immigration so be prepared for this! TUI rep was waiting at the airport and guided us in the right direction. We had a 45 min speedboat transfer to the hotel, this was an experience! Staff from the hotel greeted us when we arrived on the island. We were welcomed with a cold drink and asked to complete some paperwork, easy check in process. We stayed in room 205 which had a lovely sea view. We did not feel that a room upgrade was necessary. The bathroom is a wet room and could do with a little upgrade, a shower screen would be nice as everything gets soaking wet! Bathroom floors are very slippery so be very careful! Hot water was temperamental, but this was soon rectified by the staff. The mini fridge was replenished daily. Al Amin kept our room clean and tidy daily, we cannot fault him.
A big shout out to Upul, Gihan and Sashika at the Dhoni bar, they were amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them. The sunset buffet restaurant is the main restaurant, it has different themed nights. We would like to thank Abdulla for his hospitality, he always found us a table for two and remembered our drinks.
You can also dine at the Lagoon restaurant on all inclusive, its a 5 course set menu (lots of different options) however you need to book a table in advance.
We tipped the staff using dollars and they were very grateful.
Bars - We had a few drinks in the lagoon bar however we spent most of our days and evenings at Dhoni Bar which has an adults pool area. (parents do allow their kids in adults only pool, which is annoying but staff do their best to monitor this)The bar and pool area is lovely and clean, sits on the beach and the staff are amazing.
(*TIP* - If you dont have kids, try to book outside of the school holidays - there were way more kids there than we would have liked!)
New years eve on the island was fabulous. They put so much effort into the food, the fireworks and the party.
Snorkeling at the house reef was amazing we saw turtles, sharks and many different amazing colorful fish.
My husband did 7 dives and he thoroughly enjoyed his experience. He would highly recommend the wreck dive. Hansel and the Divemasters are fantastic and very professional. Please note that diving is very expensive.
TIP* Take plenty of sun cream and toiletries as they are very expensive in the shop $45 for suncream.

Overall a fantastic experience and we will definitely return to the Maldives.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todd12-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedAfeef, . at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear todd12-123,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa, Maldives.

Thank you very much for the kind review shared on Tripadvisor about your new year holiday with us.

We are delighted to read that overall you had a fantastic experience enjoying the, island, snorkeling, scuba diving and appreciated the facilities and service provided by our team members especially Al-Amin, Upul, Gihan, Sashika, Abdulla and Hansal.

We are very happy with your kind feedback and compliments to our team members for their genuine service and compliments such as these gives our team members the best motivation for their continued work to improve customer service to all our guests.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate Christmas and

Your sincerely,

Mohamed Afeef
Director of Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews