We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fun Island Resort(Bodufinolhu Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Raakani Villas(Guraidhoo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes(Mahaanaelhihuraa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
COMO Cocoa Island(Cocoa Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Biyadhoo Island Resort(Biyaadhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Fihalhohi Island Resort(Fihalhohi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Kaani Grand Seaview(Maafushi Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,157)
Filter reviews
2,157 results
Traveler rating
1,278
569
183
70
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,278
569
183
70
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset restaurantdeluxe roomdhoni barmanta rayswater villaour honeymoonfishall inclusive packageour waiterroom boymain restauranthalf boardbeautiful islandinfinity poolcrabkite surfingdiving school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 2,157 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Olhuveli (which was not nearly enough) in January.
We love everything about it, we had the best room ever a beach villa, with a fantastic outside bath and 4 poster bed.
The room boy kept our room immaculate, always folding any clothes and lovely welcome and goodbye greetings on the bed.
the food was superb so much choice and all well cooked.
The staff are great, really friendly and helpfull all the wat to the manager who is a great guy.
We love it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazyboyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, Maldives!

Thank you for choosing our resort as your holiday destination and for sharing your experience with us in TripAdvisor. Your review and compliments have been shared and indeed appreciated by the team in the resort.

As you have rightly pointed out about our Beach Villa, it has a very unique open-concept bathroom. Most of our guests amazed with the Beach Villas as it became connected with the nature and offered total privacy. Olhuveli Maldives embraces the enhancement and blending of nature which is very much the core of the resort design.
We also delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and impressed with our service. It is a pleasure to know that our chefs could tantalize your taste buds with their varied gastronomic offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your “Dream Destination” soon.

Warm Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Olhuveli in December 2012 after deciding to fulfil a lifelong dream of a holiday in the Maldives. I myself am a serial researcher when choosing accommodation for holidays and spent many month researching different hotels both North and South Maldives. Olhuveli Resort & Spa stood out from the crowd for us due to its beautiful and large lagoon and the high standard of even the most basic option of accommodation. We are avid users of Trip Advisor and as always tried not to take on board any negative reviews is they are of a lesser percentage. We can honestly say that we are dismayed by any ‘negative’ reviews of this hotel!! They were completely unfounded in our opinion.

The transfer from Male Airport was super efficient (we have never travelled through immigration so fast anywhere else in the world). We were straight onto our speedboat which was large, comfortable and extremely exhilarating! Any clients that have criticised the speedboat transfer are a little misguided. None of the brochures have ever claimed that you will have a speedboat straight out of the scene of Miami Vice. This is public transport and designed to carry larger amounts of passengers and does the job very well!! The journey took approximately 40 minutes and the staff on board provided us with cold water for the journey. On arrival at our resort we were greeted with smiles, hospitality, cold flannels and then escorted across the long jetty to the reception area. Check in was fast, easy and stress free and then we were shown to our basic Deluxe room. We chose an upstairs room on the Sunrise Side of the island. We were fully prepared after much research for the lack of view due to the vegetation and although this is a big complaint of this resort, people need to understand that the vegetation is there for a reason, mainly to protect the rooms from adverse weather and heat. The room was a good size, well appointed and very clean and our room attendant came to the room twice daily. Once in the morning and once in the evening for a turn down service. He was always polite, friendly and non intrusive. Although the rooms are in blocks of 4 (two up two down) we suffered no disturbance from other guests and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The beaches are immaculate at all times and are swept daily by the staff. The most picturesc side for us was the Sunset Side, however the sand is quite course and you do need at least flip-flops when walking around. The Sunrise side has powdery white sand and faces the Dive Centre and jetty. We had read many reports that it can be noisy with the arrival of boats and new guests but again the noise is for a few seconds and really is nothing to complain about! The snorkelling is phenomenal but we recommend you take your own fins and mask if your budget is tight. The water sports centre and staff is fantastic but it can get a little pricey for the hire of snorkelling gear if you want equipment for 2 weeks. Once you have snorkelled in both the shallows and the reef edge at Olhuveli you will want to snorkel every day. We have never seen so many marine creatures in one square meter of water! We saw Emperor fish, box fish, puffers, black tip reef shark (these were also swimming right by the shore), Stingray and on the last but one day we were stunned to have 3 Eagle Rays swim right past us on the edge of the reef! This is an experience we will never forget!
The restaurants are wonderful and the variety of food leaves little space for complaint. We are truly dismayed that some visitors have complained about the monotony of the food. There are themed nights and your fruit and salads are cut fresh in front of you. The restaurant staff and waiters are attentive and we never had a problem being seated outside. Nothing was too much trouble when it came to our comfort and enjoyment. Every evening after our meal we walked up the jetty to the dive centre and watched the Manta Rays feeding in the floodlit water. This is an absolute must and should not be missed! The All Inclusive drinks selection is excellent, with many brand name drinks available. The criticism of no cocktails is slightly ridiculous as if you are savvy you can make your own, with AI juice and White Rum etc. The staff very quickly get used to your favourite tipple and more often than not your drink would be on our table as soon as we sat down!! We would like to give a small mention to Ali our bar waiter. He was attentive, friendly and his gorgeous smile will remain in our memories for the rest of lives. He is possibly Olhuveli’s biggest football fan and an avid fan of Manchester United. It was our great pleasure to leave him with two official football shirts when we left. This was the least we could do for such a wonderful member of staff. Quite simply the best bar waiter we have met anywhere in the world so far!
We met with Thameed, the hotel manager during our stay who helped us fulfil a dream of staying in a Jacuzzi Water Villa for our last 3 nights. This is an absolute must if your budget will allow! The rooms are beautiful, private and kept immaculately clean at all times. Thameed is simply the most helpful, gracious and professional hotel manager we have encountered and it is wonderful to see ALL members of staff being directly involved with the guests. We have a lot to thank him for and commend him on his professionalism throughout our stay. A credit to the hotel group!
Our holiday rep Concy (First Choice/ Thomson) was an absolute gem throughout our stay. Interacting with the guests in a non intrusive manner, full of local knowledge and always on hand should you require him. This is our opinion is the way a holiday rep should be. He really was a pleasure to deal with!
All in all Olhuveli exceeded our expectations in all ways. The hotel and location was beautiful, well kept and the staff are truly a credit to the resort. We left a little piece of our hearts at Olhuveli and pray that we are able to re-visit this beautiful and wonderful resort. Thank you Thameed and all of the staff, we miss you!! We do wish we had taken some Emails so we could get in touch again....
Mr & Mrs Pinfield

Room Tip: Sunrise side of the island is beautiful and quiet. Top floor rooms are more private and quiet. Jacuzzi Water Villas are a must if your budget will allow, even if it is only for a few nights
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoP1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

On behalf of my team, I would like to express our gratitude for your lovely feedback and thank you for choosing Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort as your holiday destination in The Maldives. It has certainly been a pleasure to have you with us and we are delighted to know that we are able to exceed your expectations in all ways during your stay with us.

As you rightly mentioned above, “it’s an absolute must and should not be missed” to watch the Manta Rays which can be easily spotted in the evening from the jetty near the Diving Center due to the floodlit which attracts the plankton. We are blessed that Olhuveli sits at the edge of the atoll and is privy to spectacular marine migration of big fish and other creatures.

It is always a pleasure to receive compliments on our resort. We have communicated your feedback to all the team members, especially Ali & Concy who are pleased to have received the same. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

You may get in touch with us through info@olhuveli.com.mv and it is our hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future.


Sincerely Yours,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had a fantastic holiday.the service was first class especially from Sharif and Alamin.both waiters couldn't do enough to help and always SMILING ...... Surely will see them wearing the white management shirts on our next trip.The only negative comment I must give on behalf of our party of 4 is
We paid to have a late checkout $100 plus 18%tax $118 . However the all inclusive we paid for finished on our departure day at 12 mid day and we didnt leave the island till 20.00 that evening we had to pay for any drinks we had after 12 midday,so extending our room didn't cover anything other than the room. BIG disappointment. ...

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lizzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives. We are grateful that you have shared your experience here. It has certainly been a pleasure to have you with us at the resort and to read that you had such a fantastic holiday at Olhuveli.

We endeavor to have friendly, courteous and attentive staff at the resort and happy to hear you are pleased with our facilities and service. We will share your compliments to the team here, especially to Sharif & Alamin, who will be more than happy and motivated to make their very best to delight our guests.

We appreciate your comment which is very instrumental for us in our desire to continue to improve & enhance our service and we look forward for the opportunity to welcome you back to the “paradise” in the near future.


Warm Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

First impressions were superb. Escorted to the speedboat just a few yards from the aiport terminal and an exhilerating ride to the resort. Met at the pier and taken by golf cart to the reception. Check in very smooth and escorted to our villa.

It was one of the two up two block of villas and the setting was superb. We could sit up in bed in the morning and see the sea lapping the white sand beach. Our housekeeper was brilliant. Everything that we had used was promptly replaced and when he turned down the bed in the evening, he even washed the crockery if we had had a cup of coffeebefore dinner.

Both pools were a bit small but adequate for the number of people using them. It was a bit strange to find so many Chinese at the hotel - I would guesstimate about 80/90% of the guests were Chinese but the good thing was that they generally don't like to sunbathe, so plenty of spare sunloungers everywhere and no towels at dawn with the Germans.

The food in the main reataurant was fine and a good choice. One night we were even served Beef Wellington and although I was suspicious that it might not be fillet, it certainly was. Salads were not very varied and could have been better but there were always two soups as well.

The spa massages were just about OK bur expesive compared to the Uk as were the drinks. Be careful when ordering drinks as you are not warned that some are not part of the AI package and some of the snacks aren't either. To give you an idea of the drinks prices - fresh fruit juice £6 each, Pinacolada cocktail £10 each!

However, the resort is idyllic and when could you ever say that you laid on a tropical beach under a sunshade with no-one else in sight and the turquoise sea lapping the beach. We were told that you could walk out to the reef to see the marine life and it is true that the water is only knee deep but the walk is about half a mile in blazing sun and the closer that you get to the reef you are walking on broken coral which is very painful. We gave up.

All the staff are very helpful with an ever present smile. A small tip each night ensures that the wine flows well during lunch and dinner!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamwLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Olhuveli Maldives!

It gives us immense pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us overalls and thank you for sharing your experience in the Trip Advisor. Your comment has been shared to the entire team and they are very happy to have received the same.

We do value your comments, which is very important for us and instrumental in our desire to continue to improve and enhance our service. Please stay assured that your comments will be notified to the concerned departments for evaluation.

Once again, thank you for your recent visit to our beautiful resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon.



Warm Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I just visited Olhuveli Island, and it was truly a beautiful place. The only qualms I had, which I think are worth noting, is that our beach villa did not have any soap when we arrived. I thought that was odd, seeing as soap is a basic amenity that every hotel I've ever stayed at throughout the world supplies. I thought maybe that whoever cleaned the room just forgot to place it in our bathroom, so I phoned the front desk to request that some be sent to our villa. After a few phone calls throughout the day and still no soap by early evening, I was finally told by the guy cleaning our room that they ran out of soap and that they wouldn't get another shipment until about 4 days from now--I just couldn't believe it. I mean really, the entire island has no soap? And why would it take 4 days to get soap? Male is only a short boat ride away, and surely there must be soap there? It was pretty ridiculous, especially considering the amount it costs to stay on this island, and I really felt that it was unacceptable. I mean I've stayed in cheap youth hostels back in the day, and even they had soap! So, as a result, I ended up having to steal soap from one of the restaurant's restrooms, which is completely pathetic.

Also, after returning to our room after dinner that first evening of our stay, our bathroom was covered in large black ants. I'm not talking one or two here and there, but a swarm of them crawling all over the floor, along the walls, in the shower, etc. I phoned the front desk--again-- and my cleaning guy shows up with a can of ant spray. He actually said to me, "You know, these ants won't harm you." Again, I was floored by his response. How about the fact that I don't want to have to shower among hundreds of ants or that I don't want the ants crawling all over my toiletries? He did end up spraying the bathroom, and then we had to leave the room for a few hours because it smelled so bad. But, the ants did eventually disappear.

Now, I consider my self to be a pretty low-maintenance traveler; just give me a clean, quiet place and I'm good to go. But, not having the basically amenity of soap and a bathroom filled with a swarm of ants is really not acceptable, particularly if I'm paying $500+/night for a room.

But despite these few issues with our villa, we did end up having a pleasant stay, enjoying the beautiful beaches and water, and the fantastic snorkeling! As for the food, the main restaurant (Sunrise) that serves the buffet breakfasts and dinners did have lots of different food options that catered to the varied foreign visitors to the island, but it was all just mediocre tasting. We had much tastier meals at the Dhoni Bar.

So, overall, I would recommend the island, but just be sure to bring your own soap!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggero5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort as your holiday destination in the Maldives and for the time that you have taken to share your comments following your recent stay at our resort. It has certainly been a pleasure to have you with us at the resort.
We are glad to read that you are having a pleasant stay with the most part of your holiday and to know that you had a fantastic snorkeling experience at Olhuveli. We are proud and feel blessed that Olhuveli sits at the edge of the atoll and is privy to spectacular marine migration of big fish & other creatures which are perfect for a first dive or snorkeling experience.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Your feedback will be communicated with the respective departments to ensure improvement in services delivered to our valuable guests and it is our hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews