We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Trip.com
Travelocity
Expedia.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
828
247
63
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
828
247
63
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overwater villa lunch and dinner diving center fish sea plane our honeymoon marine life sand bank eagle rays snorkeling trips baby sharks main restaurant curries low tide clear water dive master maldives experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2021

Gangehi Island Resort&Spa is a very charming, friendly and beautiful resort located 30 minutes by sea plane from the airport and major island, Male. Turquoise approach and blue boat welcoming us on the island were a great first impression.
I would like to point out some observations and summarize our 2 weeks stay in Gangehi:
• Very friendly staff, big THANK YOU to Giorgio, the resort manager, Rasheed and others in a restaurant, and lovely lady in massage center - super friendly, funny and very caring guys;
• Beautiful location; something that was in plus for us personally is nature, greenery, clear water, long beach, and natural look of the island without luxury swimming pools, concrete and “posh vibe”;
• Food served in the restaurant is always fresh and served as soon as you are seated; selection might be limited and repetitive, but taste is very good, (you definitely have to try soups); alcoholic and soft drinks are extra paid, but prices are reasonable; desserts are definitely a must, as they are always prepared by the local chef, including very good ice cream selection;
• We stayed in a beautiful Beach Villa with private terrace, private sunbeds, and umbrella. The villa itself is very spacious, including large King Size bed, sofa, working space, large storage space, large mirror, A/C, LARGE shower and ceiling fan. Very comfortable and homely.
• Gangehi Island is surrounded by beautiful reef and underwater wildlife. We enjoyed snorkeling and diving very much. If you do not have your own equipment, don’t worry, there is a diving center with all the essentials to enjoy colorful fish, baby sharks, octopus or tortoise.
• Rooms are not equipped with TVs which wasn’t a problem for us. Something definitely missing is a coffee and tea set in the room, even a small kettle would make a huge difference.
• If I think about something that really requires improvement is a wifi, which is very slow and might be an issue if you want to work remotely from the island. You can find good connection in the restaurant or lobby, although it’s rather busy, loud and lack privacy.
• I have to mention the staff again, as we faced some difficulties with our return trip and had to stay extra 8 days. Giorgio was very helpful and understanding, trying to help us as much as he could, making our extra week on the island super enjoyable. BIG THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN TO EVERYONE!
To sum up, Gangehi Island Resort&Spa is a lovely resort where everybody can feel like at home but with breathtaking views, wild nature and staff taking best care of you. This is the best place if you want to find peace, turquois water and rest your body and mind without unnecessary luxurious amenities, that can be found everywhere around the world. Just nature, peace, and YOU

Room tip: I personally suggest to book a beach villa :)
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 582meltv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2021

We bought a trip from travel agency and choose to stay in Gangehi Resort. The resort looks exactly like on the pictures, this is literally a paradise. The staff is super nice and engaged in their work (kudos to the bar crew!) Island is small and located far from Male (1,5h using speedboat), so it offers isolated experience. You can buy snorkeling trips to see sunrise, sunsets, sharks and mantas. There is also a reef located near the beach so you can see the sealife daily. The staff is flexible and can adjust to your needs. The cuisine is splendid. You can taste local fish, as well as Italian cuisine as owners are from Italy! Covid protection measures are very high - everyone from staff wears a face mask and they maintain social distancing.

Room tip: Take the west exposed rooms to see the best sunsets in your life.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarcinJ268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2021

This resort is extremely bad and dirty.They have bad managment and bag hygiene.
It’s full with big cockroaches everywhere ,in the rooms,in the restorant,in the waking areas.
The food is extremely poor,no variety at all,the staff is so rude and unhelpful .
If you want to spend relaxing vacation ,this is NOT the place.
First the resort is very far,almost 3 hours with boat from Male.
The island is really small and in the middle of the island there is a very bad smell.No one take responsibility for the cockroaches .According to management it’s normal to have one finger big cockroache in the room because this is island and because it's raining outside.But these are only non sense excuses for their lack of taking care of the problem.It’s not normal and not rain or wet or whatever is the reason to have thousand cockroaches everywhere.I have been to many many other islands in maldives and i see something like this for a first time.
Cockroaches was falling over our bed and heads during the time we supposed to relax,they were so big and terrified .
It was disgusting ,to know such a bugs are walking in the space where they cook our food as well.
Do not go there because it’s just horrible !
They write they have yoga, but no yoga in the resort, they write they have room service, but they don't really have room service, only sandwiches, Restorant is open only at 8 pm for dinner and 1 pm for lunch.If you want to eat something between this time, there is nothing open.Don't go there.There are 5 star resorts for this price, which are thousand time better.We were in the most expensive water villa and it was full with cockroaches on the ceiling and walls.These bugs come out only when its dark outside and they are disgusting and so big.Its so scary what we saw.This hotel has to be closed for bad hygiene!
I can't upload videos here, that's why I made screenshots from the videos.In google I uploaded all videos

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 139valiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2021

I can't think of e better description for our holiday than simply PERFECT. Everything from the way that we were welcomed to the way they say goodbye to us was magical.
We had one Beach Villa and one Water Villa Deluxe and I have to say that the view from each room was breathtaking and you can jump from the bed straight in the ocean each morning. Also the rooms were spacious, very clean and the room Wifi was actually better than I expected.
The island overall is absolutely gorgeous: the palm trees, their garden, the bats, the parrot, lizards, the flowers; its exactlly like a small paradise. The beach is very clean, with that perfect blue water, they even have a swing near the water.
Now about the marine life: OUTSTANDING. It's true that the corals aren't that colorful, but they are slowly coming back to life. We saw reef sharks, manta, dolphines (in our first day, it was a really nice surprise because it wasn't their season and the manta season started when we left) and so many types of fish that I honesly had no idea they could exist: it was just like we were watching a National Geographic documentary. They have a really nice diving center and we loved the staff. The diving experience it's not for everyone but if you try it you will get used to the way it works really fast (Gill is a really good teacher) and the experience is 100% worthy. Also the snorkeling trip was really fun and beautiful, we even get to see a turtle and the boat staff&the guy from the diving center were such nice people, they make everything even better.
Now let's talk about the food. Because of the Corona situation there weren't many tourist so the breakfast and dinner were buffet, at lunch we received a menu, different every day, and you get to choose from so many dishes. There is a big variety of food from which you can choose and the food is REALLY GOOD. Also they have theme nights so you can't get bored about he food. We have to say that the deserts were our favourites.
The stuff: we LOVED them. They made our holiday even better, they were really friendly, nice, comucative people. So shoutout to : Rasheed; Dasu; Kuddus; Gill; Manushi and Suresh; they made our memories absolutely memorable, but all the stuff is soooo nice.
We even had a fashion night, which we attended and we took part in the fashion show; such a unique and fun experience.
And last but not least: the boutique. The souvenires are really nice but Suresh makes that place special. He designs and makes all the beautiful clothes from there, he's a really good tailor and every piece that he makes is unique, also he can make pre-ordered clothes.

Room tip: The deluxe water villa was our favourite, bu thhe beach villa has an outstandin view as well.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frandree8_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2021

I would like to say HUGE thank you to General Manager Giorgio Pini, Manoj and the whole team for the great hospitality, highest professionalism and dedication.
The place is great! Highly recommended to stay!

Room tip: Overwater Deluxe Room
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Success111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews