We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gangehi Island Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madoogali Tourist Resort(Madoogali Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
VOI Maayafushi Resort(Maayafushi Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
977 results
Traveler rating
684
213
52
21
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
213
52
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarine biologistoverwater villalunch and dinnerfishdiving centersea planeice creamour honeymoonitalian foodduring high tidea la carte restaurantfull board packagedeck chairssand bankhead chefegg stationper day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 977 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Despite the relatively low room rates, Gangehi is a nice island resort that has everything that matters: great house reef and sea life, great sand bank which stretches out >200m from the island, comfortable wooden bungalows....... Minus swimming pools, concrete structures, tennis courts etc that spoil the atmosphere.... I have seen a few other hotels that cost more, but Gangehi is more romantic......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeissiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's our 3rd time to Maldives and the 1st time to Gangehi (Sep. 11~15). People is asking me for comparision while I left no words as each island has its own features.

As a small island with less rooms, you'll never feel crowded. Most of guests come from Europe and Asia. Thus I think somehow Gangehi is like an international village.

The small island has a magic sandbar which is so long to reach the end during the low tide. Walking on the sandbar, standing in the clean seawater, closing to the edge of oceanic trench and watching the island exteriorly bring me an unreal feeling. The most fantastic thing we met is happening only at night: bioluminescence beach. Just like the words in another review: Walking on stars, under stars! A tips: go to the beach in high tide period at night.

The customer service will be perfect if the accountant can be asking you for signing bill with smile. I like the staff in restaurant very much. The chef introduces foods in detail with passion. The waiter serves us warmly. They're a great team making the Veli restaurant a popular place. The island staff keep our overwater bungalow spotless. It's also nice that staff brings dessert to guests around island everyday, which We met 2 times, on the beach and the diving center.

The foods in Veli restaurant are delicous. Fresh fruits and ice cream are must after each meal. A little pity that we didn't meet pizza during the our 4 nights' stay. And, to be honest, the fish dishes are a bit of too much :P, though they are all well cooked. We don't feel dinner at 8:00 pm is an issue. As we can enjoy sunset at our overwater bungalow each day and then go for dinner. We didn't go to Thari restaurant so will leave no comments. A little complaint about pure water - there're no complimentary water available in your room. Water is freely supplied in the breakfast only.

There's no TV in overwater bungalow, but we're fine with personal laptop/iPad. Free Wifi is available in the reception or bar at low speed as the internet access is via satellite. During our stay at Gangehi, the temperature is not so high (25~29°C), while the overwater bungalow is a bit outside of the island with strong winds all day, we could actually turn AC off. But we didn't do that because the AC is connected to a heat exchanger which could supplies hot water for you. There're also many activities on the island. We attended the night hand line fishing and got a lot - both fish and fun. We also attended daily water gym right beside Veli restaurant.

There're 2 routes for snorkelling along the island, one along the oceanic trench, another along the east of the island. The 1st route has strong current, while the 2nd route is hard to reach the right direction. But both sites bring you the wonderful world under the water. Beside beautiful coral and plenty of colorful fish, We saw turtle in the 1st route and starfish in the 2nd route. My suggestion is to snorkel during high tide at the 2nd route so you'll not be touching the coral easily.

A kind reminder: don't stop you step in jungle as there're mosquitos especially after the rain. Hopefully, the resort can eliminate the nuisance.

In overall, Gangehi is an unforgettable paradise and we definitely will be back even only for the bioluminescence beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ashiner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me and my wife Just spend our honeymoon there and its really amazing. The staff is really nice and kind. the food is more than wonderful. just everything is perfect. It is one of the best resorts in the world

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moxy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were able to finalize on Gangehi Island Resort primarily due to the fabulous reviews we read on Tripadvisor.com. So, I felt it was only fitting that I write my review on this very site.

As we were travelling with our one-year-old, who had never flown before, we had to ensure that everything would be hassle-free. I had emailed Rafaella (the Sales Manager) on numerous occasions and she ALWAYS responded with the utmost patience!

The staff were extremely cordial and friendly. I did not see a single sullen face amongst them...an indication that the management is doing a great job by keeping them happy and contented. Our one-year-old daughter quickly became the favorite amongst all the waiters!

The food was always fresh and delicious! And the desserts were to die for! Word of advice: Try to make it early to the meal times. In that way, you will have lots of variety to choose from.

Our beach villa (no. 13) was lovely and so spacious! Very clean and well maintained.

The beach was also clean and there was a small section that was cordoned off by a wall, making it like a pool. This meant that we could allow our daughter to play in the sand and put her feet into the water.

To sum it up, we had a GREAT time at Gangehi and would recommend it whole-heartedly! Personally, we can't wait to go back! :)

A big hello to Rafaella, Sayyed, Armando, Velu, Swami, and all the waiters.

Room Tip: We were in beach villa no.13...this was great because right outside our villa there was a small section of sea that was cordoned off by a wall, making it like a pool. This meant that we could allow our daughter to play in the sand and put her feet into the water.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lalita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in Gangehi from 1st to 15th August 2013 with our 4 children (teenagers) from Luxembourg.
We have chosen Gangehi for many different reasons : small island, small number of rooms, respected tasteful local design and quality of materials (no ugly tiles in the bathrooms) no pool, no motorized sport activities (no jet ski) , no kids facilities, great Italian Management (always so friendly) and a great qualified scuba diving club...
We have spent a wonderful time among all the staff and the other visitors. (kind and respectful)
Everything was just perfect. The beaches, the corals, the bar, the spa, the food , the members of the team (Alessandro, Giusi, Elisa...)
The best french fries ever! thank you to the kitchen staff
I would like to thank the Management: You are doing a great job! (Thank you Diksan)
I would like to thank the AMAZING scuba diving staff:
Thank you Herbert!
THANK YOU Giuditta : You are wonderful. I discovered my first clown fish with you and I love your voice :-)))
Thhhaaaannnnkkk yyyooouuuuuu beautiful Domitilia : You always make everybody feel so good under the water. Your instructing qualifications are amazing. You made our stay unforgettable in Gangehi.
We would definitely come to visit you again.

Room Tip: we were very happy with our 3 beach villas, no 6, 7 and 8. I think they are perfectly located.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limpertsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews