We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Velidhu Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 7, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks in the Maldives. We spent our first week at Velidhu Island (3* all inclusive) and our second week at Medhufushi Island (5* half board). We thoroughly enjoyed our time at both resorts. We travelled with Sri Lankan airlines. The flights were on time, no delays either way. The experience was much better on the way back, the staff were friendlier and much more attentive (we were given more drinks than we could cope with) and the food was ok. There is not much room however in the economy seats bearing in mind the lengthof the flight (10-11 hours).

VELIDHU
Lets start with the Island itself. It is stunning. It is what you imagine a paradise island to look like. Lovely white/yellow sand with coconut palms and the beautiful sea lapping the shores which has so many different colours. It has its own house reef which is massive. Lots of unusual coral and plenty of fish. Unfortunately while we were there the visability wasn't great. There had been a few storms when we first arrived but towards the end of the week it was clearer and we could see just how extensive and beautiful it was. I would say it is the best house reef I have seen at a hotel. The weather was quite unsettled at first it was windy and a bit stormy for the first few days but whenever there was a storm it only lasted for a short while so every day we were there it was sunny for most of the day. It was certainly hot and we got burned even when it was cloudy so be warned. Another reviewer complained about the wind but we found this helpful, it helped to cool you down. We stayed in a beach bungalow. The room was quite large and spotlessly clean. We had a great view of the beach although the bungalow itself was in the trees (same on Medhufushi). This really helped prevent the island from looking built up. It also helped to keep things cool. Each bungalow had its own sun loungers which were numbered so there was no fear of anyone taking them if you slept in, however this did make it difficult if you wanted to lay on another part of the island. I think they could do with some more un-numbered loungers so people could move around a bit more. We were close to where the sea planes came in and they are quite noisy. They do start early too, we heard a couple at 6am. This was not a problem for us as we are early risers but if you are not then I would ask for a bungalow away from the jetty. We had our own "bungalow boy" who cleaned our room twice per day. He was so thorough. The room was spotless the whole time. We used the laundry service which was also very efficient (back the same day) and reasonably priced. The meals were all buffett style but we found that there was always plenty of choice and the food was excellent. We could not fault it. We had a meal on the beach one night which was lovely. I would definately recommend it. We had 4 courses including more lobster than we could eat for 70 USD each. This included our own waiter and chef. At meal times you had to sit at the same table each time so you had the same waiter. Another reviewer has complained about this but again we found it helpful. It meant that you got to know the people sitting at the tables next to you and you always had the same waiter and therefore he knew without asking that you wanted coffee in the morning for example. The staff were all fantastic in our view. The service was effortless. They really know how to look after you without being in anyway stiff or formal. We were on the all inclusive package and were able to have brand named spirits. They did not scrimp in any way on the drinks. We have stayed in other fully inclusive resorts where you only get local brands and small plastic cups, at Velidhu they were very generous on the measures (a bit too generous) and we were never left waiting with an empty glass. We were relieved that it was not all couples. There was a few families and groups of people. We found that there was a nice mix of people. I would say it was predominantly Brits and Germans but everyone was very friendly. We did a couple of dives with Euro divers. Again we received a great service. We had not dived for over 5 years and so we were a little rusty but we found the staff very helpful and patient. The diving was not great however due to poor visability. From what we learned it is a great place for diving in the right season (Dec-end of April) as there are several manta ray cleaning stations close by. We did the manta safari which is an excursion organised by the island where you snorkle with manta rays. We saw at least 20 mantas some of which were very close. The size and grace of these animals is unbelievable. Definately worth it (although not sure if this is a seasonal thing). The crew were excellent and went over the allotted time to make sure everyone got their fill of mantas. I can't say enough good things about this place. In fact we are thinking of going back in December to do some diving.

MEDHUFUSHI
We spent our second week on the beautiful Medhufishi. We arrived by sea plane (you cannot reach it by boat from Male). It took around 40 minutes. The views from the sea plane were stunning. We received a very warm reception when we arrived and was personally escorted around the the common areas and taken to our room. We had booked a beach villa but decided to up grade to a water villa when we got there. We were shown both options. The back villas were very tastfully decorated and were what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The bathroom and shower were outside which was a nice unusual feature. The villas were set back from the beach in the trees, so it was lovely and cool. There was a nice deck with comfortable sun loungers which you could drag a few meters to the beach and a swing on the deck. All good. BUT the water villas were absolutely stunning. We ungraded for 100USD per night which was definately worth it. The room was very comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was unside, very large shower and bath that you could lay in and look out onto the sea. There was a large sun deck with steps leading straight into the sea with two comfortable loungers and a swing. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck first thing in the morning with a coffee and at night with a glass of wine watching the sun set. Superb. But I have to say the steps leading into the sea were dangerous as they were always wet and slippery. I fell on the 3rd day and spent the rest of the week with a large purple bruise the top of my thigh (which is still there) and my partner also fell on the last day actually breaking one of the steps. The island is again stunning. There is no house reef which is a shame but we saw some fish as we walked to and from our villa every day. There is a fantastic swimming pool which is fresh water and looks out onto the sea. There were hardly any guests when we were there so we pretty much had the pool to ourselves which was great. Breakfast and evening meals were served in the main restaurant and were buffett style. The food was excellent. There was lots of choice and the standard was high. It was very windy though and often by the time you walked back to your seat the food had gone cold. They had another restaurant that you could dine in and pay seperately for. We did not get around to eating there but we spoke to one couple who did and they said it was reasonably priced and the food was excellent. Due to low numbers the management organised a beach bbq for us all one night which was lovely. The service was good although we found it a little stiff and formal at times. The staff tried a bit too hard, it did not seem as effortless as on Velidhu and I have to say the room was not kept was clean! The laundry service was not as efficient. It was not effortless as it had been on Velidhu in our view. There was no all inclusive package so we had to pay for our drinks. These were expensive but it it what you would expect from a 5* resort. We did alot of diving here with Werner Lau dive company,. The diving was excellent. Visability was about 15m most of the time. We saw mantas, sharks, turtles, lobsters, lion fish, tuna, barracudas plus all the beautiful colourful reef fish you would expect to see. The coral was pretty amazing too. Lots of unusual soft and hard coral. There were a couple of dives with stong current however and these were a bit hairy. The dive team were very professional. The price was about the same as on Velidhu (about 100USD with equipment) so quite expensive but I think this is typical of the Maldives. I used the spa which was very nice and quite reasonable. I paid 85USD for a 30 minute back massage and a 30 minute indian head massage.

We are already planning our next trip to the Maldives. It is a fanastic holiday although I think 2 weeks on one island without any diving would have boring at times as there is very little to do there. We saw some children around but I don't think it is a place to take children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChezPaul39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    173
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
51
351
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Someone could get hold of this island resort and bring it up to date! I do not agree it is a 3* resort with a 5* attitude at all. It is what it claims to be..... a 3* resort.

It has all the basics in place, it just doesn't seem to make the most of the stunning location and facilities it has. A wonderful island, spolit in the main, by the regimented and repetitive attitude of staff and guests. This is not the place for you if you dislike routine!

Having said all that we had a wonderful vacation and the staff at this resort are second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for them at all and they all are extremely friendly.

Firstly, give Sri Lankan airways a miss. Dreadful airline, late in departure both ways, very old aircraft, entertainment did not work in nearly half the seats, air hostess' who are just there to do a job and no more, inedible food, 1 drink round in 11 hours flight, Why oh why do Virgin not fly there??. Sri Lankan airways could learn a lot from Mr Branson.

The sea plane has to be an absolute must. A truely wonderful experience and I could live for 100 years on that island and never tire of seeing the planes come into land on the water outside the bungalows. Not sure where one reviewer was, but WE never saw or heard the planes at 6.00 am every monring!!!!!!

Why has no one mentioned how windy the island is? From our first step onto the island, till the last step off , the wind was really quite forceful. Ladies, do not bother taking any sort of hair styling appliance, you will just waste your time!

We stayed in water bungalow 211 (as recommended by the last reviewer) I contacted the resort directly and asked for this specific room, and was only charged an upgrade fee of $25 a day (half what the last reviewer was charged) so I think they probably see what they can get for it. Worth perhaps noting! I agree that it was probably worth it from a sun/shade point of view, but definately not worth it for the jacuzzi bath. TINY jacuzzi bath, (my 6'5" husbnad could nout even get into it!!) with leaking shower, and would you believe FROSTED windows so you cannot see out. What is the point on laying in a jacuzzi bath and NOT being able to see the stunning views. 1st thing I would do would to put one way glass in, so you can see out but no one can see in, although it is incrediably private and I not sure who would be able to see in anyway! The water bungalows on the sunset side of the boardwalk had no sun in the morning and got unbearably hot in the afternoon, as they afforded no shade. So although nice to watch the sun go down not the best place to sunbathe.

The whole situation with the sun beds is quite honestly pathetic!!! Guests in the land bungalows guarded their sun beds (even when they were not using them) with their lives and woe betide anyone who even rested their towel on a bed chair that did not belong to them. This caused problems with guests staying in water bungalows, as it is too far to drag your own beds onto the beach. You can get round this by requesting extra beds on the beach from reception, but being as these are un-numbered we found the world and his wife would get up earlier and earlier each day to take possession. Quite ridiculous! I was not prepared to get into some sad routine and set my alarm to awaken at 5.00 am just to be able to lie on the beach. We gave up in the end, and just used our sun deck!!

The beaches, although beautiful were quite windy, stiflingly hot and the smells from the kitchen wafted around from about 10.00am to 5.00pm. Not the nicest way to spend a morning! I would also say about the land bungalows that they could all be a bit oppressive. Many were inside of the island with trees and bushes covering the outside views and it felt all very close and quite claustrophobic

The island seems very popular with same sex couples, a few children stayed there during our stay, but it's not what I would consider to be a family holiday destination though. Most visitors were German, with a few Brits visiting (mainly repeaters) during our 2nd week. Maybe this explains the attitude to routine and regimented order that went into every meal time. Dinner was 7.30 to 9.00pm but if you were still lingering in the dining room at 8.15 there were daggers from the waiters and they very loudly started laying up the tables for the next meals around you.

The whole food /restaurant thing did my head in....this island severely needs another restaurant and bar. 2 weeks is too long to sit at the exact same table (yes, don't even try to sit somewhere different one night, you will cause a turf war) eating the same food, being surrounded by the same people at the same time (to the second) every breakfast, lunch and dinner. I cannot convey how the experience felt, you have to live it to appreciate what I am trying to say. You could set your watch to opening times, predict to an inch of you life what you would be eating and almost repeat the conversation around you of your fellow diners, as it wa sthe same day in day out

The sad thing is, that the resort has a 'grill cottage' which is used for the 'dining on beach experience' (which very few people take as it is an additional $70 pp.. so expensive) sat there, ready to be used and yet they don;t. It only gets used on rare occassions which is such a waste. An ideal alternative location to dine in.

As I said at the beginning of this review, if only someone could get hold of this resort and with just a small few touches turn it into something a little more luxurious and accommodating. The rooms need updating certainly, although they do have a Maldavian charm which is nice, but just little touches for those more discerning guests would be such a nice alternative. Like having your own steps into sea from your water bungalow (Health and Safety is obviously not the issue.....when the wind picks up, you could get serious blown off the boardwalk some evenings, as it is badly lit and has no side rails of any description) maybe offering some rooms with plunge pools (not everyone likes to swim in the sea all the time) having a choice of dining, some eveing music that couple can dance and smooch to (it is afterall marketed as a romantic get away) ... I could go on and on about this, as it grieves me that they have the infrastructure and staff, yet no foresight. Such a waste!

Do not go expecting it to be the undiscoverd paradise that some people have written here......or maybe you will and agree with them! You can't please all the people all the time!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbakaGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Just back from fantastic two weeks, our first trip to Maldives it was everything we wanted. We travelled with 'The Travel Collection' part of Kuoni - booking painless and they kept us informed when return flight was put back before we left UK. Flight with Monach not quite so painless - very cramped - we purchased extra leg room - worth it (£35 per person per leg - travelled out by front emergency exit row 8 (Airbus 330) - better on the way back row 39 at the rear in double seating. Food and drinksd both ways to paid for - on the way out from UK not too bad - on the way back lunch looked like something our cat had thrown up!.
Flew by seaplane to island 20 mins - very efficient. From landing to being on island only about 2 hours. Resort quite small - only 80 island bungalows (100- 180) and 20 (200- 220) water bungalows. Maximum number of visitors 220 - staff 350+. We had land bungalow (154) - we think numbers between about 135 and 170 are better as on leaward side of island and not so much affected by seaplane noise. Bungalow consists of centre bedroom area with large very comfortable double bed dressing table, clothes storage, wash basing, toilet and shower area and placed around the outside of bedroom space. All very presentable - probably needing a bit of an update to all functioned well - although shower drain not at lowest point in floor!
Room cleaned everyday - fresh linen and towels including beach towels provided everyday. The whole island was raked of leaves and other items everyday even the high tide line on the beach was raked every morning. The staff were very friendly and always helpful, the food was amazing never the same twice and always something different full cooked breakfast available hot and cold food at every meal wide choice - lots of fish. The bar staff were always ready to serve and on the inclusive package providing you stayed to the agreed list all was free as was the wine or beer with the meals.
The water was full of fish and the swimming very safe they have 'gabions' to protect some of shore line. The parrots are very happy to eat the little red flowers straight out of your fingers and will sit on your shoulder and nibble your ears. The friut bats that come out at about 4pm are hugh and a fantastic site they 'hang' around in the trees near bungalow number 165.
Tips - take some nippon for the ants not a big trouble but could be problem - some bite but most are just runnig around - in our shower area but none in our bedroom. We were not sure the water bungalows were worth the extra cost as they have no direct access to the beach and where each island bungalow has two loungers that are on the beach nearby to your bungalow the water bungalow loungers are on the deacking. The coral below the water bungalows did not seem to attract fish, but we were told that a night the light under the bungalows did attract fish. There is a small shop but it does not seel much and open when it felt like it. We beat out postcards posted in first few days home.
The water supply for general use seem plentyful and OK for teeth - drinking water available in bottles for each meal - take them back to your bungalow. Tea & coffee making in each room - afternoon tea available at the bar - also snacks.
Night life limited - disco (loud), magician, acrobats, live music (just), bingo and the highlight of the week crab racing!! All VERY low key. There is small spa but it seemed a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Camberley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Have just got back last night from a 7 night break on Velidhu - what can I say that hasn't been said by many before me. What a fantastic island getaway this is. Official 3 star rating with 5 star staff and views. We flew Sri Lankan airline - not too impressed with them as plane had seen better days and in total had 70 seat back TV on the plane not working and when the flights are 10-11 hours long inflight entertainment does make the flight go by much quicker. We had a non working TV and when asking if there were an seats to move to the Steward was not very helpful - however a very kind Sri Lankan gentleman in front of us offered to change seats as he was on his own and both of the TVs were working in his row - not sure why the Steward had not thought of this one. On arrival at Male the airport was a dream as our bags were waiting once through passport control in all about 20 mins max from entering aiport to going outside to seaplane baggage drop zone - everyone very friendly and helpful - something we experienced throughout this holiday. On to an airconditioned mini bus for the very short trip round to the seaplane terminal - again this terminal was lovely and cool and gave a good view of seaplanes landing and taking off. Everything was so relaxing and laid back this was such a lovely intro to the Maldivian way of life.
The seaplane was very hot inside but was well worth the upgrade and I will admit to getting a thrill out of flying over our island and then arriving like a celebrity at a private jetty - various levels of management were there waiting to greet all new arrivals and to also see off those leaving. As many have said before a very efficient and organised system swung into action - cool face towels and a cool drink and then a brief explanantion of restaurants etc and then off to our water bungalow - first reaction was just WOW - great sunset views and a glass panel in the floor to watch the sealife underneath - this was constantly changing the whole time there. We had a reef right next to the bungalow and on one morning alone I saw at least 14 different types of fish alone. The veranda this side of the water bungalows was hot in the afternoon but to be honest we were not in the room at this time and found that for first thing and also last thing at night this veranda was just perfect. We became used to the arrival of the seaplanes every morning about 6am and missed them on the weekend as they seemed to be much fewer over Fri/Sat.
Had beach towels changed every day and the towels in the bathroom changed twice a day. Adam our room boy was a local lad from the Island we coould see from our veranda, he was very informative about local life and would say to all new visitors to the Maldives to have a chat with not only your waiters but also the room boy as they love to talk to you and practise their English. All members of staff would say hello and this made Velidhu feel so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble - however I would agree with the review below about the sun beds they have now taken to numbering the beds with each bungalow numbers however this does not cause many problems unless you are in a water bungalow as you have yours on the veranda. We did see many unused beds around the island and in general this was fine to use any of them - we did have a german couple make a fuss that we had their beds and the staff then found and brought to us 2 un numbered beds which we then used for the whole holiday (the germans only used their beds for that day after all the fuss they made!) However they were in the minority as all nationalities seemed to get along well as were mixed in together as you would expect.
Payment for all services was made at the end of the holiday and we were surprised to see that not only could you pay by the normal cards (amex the only exception) but in sterling, euro and dollars.
We upgraded to All Inclusive once arriving at the island and saved £450 on what Virgin wanted from us to upgrade to be AI - was $70 per day for the 2 of us - this gave us lunch, snacks and all drinks (we booked HB through virign) plus no huge bill at the end
Food was really good and plenty of variety - lovely to see many local dishes and there was always something being cooked fresh for you - the chef who cooked the eggs in the morning was so friendly and makes a mean omelette while you wait. Dress code was very relaxed with almost anything goes - nobody really went over the top for evenings so great for the packing. Evening entertainment was low key but that was what we wanted - bar was good with plenty of seats outside and in.
Snorkelling was good and being novice snorkellers we were encouraged by all to explore out over the reef - this was brilliant and we understand that Velidhu has one of the best house reefs of the maldives and this is one of the many reasons so many of the guests return over and over - matched by the pure friendliness of the island staff. We too plan to return to this relaxing island - we were there 7 days but feel like it was much longer as was so relaxed. Anybody wondering whether 7 days is long enough then wonder no more away from modern day life this is surely paradise.
Had one bout of rain during the day and being british we walked along the beach in the rain and thought it was great - so warm and refreshing - everyone else was sheltering!
Thanks to all the staff on the island for their wonderful friendliness - we shall be one of the returners to this island.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinnydiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We chose Velidhu for our honeymoon after reading all the great reviews on trip advisor.

Our flights were with Emirates from Manchester to Dubai and then Dubai to Male, we have flown Emirates before and they were superb again, great in flight entertainment made the long flights pass really quickly.

Sea plane transfer from Male to Velidhu was really slick with hardly any waiting around and seeing the island coming into to view and then the pilot doing a fly by before landing gave you a fantastic view of this beautiful island. (a tip though make sure you have packed your swimwear in your hand luggage as your bags may arrive on another plane later on, so at least you can get into something cool and have a swim while you wait for them)

After being given a refreshing towel and drink we were quickly checked in and shown to our room. We had booked a water villa and having read a previous review decided to book a jacuzzi water villa. Although they charge an extra $50 per day it is well worth it. Send them an e-mail to book it and ask for room 211. This is the end villa at the end of the jetty, you are not looking onto someone elses sun terrace and vice versa and you can track the sun all the way around throughout the day, whilst giving you shade as well for when it gets too hot and believe me it does get really hot. The jacuzzi is nothing to write home about (in fact it was the only thing we were disappointed with) but the extra is worth it for the room and that unspoilt view of the Indian Ocean. Also if you get room 211 right outside your front door are some steps leading down in to the lagoon so you can go for a swim or a snorkel when you need to cool down.

On that subject the warm waters of the Indian Ocean and the fish you can see around the different types of coral are just fantastic. The colours were fantastic and we saw all sorts including black tip reef sharks & rays. Switch the lights on under the villa at night and with the glass floor it is your own personal tropical aquarium! Somebody we were talking to in the bar was lucky enough to swim with turtles and he did not have to snorkel out far at all.

The food was fantastic, buffet style breakfast, lunch and dinner it was always kept fresh with many dishes cooked in front of you and there was always plenty to suit all tastes.

The lighthouse bar was good fun, the staff are fantastic and I really want to thank Sanwar who was brilliant with us all week. All inclusive gets you local beers wines and spirits which were spot on, including a cocktail list as well, you never needed the branded stuff as it was all good, in fact I had to ask them to tone down the measures as they were quite strong! It also allowed you as much bottled water as you needed day and night which was very welcome in the heat.

The Spa is excellent and we can both reccomend the aromatherapy back massage.

On leaving everything was organised to perfection for us and they even open up the breakfast buffet for all the early leavers.

This really was the perfect honeymoon we had wished for and the island was truly paradise, so if you are still reading all the reviews, stop and start booking!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dbn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

What a fantastic time we have just had at Velidhu! Our family of 7 adults spent 11 days on the island and it was even better than we had hoped it would be. This is our 7th trip to the Maldives - and we were not disappointed. We have never been to the same island twice and Velidhu has to rate as one of our top choices. The 3 full buffets a day were very good - with themed dinners of various countries on different nights. Sitting at the Lighthouse Bar for pre lunch drinks, or having a sundowner and watching the sunset was brilliant. We found that this island really tried to provide some sort of entertainment most evenings at the Bar - and this ranged from local D.J's, magic shows and discos to crab racing or just listening to background music. There was unfortunately a huge storm the day before we arrived - and our daughter and son in law had to spend their first night in Male, after being told by the seaplane pilots that the plane couldnt even see the island, let alone land and offload them at the jetty, because the wind, waves and storm were far too strong. Several large trees and lots of vegetation on the island were uprooted...thatched umbrellas flattened by the wind and quite a lot of damage was done to the beach on the worst hit side of the island. Luckily though, the storm passed and after one or two squalls over the next day or two - the weather was fine again. As far as we could ascertain, this is unseasonal as normally the more stormy S.W. monsoon only starts in May - but both this year and last April when we were at Vilamendhoo - there was an early storm.
We found the coral gardens around the island to be really special - with some large table corals to be seen. The marine life was incredible - as always in the Maldvies - with many sightings of turtles over our stay. The visibility in the water wasnt quite as good as we have experienced before, but we put this down to the storm and recent rains. We were lucky enough to see Manta rays on our excursion (US $35pp) and on the various night fishing trips, everyone caught plenty of good eating fish.
There is a house doctor on the island, should you need one and if you feel like spoiling yourself, try the Spa, where my daughter and I had very relaxing treatments.
The majority of visitors at Velidhu whist we were there, were either German, Italian, some French and a sprinkling of English people. We were the only South AFricans.
Velidhu is an 'old style' Maldivian resort - which is great. Our first visit to the Maldives was in 1994 just about all of the resorts were of a similar standard. Nowadays, most are or have already been renovated and changed into the sort of resort you would find celebs frequenting and in our opinion, are losing their charm - but Velidhu is one of the few resorts left that are relatively untouched.
If you are looking for a relaxing, time out sort of holiday, where you dont have to get dressed up for dinner, want to leave the world behind for a few days - then this is the island to visit. If you dont fancy snorkelling or swimming in the beautiful clear warm water - you can while away the time snoozing on a lounger under a palm tree.
What could be better?

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7777Dbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stayed the first week of April 2009 on Velidhu (returner after 2002) and found almost no changes since then. We stayed in a WV and we can give a recommendation if you intend to do so: choose one facing NorthEast-number 211 and above) as the SouthWest facing ones get extremely hot (no shade!) on the terrasse in the afternoon. Also the views are better on the NorthEast side.
Prices in the bar are fair and choices are good.The food in the restaurant is excellent. However it gets very hot in the restaurant as it is located in the centre of the island. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The reef is easily accessible and the corals start to recover after the bleeching from 1998. You can see plenty of fish when snorkelling.
The atmosphere on the island is very relaxing.
One recommendation to the island's management about deck-chairs: If you stay in a WV, you cannot use any deck-chair on the island because the customers in the beach bungalows "think" they belong to them! Having a few more deck-chairs would solve the problem. Same applies to the matrasses for the deck-chairs. If you are in a WV, you have to "drag" them around the island hoping to find an empty deck-chair somewhere. Why not have matrasses on all deck-chairs all the time?
Having WiFi would be great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velidhoo Island
14.1 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 16 in North Ari Atoll
537 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bathala Island Resort
Bathala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bathala Island
272 reviews
9.7 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,051 reviews
15.2 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
4.6 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velidhu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velidhu Island Resort

Property: Velidhu Island Resort
Address: Avi Island
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Velidhoo Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Velidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Velidhu Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Velidhu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velidhu Island Hotel North Ari Atoll
Hotel Velidhu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing