We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coco Bodu Hithi
Nearby Hotels
Coco Prive(North Male Atoll)
$45,000
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
$425
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
$640
$594
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Reethi Rah(Reethirah Island)
$1,650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Summer Island Maldives(Ziyaaraifushi Island)
$383
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Makunudu Island(Makunudu Island)
$350
$278
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$697
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baros Maldives(Baros Island)
$595
$575
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
smartline Eriyadu(Eriyadu Island)
$292
$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveler rating
862
200
82
38
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
200
82
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsisland villaescape water villaprivate poolhalf boardour honeymoonstar restaurantfishlatitude barday bedmeal creditindian oceanwater residencemain restaurantbuffet restaurantsunset cruisespa treatmentsbeach bag
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was a return visit to Bodu Hithi for us, as we had such an amazing time in September 2010 out expectations were high. we were delighted to be back after a very lacklustre flight from BA. Our check in was not as smooth as expected, but we were soon ensconced in our Island villa (329)

Bodu Hithi is a small island, but what really sets it apart are the small personal touches from the staff, for our entire 10 day staff there was not a single member of staff who did not do an exceptional job, from Socrates, the GM downwards. It was my husbands birthday the day we left the UK, the resort put a birthday cake and a bottle of wine in our villa to help celebrate. we received fresh fruit each morning and small cakes in the afternoon

Highlights
Our highlights this trip was were an afternoon line fishing, we caught 4 fish and had them cooked for us the following evening, snorkelling trip for turtles was exceptional I was alone as my husband is not a great snorkelling fan. I wa quite nervous as an inexperienced snorkeller the idea of open water snorkelling was pretty intimidating. howevers the guide was absolutely exceptional, he held my hand underwater and lead me on a turtle hunt, we were very lucky to find 2 of which I have a couple of great photos.

Food is excellent, especially breakfast, fresh pancakes and omelette stations with a wonderfully friendly chef who greeted us every morning with a big smile. Freshly squeezed juice to your own specification and a fresh fruit station, a great selection of fruit chopped to your own specification, amazing.

We enjoyed in villa dining as we are not big eaters really and couldn't manage 3 course dinners for 10 nights. The choice was good and the quality brilliant, pizzas big enough for 2, so portions size very good, is it cheap, no, but you pay for the quality the service and the fact that it has to be shipped in. $ 22 for a pizza though is nt bad for the Maldives. Try the milkshakes, especially vanilla, lovely and refreshing and made with ice cream

Definitely recommend this resort, it felt like we were leaving friends behind when we said goodbye on the jetty to the staff who came to wave us off, definitely indicative of the atmosphere and hard work that is created here.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBODUHITHI, General Manager at Coco Bodu Hithi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Guests,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write with your experience here at Coco Palm Bodu Hithi and indeed for choosing our resort once again.

Your feedback is shared with our team and I am really pleased that the excursion chaps made your snorkelling trip one to remember.

Our breakfast experience is often appreciated by our guests and it is good to see that we are able to provide a consistent level of service.

When we bid farewell at the Jetty, we always do so in anticipation that we would be welcoming you back. With the choice of many resorts out there, we are always mindful to continue raising our level of hospitality and I am truly glad that we are able to provide a lovely experience for you once again.

Have a good summer and with all the best regards from the Coco Palm Bodu Hithi team


Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just returned from this paradise island. Having spent the last 6 days at Coco Palm Bodu Hithi we cannot believe how lucky we were to find such a jewel in the Indian Ocean - literally. If you ever get a chance to go to The Maldives, this is the place to visit.
After a long overnight flight from the UK, a representative from the resort met us just outside the arrivals area with a smiley face and bottles of water. After a short wait for other guests, we were taken to the waiting speedboat and after putting on life jackets, we were whisked away into the blue sea. It takes around 40 minutes to reach the island which is a lovely start to the holiday.
Unfortunately our Escape Water Villa had a problem with the air-conditioning so we were up-graded to a Residence Villa for one night - the staff were extremely apologetic but explained that the part needed to fix it had to come from Male so we would move into our Escape Water Villa at 10 am the next morning - fine by us!! There was couple of glasses of champagne waiting on route and also a bottle in the Villa.
The Villas are beautiful and in actual fact we spent most of the time in ours - coming out for breakfast and dinner (we were on a half-board basis). The buffet is amazing - every type of food you could wish for and cooked to perfection. The desserts are particularly delicious!! We had one meal in the Aqua Restaurant and that was wonderful, though you do have to pay a little extra for this. The staff are superb - especially Ali who was our waiter who was so funny and couldnt do enough for us.
The Villas spotless and are cleaned twice daily - once while at breakfast (including cleaning the plunge pool every day) and again in the evening, turning back the bed and sometimes leaving little gifts of cake - yummy!
The Villas are superbly designed as you are almost totally secluded. They have great shower/bath factilities with lovely accessories. There is plenty of bottled water, replenished daily and also coffee/tea making facilities which are free. There is a fully stocked mini-bar too with snacks - you will need to pay for these though.
Snorkelling equipment is free - you just collect it from the Dive Centre. The great thing is that you are staying above a huge aquarium and can snorkel off your deck whenever you want - absolutely wonderful.
It was great to meet with the management team too - Alvaro Socrates and Febe Prtichard - with a cocktail party on the beach and drinks in the Stars bar. What lovely people and they came to wave us off too with hugs and kisses just like old friends - super!
Thank you so much to all at Coco Palm Bodu Hithi for making our stay a truly wonderful experience with memories that we will treasure for always.

Room Tip: Water Villas, Escape Water Villas and Residence Villas are more secluded than the Island Villas.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBODUHITHI, General Manager at Coco Bodu Hithi, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Coco Palm Bodu Hithi. I am grateful for your comments and delighted that you had a memorable stay.

It was our pleasure to have met with you during your stay and again apologise for the 1st day issue but I am pleased that the team took care of matters to your satisfaction.

I will make sure to convey your appreciation to the housekeeping team for looking after your villa and indeed our food and beverage team in particular Ali for providing you with an exceptional service.

We do hope that you will consider us again for future holidays and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 4 days and 3 nights at this beautiful resort. My first time to the Maldives, it certainly lived up to its expectations. The Hotel staff were friendly, welcoming and constantly striving to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Although there isn't that much to do (the island is the size of a postage stamp) the snorkeling is out of this world. You'll be splashing along and suddenly spot a manta ray swimming alongside you, or a school of brightly coloured fish amongst the coral gardens. We stayed on the island villas but what really made the holiday was our one night upgrade to the water villa which was a totally new experience. The speed boat transfers to and from the airport were a fun addition to the overall stay. There are some lovely restaurants to choose from with fantastic seafood and the buffet breakfast is great. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, at least one night's stay in a water villa is highly, highly recommended!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBODUHITHI, General Manager at Coco Bodu Hithi, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Sophie,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are fortunate to be surrounded by such beautiful corals and reef, creating an environment for the marine life to thrive in.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed tha range of culinary choice on our resort. Your comments will be shared with the culinary team and indeed the rest of the service team for making your stay a memorable one.

Please feel free to contatc us directly for future visits. On behalf of the team, I hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Socrates
Socrates Alvaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Male airport is quirky and cute.
The boat transfers were speedy and added to the experience.
Checkin was smooth and friendly - thanks for the Moet!
Our villa was clean, well-appointed, quiet and was the perfect place to live out our luxurious beach-bum experience.
Food at Air was great - we liked everything we ordered. The sushi restaurant is as good as any you'll find off-island. We loved the beach BBQ - AMAZING seafood!!
The hotel gave us complimentary access to facilities post-checkout while we waited for our evening transfer – this allowed us a nice afternoon at the beach we weren't expecting.
There were no hassles or extra costs at checkout.
The staff were all great to deal with, they know what they're doing and it shows.

The Maldives are an amazing experience, though not cheap - especially if you like to drink a lot. I'd re-visit and I'd definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Villas #325-327 are nicest on main island as the beach is wider and diving is excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBODUHITHI, General Manager at Coco Bodu Hithi, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback on the 19th April.

I am delighted that you received a very warm welcome and that the transfer were prompt.

I fully appreciate your comments on our facilities and services will be shared with our Culinary and Housekeeping team. The BBQ is very poupular and the experience of dining with the sand at your feet, fresh seafood and the setting overall is one to remember.

Pleased that you were able to make use of our departure lounge facilities prior to your boat transfer to the airport. On behalf of the team at Coco Palm Bodu Hithi, thank you for sharing your Coco Palm experience

Warm regards

Socrates

Socrates Alvaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I recently got back from our honeymoon, which we spent one week in the Maldives at Coco Palm and one week traveling around Sri Lanka. Our water villa was absolutely stunning and the perfect way to spend our first days together as a married couple. The room, service, hospitality - everything - was top notch. Our only gripe was the food situation: since you're basically in the middle of nowhere there are very few food options available, so you must rely upon the menus (and prices) of what is offered. Every meal is ridiculously expensive. Even a simple sandwich and soda from room service - they tack on service charges and tax to every item purchased. It is basically impossible to spend less than $400 a day on food and drinks alone, and extremely easy to spend more than that - especially when in a celebratory mood (like on a honeymoon) and after an overpriced cocktail or two! ;) My husband and I didn't factor in such high added costs (on top of the nightly rate) when choosing Coco Palm for the honeymoon. Oh and also be sure to pack sunscreen and toiletries if you can - the selection available at the gift shop is not good and (surprise!) laughably overpriced. We're talking about $30 for a small bottle of banana boat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KATYNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews