We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$967
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/03/23
Booking.com
$1,103
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/30/23
Agoda.com
$653
View deal
Hotels.com$967
Travelocity$967
Prestigia.com$1,368
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,495)
Filter reviews
1,495 results
Traveler rating
1,233
184
43
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,233
184
43
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water villa restaurant eagle rays lunch and dinner our waiter main restaurant fish our honeymoon a la carte room boy marine biologist small island sea plane buffet restaurant breakfast delivered beautiful island guided snorkel mini bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,495 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

The island is beautiful and the wildlife in the water is amazing. Snorkeling is always a pleasure, there is always something new to see. My favorite part was after lunch when we could watch the school of fish being chased around by sharks in the lagoon. The food was also great with a whole new kind of fruits for me.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Newtraveler913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear guest,
We are so glad to know that the rich marine life surrounding our resort amazed you and that you truly enjoyed it, as well as our selection of tropical fruits. Thank you for sharing your experience, sunny regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Just came back from a 5 nights stay in the island and were blessed with 6 days of glorious sunshine. The resort can be reached in approx. 20-25 minutes by seaplane from the airport and the trip lends breathtaking views of the Maldivian archipelago and its many islands. The island itself is tiny (it takes around 5 minutes to walk around) and what you would expect out of a postcard from the Maldives. It is nicely landscape but still it has a wild touch to it which is what we were looking for. We had stayed in water villas in other islands but given the size of the resort we thought it would be nice to be literally few steps aways from the beach and chose to stay in one of nearly 40 immaculate beach cottages. We were not disappointed and enjoyed sleeping lulled by the sound of waves. Food is mainly based on Italian and beach villas guests can choose form a wide variety of items from a buffet including appetizers, hot entrees, raw fish, several options of pasta (cooked to perfection!) and a grill cooking station. Drinks are free flow with a good selection of sparkling/red and white. The bar also offers many options of liquor and cocktails all included. Live music is provided during lunch and dinner time and we loved the selection of old a new tunes offered by the eclectic resident pianist. One evening the staff organized tables on the beachside for all guests and we also enjoyed the Maldivian dinner experience. We are not much of divers but the local reef offers the opportunity to view a wide variety of fishes. There are three channels offering easy access to it even if you are not a good swimmer. The staff is super friendly with a special mention for Greta who looked after us at the reception, Asim from the restaurant who pampered us all the way through the meals and the cooks from the pasta and other cooking stations and grill.Overall it was like we were visiting a friend's house. If you are looking to relax for a few days in an unspoiled place with simple but perfectly prepared food would highly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fabrizio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear guest,
What a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us. We are absolutely delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay in Athuruga, including your choice of accommodation in a Beach Bungalow and its location a few steps from the lagoon, the quality and selection offered at the Main Restaurant as well as the service you received, and the richness of the marine life surrounding our island.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our little paradise very soon. Sunny regards from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit to this beautiful island nearly two years after our first.
Last time was a birthday treat for my wife and I, but this time it was a family holiday with our 16 year old son.
Again the resort didnt let us down with great food, both in choice and particularly quality. The service from all staff is warm, friendly and professional. The activities are not extensive but were more than enough for us, as we were looking for a relaxing, quiet retreat. If you are looking for activities then there are scuba and snorkelling obviously, along with catamarans, kayaks, stand up paddleboards. Also table tennis, pool (equipment needs refreshing), table football, beach volleyball and beach tennis.
We stayed in a water villa and i would highly recommend this for the style, size and location as well as the advantage of dining at the water restaurant. Big shout out to Raif at the water restaurant and to Said at the buffet restaurant.
There has been some cost cutting in the intervening 2 years but not substantially so. I hope this doesnt go any futher and jeopardise the resorts high standards and value for money (although it is not cheap, you get what you pay for).

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank stujrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to know that your second visit to Athuruga did not disappoint! Thank you for your kind comments on the variety and quality of our cuisine, the service you received both at the Over Water Restaurant and Main Restaurant, as well as activities offered. We are also glad that you appreciated your water villa and the extra comfort it offered.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon. Sending you our sunniest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

I wouldn't recommend this resort as a honeymoon destination. We went for 9 days and we found that the whole experience wasn't very relaxing.

Yes the over-water villa was amazing BUT the food in the over-water restaurant was in-edible at times, the menu never changed and you sat at the same table every night.

The sun loungers were put out at the beginning of the day but with the slightest cloud, the mattresses are taken away and the beach hut is locked for the majority of the day.

I don't think the cocktails had actually ever been tasted and were fairly undrinkable.

We complained to Stefano about these issues and he just started laughing and wasn't very helpful but I suppose you can't win them all!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank jackspencer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear guest,
We are incredibly sorry to learn that your honeymoon experience with us did not meet your expectations. We have taken note of your comments and will study them with the respective team, as they are important to us. Please feel free to contact us at info.athuruga@diamonds-resorts.com should you wish to discuss your experience in more details. Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We have been lucky enough to have visited the Maldives on 6 occasions now, 4 of those 6 have been spent on Thudufushi and Athuruga. It had been 10 years since we were last at Athuruga and I have to say we were really quite apprehensive because we didn't know if things would be as we remembered them..... We weren't disappointed and need not have worried.
There are many things that in my opinion make this little island a perfect destination for anyone looking for their own piece of paradise.
The Staff - Nothing is too much trouble and they all go above and beyond to make sure you have a fantastic holiday, from your waiter to the beach cleaners. I would like to thank Saeed (our waiter), Munzir (our room boy), Titu (chef), J-Ram (Bar Manager), Greta and Claudia (Guest Services) all the watersports and marine biologist guys/girl they all made our stay very special.
The Food - All the food was fantastic and always a good choice. Something for everyone, fresh fish every day, salads, vegetables, various meats, curry etc. The Head Chef even made my father-in-law's favourite soup which thrilled him.
The Drinks - Good choice of wine, beer, spirits and cocktails
We really enjoyed our behind the scenes tour of the island and my mother-in-law was fascinated by the water processing plant, thank you Stefano.
There were a couple of negatives that I will mention but nothing that would put me off visiting this beautiful island again. Firstly on our previous visits there was a free laundry service which has now been stopped which is a shame as this was really handy. Secondly we were a bit concerned that the house reef seems to have suffered from more bleaching since our last visit but all credit to the marine biologists they are doing what they can to try and reseed the coral, good luck guys keep up the good work. Thirdly, the cost of the excursions have increased and although good are expensive. Finally some of the décor and fittings in our bungalows are beginning to look tired and are in need of a freshen up.
All that said we love this island and its staff are a credit to Plan Hotels.
Hopefully we will return in the future.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank WindsorVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear guest,
What a pleasure to know that your 6th visit to the Maldives was once again a success here in Athuruga. We are delighted that after so many years, the quality of the service, cuisine, and drinks met your expectations. We will make sure to pass on your comments to the people who made your stay special. We have also taken note of your comments concerning the laundry service that is now offered with a small charge as well as the price of our excursions. As for the corals, as you probably learned from our marine biologists, bleaching is a worldwide phenomenon and, as a resort, we are trying to come up with initiatives to help fight this sad event, such as bottling our own water in glass bottles as was presented to you during the "behind the scenes" tour of the resort. Thank you for your support to our marine biologists who are doing an incredible job here, they will appreciate it.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again very soon. Sunny regards from all of us on Athuruga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews