We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,843)
Filter reviews
2,843 results
Traveler rating
1,650
768
266
112
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
768
266
112
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea wall chef guru main bar cafe mass room boy sea plane our waiter north side fish other islands sunrise bar beautiful island outdoor shower two weeks beach villa curries great holiday
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,843 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Not long returned from our second visit to Meed and was a little unsure about returning to a place which has such magical memories. The doubt was completely unwarranted, as Meed has improved in several areas in the last 3 years since our last visit. Trans Maldivian Airlines (TMA), while they have a busy schedule could be a little more helpful as we were left without much info into how long we would wait for our plane. We were told you will be called when your plane is ready, when asked is that likely to be 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours? This was 08:00hrs and were eventually told after 12:00. This didn't sit well with me and after a long trip, I became a little grumpy. However once called and on the plane, the grumpiness soon disappeared until when we landed completely relaxed, with a feeling of 'we're home'. As returnees, after a simple check in we were given the room we had requested and relaxed and settled in for a couple of weeks.
The food in the Sufira restaurant was even better than before. Previously the curry dishes only used to be offered at breakfast and lunch, but now are offered at all services. I ate the curries, sometimes for breakfast, sometimes for lunch and sometimes for tea, rarely twice on the same day. The beetroot curry, the pineapple curry are a taste sensation, and the rest of the food is of equal standard. We had two waiters over the 2 weeks, the first Rasheed, who was great, never stopped smiling and laughing, which was infectious. Our second was Mohammed, who appeared a little quiet and shy at first, soon came out of his shell, often greeting our daughter with origami napkin models.
We chatted to the guest relations lady (sorry I've forgotten your name) and mentioned we don't need a mini bar as we were next door to the sunrise bar and had a huge mini bar, and stated it would be nice to be able to keep our water in the fridge. By the time we had returned the fridge was empty, great service. Our hairdryer broke and reported it at the desk, the repairman beat us to our room. Fantastic guest support, thank you.
The Divepoint team are brilliant, and is recommended. You're only on this world once, and give it a try, it is more amazing than my simple vocabulary can describe.
The weather at times was a little on the wet side, with strong winds blowing the vegetation all over the paths, making the place look untidy, but somehow, as if from nowhere the gardeners appeared and in no time at all had the whole island looking immaculate again, only for Mother Nature to repeat the process. These gardeners have to be the hardest working guys I've met, and always greet you with a smile and a hello.
We met some lovely like minded people there, although some had a strange fascination for cutlery. Already working out how we get back next year.
Thank you to all the staff and management, you all do a fantastic job and should be very proud. See you again soon

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
9  Thank Boysterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Adaaran Select Meedhupparu! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your second visit back at Meed. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Wow. This place is amazing. I went with my daughters and boyfriends in a party of 7.

We were looked after from the minute we arrived at the island to the minute we left.

Food : There is loads of choice every mealtime to suite every taste and it’s of the highest quality.

Pool: We did have concerns about getting a lounger around the pool after reading other reviews. This was far from a problem as there was always availability as the practice of securing a lounger by using a towel is possible but if the lounger is not used the towel is removed and made available. Wish other places would do this.

Drinks : All of the bars are good but the sunset bar is just the best. Sanjeewa is the ultimate entertainer and gets everyone up dancing. Many a great night there.

Rooms: Very well kept and cannot fault. Outside shower always refreshing.

Bar staff and waiters: These we the friendliness people I have ever met. They were just so nice and looked after us so well. They are a massive asset to the resort.

I would highly recommend the Skyz photographers. The photos they took of us are incredible. A must in my eyes.

We also went on the sandbank trip. This will never be forgotten.

Snorkelling: I compare this with swimming in a tropical fish tank. Incredible!

Overall this place is amazing and we had the best holiday ever.

Would really love to go back and experience again and again.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
8  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Adaaran Select Meedhupparu! Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the experience from the time you arrived until your departure. We are glad you enjoyed the entertainment Sanjeeva and team provided and I thank you for the recommendation of Skyz as well. Looking forward to see you again at Meedhupparu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

When you picture the Maldives you imagine all day sunshine, pristine beaches, crystal clear bright blue waters, abundant sea life and being utterly spoiled on a little tropical oasis in the ocean. Well with the exception of the occasionally unpredictable weather and some coastal erosion, what you picture is what you get at Meedhupparu. It’s everything you could want from the Maldives on a budget. True there are many more luxurious island resorts but they come at a much higher price. So if cost is a factor, you’d be hard pressed to beat Meed for value for money.
The only way to get there is by seaplane from Male. It takes approx 45 minutes and it’s one hell of a magical experience. Noisy, cramped and a bit hairy in adverse weather yes, but stunning views of the many atolls and islands, the most laid back way to fly (imagine....open cockpit and pilot in flip flops or bare feet) and before you even reach your destination you’re feeling the island vibe. Water take off and landing is surprisingly smooth too! But space is an issue as is weight on these very small planes so don’t be surprised if some of your luggage is held back to a later flight. It’s better you arrive promptly than your cases. Pack swimmers, medication, toothbrush and a change of clothes in your hand luggage and you’re all set and any late luggage won’t be a big deal.
On arrival you’ll be greeted by island staff and escorted from the landing jetty to reception, promptly checked in and processed and taken to your beach bungalow. Given the planes carry no more than 16 people, there is never a big crowd all trying to check in simultaneously! You’ll get some info on how the all inclusive works and what time the restaurant is open for meals etc and then you’re all set! Relax, unwind, explore.
The rooms are in pairs, semi detached in horseshoe formations of about 12 rooms all facing the ocean. The ones on the end on or almost on the beach, the ones nearer the middle are further set back behind palm trees and other tropical vegetation but still no more than about thirty paces to the sea. Don’t see this vegetation as an obstacle, but rather as much needed shade. Each room has a small verandah /raised deck with seating and a useful footbath to rinse off sand as well as a clothes rack to dry swimmers and towels. Beach towels are provided daily! You also get two allocated wooden beach loungers with padded mattresses that can be moved around as you wish. But they are heavy! If you have s third occupant in your room you can request a third lounger and it will appear almost instantly!
All rooms are pretty much identical. Big comfy beds (usually two singles pushed together or a superking) adequate storage, tea and coffee making facilities, tv, electronic safe, air con, ceiling fan and a decent bathroom which is partially open to the elements. With an outdoor but enclosed private shower and a more conventional one. The rooms are adequate rather than luxurious, they could use some updating and are under ongoing maintenance due to issues around a tropical climate and constant use, so expect some minor wear and tear. But any significant issues if raised with staff at reception will be addressed really promptly. On the two occasions we spoke to reception about an issue, it had been attended to before we even got back to the room.... now that’s good customer service!
Rooms have an allocated room boy who sweeps and cleans twice a day, turns down the beds and if you’re celebrating a special occasion or a return visitor will decorate the bed with flowers! A nice touch!
But for me the room is a functional space, somewhere to sleep, shower and change, not a place to spend your vacation. So it was fine, not luxurious or huge or fancy but more than adequate.
There are two restaurants included in the AI package,. Guests are allocated to one. Assigned a table and waiter and that’s where you are invited to take every meal. So no roaming around looking for a table, no stampede when the restaurants open. You get to know your waiter and he gets to know your likes and dislikes. It works very well. Both restaurants serve the exact some food but one is smaller and quieter and generally reserved for returning guests as a perk (great idea to reward loyalty). All food is buffet style with an incredible variety given everything has to be flown or shipped in. Different themes on different nights but always a range of Asian and European cuisine included. We were very impressed with both the range and the quality on offer. Even the pickiest eater would be well fed. There’s is also lots of scope for culinary experimentation! The chefs, serving staff and waiters are fabulous, warm, friendly, will happily talk you through what’s on offer and even share recipes. Some food is prepared to order and to individual taste, some is help yourself buffet. All is labelled and staff are on hand to talk you through anything you’re unsure of! Really we couldn’t fault the food or the staff in the all inclusive restaurant. So much so that we didn’t bother with any other non inclusive dining options.
The island itself is quite small, you can walk round it in less than an hour. The beach is generally very good with powder soft white coral sand. Some parts are experiencing erosion which the resort is attempting to repair with sandbags. Some of these are now exposed and a bit of an eyesore in places. But it’s the effects of nature and global warming reclaiming the islands. So the resort has battle they can not ultimately win. Also some parts of the beach are covered in dead coral, again it’s nature! These areas are less comfortable to walk on in bare feet and probably vary with the sea currents. The islands are surrounded by coral reefs and changing sea levels and temperatures are causing coral bleaching around all of the Maldives so this is not a problem unique to Meed by any means. The sea is warm and clear and there’s is amazing snorkelling to be had straight off the beach and also off the north jetty. It was the highlight of the trip for me. There are rocks and coral dotted about just off shore so be mindful of where you put your feet, for your sake and the protection of marine life. I’d recommend flippers or water shoes if you’re planning on spending more time in the water than out of it. Especially if you’re heading out as far as the reef drop off, as currents can be quite strong further out. But you don’t need to venture far to see an abundance of marine life. Small baby black tip sharks will cruise along the waters edge as will shoals of fish.
Inland the island is densely vegetated housing the bars, restaurants, sports and other facilities along with the enclosed and discreet staff village. There is quite a range of wildlife living on the island from several bird species, to large fruit bats, to various lizards, chickens (and very vocal cockerels) plus of course various insects both harmless and biting.... mosquitoes and sand flies can be an issue so be well prepared with repellents and antihistamines.
The pool is nice, not huge but decent enough and has a swim up bar. It’s right by the ocean and next to the main bar so was probably the liveliest place on the island, attracting a younger crowd than other bars. There are also a selection of other bars dotted around, mainly on the beach. We tended to drink at the Sunrise Bar as it was near to our room and it had a very chilled out vibe. Given the minibars in the room are not included in the AI it was great to have a beach bar virtually on our doorstep!
Service everywhere is exceptional. The staff to guest ratio is almost 1:1 although many staff work behind the scenes. The wages are low so staff at all levels are most appreciative of tips, they don’t ask or hover but they do really appreciate them and rely on them to boost their income to a living wage. So take small denominations of US$ and remember the gardeners and chefs as well as the waiters, bar staff and room boys! A dollar or few here and there makes a massive difference to these amazing people who work so hard and such long hours away from their homes and families to make your vacation the trip of a lifetime.
This is a very long and honest review. If you’ve read to the end, thank you. If you’re looking for a piece of paradise with a certain rustic charm, want to visit the Maldives but can’t afford the five star luxury resort prices, Meedhupparu is a great, more budget friendly option.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
32  Thank samdimmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Adaaran Select Meedhupparu! Thank you very much for the detailed review. Many travelers will benefit from your comprehensive comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Meedhupparu experience. I am sure my team created fond memories of the Maldives in the Meedhupparu way. Please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Arrived by seaplane from Male airport which was a great experience giving you a birds eye view of all the islands on route. Note seaplane is 20kg luggage allowance.
On arrival check in was well organised and very quickly we were given our beach villa keys and transported there by golf cart. During this journey we mentioned that we had stayed in a different Adaaran resort and to our surprise later in the evening our all inclusive bands were changed to a 'repeater' band and we were given a bottle of red wine. Thanks to guest relations lady (sorry cannot remember name) for doing this.
Beach villa was cleaned daily and a good size and the outdoor shower great for getting sand off. Room boy was great, especially the amount of sand we kept dragging inside. Beach was stunning outside of villa, we had room 267 on south side, right near cafe mass bar which was 24 hour all inclusive drinks. Main bar was only 5 minute walk also. Please be aware that sand flies can be a nuisance and adequate protection is required.
Food - As we were given a repeater band we were placed in the quieter Sufura restaurant for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner. We liked this as it was extremely quiet. The food here is the same as the main restaurant. When you first go you are allocated a table which is yours throughout your stay. I have travelled to many places around the world and can say that the food is of excellent quality with good choice. What really made it more special though was our waiter Naseer who is one of the nicest people I have had the pleasure of meeting and deserves special thanks.
We also did the fine dining experience when they had offer on of $30 each. This was at water villas restaurant and 5 course meal, great value for money.
Drinks - At bars you could normally choose between five alcohol drinks (vodka, gin, brandy, whisky and rum), beer, wine and variety of non-alcoholic and alcoholic cocktails. Cocktail list was not that great due to limited choice.
Went for reflexology massage on my dodgy back which was excellent.
Snorkelling - Breathtaking and the best place by far was off the end of the North pier where they also do fish feeding every night at 21:30. Life vests provided in room if required.
WiFi is free and relatively good but only available in public places.
I would like to thank Earnest the new general manager for arranging a night fishing trip for us in between some adverse weather conditions. This was excellent and caught red snapper and Barracuda on hand lines and even a shark temporarily. The best bit though was that the chef then cooked the fish on board and made a curry which was great. I would definitely recommend this trip.
In summary a fantastic relaxing holiday made even better by the friendliness of all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Adaaran Select Meedhupparu! Thank you very much for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the entire Meedhupparu experience. I am glad that you enjoyed the fishing and the authentic Maldivian fish curry on the boat. Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This place is paradise! The people and staff are so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are stunning and the outdoor shower is bliss! Beautiful beach, sea, and views. Went snorkeling with turtles- amazing experience. The food is phenomenal!!! We went for a 2 hour massage at the spa - WOW! :)

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JRopertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Adaaran Select Meedhupparu, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Adaaran Select Meedhupparu! Thank you very much for taking the time to write e review. We are glad you enjoyed the Maldives experience. Please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews