We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Derbies Cottage

Derbies cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derbies cottage
Derbies cottage Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Derbies cottage
Derbies cottage
Double bedroom
En suite shower room
Sitting area
The medieval window on the landing
Downstairs cloakroom
Double doors to your private patio
Blossom in our garden
Dining area with double doors to entrance hall
Bedroom with dressing area
Enjoy the rural  view from your bedroom
TV and books available
East Malling village centre
Walk through the orchards to the King and Queen pub.
The kitchen with breakfast bar, fridge and freezer, hob and oven
Entrance to cottage
East malling stream bubbles out of the ground in Well street
The footpath to West Malling is opposite our cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
East Malling, West Malling, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rosie G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Derbies cottage straight after our wedding! Our late arrival was no problem for Christine and Trevor and they also very kindly allowed me to park my car at the cottage the night before we stayed. We arrived to find raspberries, cream and prosecco but opted for a well needed cuppa - the fridge already stocked with milk!
We had a very comfortable stay and a great time playing catch on the huge lawn you can see from the bedroom window.
We certainly recommend Derbies as a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArronBroo...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absaloutly stunning”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Derbies cottage was beautiful! Lovely and clean with amazing scenery in every direction. The owners were really welcoming. Me and my fiancé went to derbies cottage for a weekend away from everything just this weekend gone and we are both missing it already, not a single thing we could comment negatively. It was such a peaceful getaway, we didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back. Thank you both for an amazing weekend away, your home was beautiful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice M
1 review
“Lovely relaxing getaway break!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked the Derbies Cottage for a last minute UK break. The South East was somewhere we hadn't visited so we were looking for somewhere offering both peace and quiet as well as a good base to get out for a bit of sightseeing.

Despite it's seemingly remote location the Derbies isn't actually too far from main roads and motorways and there are hourly trains into London. The cottage's location offers some nice country walks and it's a 15-20 minute walk into East Malling, a small town with one main road and a nice pub, church, etc.

The cottage itself has only recently been refurbished to take paying guests. Previously it was an annex of the main house but the update makes sure the cottage offers all you will need for a short stay.

We had a lovely relaxing break here and Christine and Trevor are on hand should you need any advice or help. The wine and scones/cream/jam were most welcome on arrival! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone wanting somewhere relaxing or a break from the city life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Wi-Fi signal was a bit weak
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichola B
Burford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My hubby and I booked to stay at Derbies cottage for a short break to explore Kent, and we found Derbies cottage to be absolutely perfect for us. It was great location to get around and visit National Trust places, and the owners did a wonderful job of making the cottage clean, comfortable and including everything we could need. We thoroughly enjoyed the added little personal extras especially the milk, scones, strawberries and clotted cream - thank you! The cottage is lucky to have such wonderful views of the owners beautiful garden and neighbouring apple orchards - stunning to wake up to! I would 100% recommend this cottage for anyone looking to stay somewhere quaint, comfortable and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent quality of cottage facilities, location and views
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine O
Oldenburg, Germany
1 review
“Just great pleasure”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in derbies cottage. The cottage is really nice, there is a big garden that can be used, it is really quiet and the owners are really Kind and helpful.

We can recommend this cottage 100%

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the bedroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayginny
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting - wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This really is a beautiful cottage- very well appointed - and only recently added to property so everything is new. Very tasteful decor. Trevor was there to greet my sister and I when we arrived and he could not have been more welcoming - we felt very at home. As with other quests we had scones, cream, strawberries and even a bottle of wine in the fridge. There was a lovely patio to sit out on in the evening with a beautiful view of the garden (which is secluded and VERY large). We loved the fact there was a loo downstairs! The TV was enormous and we enjoyed playing the board games. We visited Sissinghurst, Leeds and Scotney during our stay - all easy to get to. And there is a Tescos in West Malling only a couple of miles away. Bedroom and ensuite are bright and clean - amazing views too!! All in all a brilliant stay and we would definitely return - many thanks Trevor and Christine for being such great hostsx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful situation.
Liked least: Nothing!!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollytoes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Cute Cottage for Two!”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner and I stayed at Derbies Cottage for 2 nights in May. A lovely cottage situated on a quiet country road, which is great if you want to enjoy a peaceful and quiet weekend.

The cottage was better than we had anticipated and the owners Trevor and Christine had thought of everything that we may need during our stay. The customer service was flawless and we were even greeted with fresh strawberries, cream and scones, plus a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch.

The cottage is very clean, fresh, modern and spacious with a great view from the bedroom. It is located in East Malling and not far from the bigger towns like Maidstone and we also visited Canterbury while we were there :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing