We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect get-away stay for the family close to...”
Open plan living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living area
Front of Jepcrack's Barn comprising of the Hay Barn (left), Barley Barn (middle) & Cart Lod Spacious lounge with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Open plan living area
Front of Jepcrack's Barn comprising of the Hay Barn (left), Barley Barn (middle) & Cart Lod
Spacious lounge with wood burning stove
View from upstairs looking down on the lounge area.
Master bedroom in the day time.
En-suite to master bedroom. Bath & shower above, shaving point, toilet, heated towel rail.
Kitchen area with breakfast bar and bar stools
Barn doors leading to garden patio with views over arable farmland
Front view of barns.  Spacious and great to play lawn games.
armer's fields at the rear of the barn. Crops vary.  See ploughing and harvesting!
Looking at the barn from the fields behind the barn.
The Hay Barn, Barley Barn and Cart Lodge have their own patio overlooking fields.
Stairs leading to the master kind size bedroom with en-suite.
Downstairs bedroom.  Double bed with en-suite (shower).
Second downstairs bedroom with en-suite (shower).
Pathway leading to the barns
A fantastic place to stay for your wedding.  See the Cart Lodge for a romantic couples break.
The Cart Lodge.  Beautiful one bedroom, French themed.  See separate listing.
The Cart Lodge bedroom with antique French bed.
The Cart Lodge living area with beamed vaulted ceiling.
Barley Barn master bedroom with en-suite.  See separate listing.
Barley Barn marble en-suite, with jacuzzi bath, vanity unit, shaver point and heated towel rails.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maldon, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LindaCAUG...
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect get-away stay for the family close to Daugher's wedding venue”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I rented 3 of the Jepcrack barns (Hay, Barley & Cart Lodge) for 18 people, ranging from age 2 to 80, so we were close to the wedding venue for our daughter. The Barns were immaculately clean, well equipped with plenty of internal and external space. The children loved the play house area, which had a bark surround so could play safely, and us adults could relax looking out onto the fields during the day and evenings enjoying the sunshine and tranquility.
The barns are a long drive up the road but within easy reach of local amenities and shops and a good base to travel out from.
Carmel & Jason were the perfect hosts, contacting me at regular intervals prior to the stay date so we could finalise full bedding requirements. and also checked everything was OK while we were there, nothing was too much trouble.
Booking these barns played a huge part in making the wedding weekend as successful as it was so huge thanks to Carmel & Jason.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian M
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful and well equipped ”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

The barn is beautifully renovated and provides ample, great quality accommodation. With 2 bedrooms downstairs it was perfect for my disabled step father especially with there ensuites. The kitchen was open plan enabling everyone to chat whilst preparing food and then sit at the large pine table. The barn backed onto fields which was wonderful for my 2 border collies and the little garden a fab suntrap in the afternoon. I think if you had a naughty dog it could be a bit of a worry as the garden is not enclosed.
Lots of hot water and an open fire to keep the chill of the evening out. All in all...it was fabulous!!
The area is really interesting too! Loads of places just a short drive away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
996catlov...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped, quiet, beautiful night sky, roaring fire”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

malden is underrated. The sea lock is lovely for lunch and a stroll while looking out to sea. The quay side is very interesting with it's large, old fashioned sailing boats and the park is great for children. We would happily of stayed in though. The barn is beautiful.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dag1011
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil, high class accommodation”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely few days at the Hay Barn at Jepcrack's. The welcome and care we received from Carmel and Jason was excellent and the Barn had everything we needed during our stay. En-suite bedrooms and open plan living with lots of space to spread out. Tranquil Essex countryside with lots of footpaths to explore with the dog (who was made v. welcome) and close to local shops and restaurants. We look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High class, open plan design
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gingerbla...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, wonderful surroundings and ideal for family and friends.....loved it.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We rented this barn as we had a family wedding in the area. It was an amazing barn with lots of space and suited our needs, child and dog friendly. Very clean. Carmel couldn't do enough to ensure we had all we needed for a perfect holiday. The surrounding area had lots to do, but it was as enjoyable walking locally and staying in the barn grounds.would highly recommend this barn for family and friends,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was great
Liked least: nothing to not like about the barn or surroundings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing