We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food - but”
Review of Le Bouchon

Le Bouchon
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Bouchon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 113 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Le Bouchon is a grade II listed, 300 year old Georgian building which has undergone an extensive refurbishment programme restoring the building to its former glory. The renovation period lasted in excess of 2 years, working many hours to create the right feel and ambience within this wonderful building, combining some of the original period features with furnishings and classically styled decoration that complements the building. Our restaurant offers a blend of both French and English Cuisine, set in a relaxed and intimate environment. Enjoy a meal from our A la carte menu in the main restaurant or choose from our wide selection of the menus available. Le Bouchon offer 14 individually styled en-suite boutique bedrooms each with their own character. All rooms have flat screen smart LED TV, telephone and FREE wifi access, choice of either hard or soft pillow, duvet or blanket and a complimentary breakfast.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having been to Le Bouchon 3 times in the evening, I suggested we went for Sunday lunch, we were 3 adults and 3 children (very well behaved children). We enjoyed the food and the surroundings, the staff were friendly, although not quite as top notch service wise as one would think for the type of restaurant they are trying to promote. However, the main disappointment is that they do not have a separate menu for children, and hence the full price of £18.95 for 2 courses was charged for the children in our party. In view of this, we would not be looking to go again on a Sunday, and can only assume their business does not need families with children, and it would seem they are in the minority as most local restaurants offer an alternative menu for the children. The menu is not child friendly, but definitely delightful for adults.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Le Bouchon.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and the surroundings. We have always provided smaller portions for children under the age of 10 who perhaps have a smaller appetite, but only upon request. The smaller main course is charged at £9.95, starters and desserts are charged at the normal adult price.

We have spoken with our restaurant manager in detail about your visit and we understand that you did in fact inquire about the half portion for one of your children.We would therefore like to apologise because your request was not actioned and you of course paid full price for all three of your children. We will respond to your email direct to the hotel to offer a gesture of our goodwill. Thank you for alerting us to this error.

We would like to reassure you that children are welcome at Le Bouchon for lunch, but we do age restrict children to over 10 years only after 6pm.


With kind regards,

Le Bouchon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 441 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

What can I say ..... came back for one of my regular visits to my home town on Tuesday, and tried Le Bouchon for the first time.
This was, by far, our most enjoyable dining experience this year, so far - very difficult to fault. Surroundings are classy, contemporary, and put together with excellent taste. Staff were delightful, accomodating, friendly and attentive - what a joy to see staff proud of their workplace, and promoting the business they work for... well done all!
Now the best part - the food is an absolute joy! Great flavours, thoughtful presentation, ample portion size - top class.
We will return very soon - it is not cheap... but nor should it be. The food is very well worth the money. Just a note of caution Le Bouchon.... watch the bar prices - the wine was a reasonable price, but the bar drinks were expensive, I thought.
Once again sincere congratulations on a thoroughly wonderful establishment - guess we'll be coming back from Suffolk more often!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of Le Bouchon. We work hard to ensure that our departmental teams pull together to create an enjoyable ‘experience’. It is great to hear that our hard work is well received.

We look forward to your next visit!

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Le Bouchon. We took our two daughters along, & all four of us really enjoyed the food. On arrival it seemed a little strange that the Restaurant was split in two, but it just makes for a more intimate experience.
We will definitely return, as a couple next time though :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bilncrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of Le Bouchon.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Our main restaurant can seat between 70 and 80 guests, while our smaller more intimate dining room can seat up to 24 guests.

We look forward to providing you with a romantic setting next time you visit!

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have been several times with family at different times, different days including weekends, we even had their Christmas menu and took my father for his birthday which was valentines day. On each occasion I have nothing but praise for the staff, food and the surroundings. The lunchtime specials during the week is excellent value, so when I visit my father each week from Suffolk this makes it an affordable place to eat and no compromise on the food, we have recommended it to so many people who also have nothing but praise for the place. Please keep it up, don't let standards drop, and I just love the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Well done.

Thank Dreena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your kind words. It is rewarding to hear that you have found our food and service to be of a consistently good quality. We work really hard to ensure that our team maintain and improve their performance with each service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I came here with friends for the first time on Saturday night after hearing great things about it. We were greeted by the lovely receptionist who took us through into the bar area for some pre dinner drinks and appertifs. The bar and restaurant area are beautifully decorated with a very warm feeling as soon as you walk through the door.
The cocktails were wonderful, aswell as a great choice of wines from the wine list. The food was second to none, very surprising to find a place like this in Heybridge!! The service was very polished and very attentive.Overall a great night for us and we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review Le Bouchon.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to us, it is always a great motivator when we read that our hard work is well received by our customers!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, if there is anything at all that we can do to enhance your evening, please do not hesitate to ask.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing