We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace, only a few steps from the noisy High street”

Request Coffee Shop The Tucked Away Cafe
Ranked #7 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Maldon
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Request Coffee Shop is a lovely little Coffee shop just off the main road in a peceful location. When the sun shines it is a great little suntrap with several tables outside on our patio area as well as indoor seating. We provide reasonably priced homecooked food Monday to Saturday and occassional Sundays. Visit us for all day breakfasts, an ever changing selection of lunchtime snacks and specials and lots of yummy cakes! We also have a large range of hot and cold drinks available. Our location is child friendly being off the main road and we provide highchairs and baby change facilities.
Downham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace, only a few steps from the noisy High street”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have enjoyed visiting 'Request', on our trips to Maldon. The Coffee Shop is relatively small but clean, bright and a good menu card and daily specials are well listed.
The owners are the Staff, so personal attention and service is first class, with a very good friendly attitude to customers. They have been able to prepare some special orders for us, which to them is no problem as everything is freshly prepared while you wait.
The Request Coffee Shop is presented and well run by a couple who know what 'friendly and efficient service' really means to their customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yorky246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Took my girlfriend into request for breakfast a few weeks ago after frequenting another local cafe for a number of years an was welcomed with a nice couple inviting us to sit down.

The whole place smells nice and's spotless, having an open kitchen fitted with all the modern appliances is a personal, homely touch , a descreet toilet, clean floors, tables, cutlery and condiments, HP sauce as opposed to cheaper dissapointments !

Went in again today and had the same, a small breakfast with a lovely coffee and just the right amount of food, the breads exceptional and's toasted perfectly.

I'm tempted to try the homemade scones, pies and cakes next time if I have enough room left !

Get yourselves down there, it's a little gem, tucked away where it should be so there's always a free table !

Matt & Sarah

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matty1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Proper coffee shop”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great place to eat, good food, clean, friendly staff and value for money, not a big faceless coffee chain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiltonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This coffee shop was recently taken over and I have to say that they have really turned this small coffee shop round. Lovely and clean, good food menu plenty to choose from. Good helpings.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balletmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice, will get better in time”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

I recently visited this little coffee shop, I believe it's a converted flat and the people who run it are very friendly, I sampled the lemon meringue pie and it was nice, not sure if it's homemade but only £1.95 so I can't complain. I think as time goes on they will widen there food and drinks menu but good luck to them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lennykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Request Coffee Shop The Tucked Away Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Request Coffee Shop The Tucked Away Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing