We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #12 of 97 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best pub venue in Maldon, set on the Blackwater river.Thames barges aline the quayside. Large patio area, with seating for over 100 people. Over looked by Maldon St Marys Church. A wonderful setting on the quay, a fantastic old working dock fo yesteryear.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We visited the Queens Head with friends on Sunday lunchtime. This coincided with high tide, a good time to visit as there is plenty going on along the river and at the quay. It was extremely busy but we managed to get a table by the riverside. We only wanted a snack, and all chose crab sandwiches which were absolutely divine and drank first rate bitter amongst other beverages. Whilst there we could see the quality of other more substantial food being served, which looked to be of a good standard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    134
    27
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The setting right on the quayside is heavenly. The bar meals are rather standard, but the restaurant proper serves delicious fish dishes worthy of a fine establishment. You will not find luxury or finesse, but the staff arer pleasant and the prices very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank pumpkin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good spot for a lunch-time stop on a sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Set on the water's edge we arrived and the large seating area outside was packed on a sunny Sunday afternoon. We spotted a couple leaving a table by the water and jumped in their space before the seats had time to cool down!

We ordered and were told the wait would be about 40 minutes as they were so busy. In actual fact we were served in about 25. Orders had to be given at a booth and you collect your own cuttlery, sauces etc.

I had the cheese ploughmans which had a generous amount of cheese a good baguette, fresh salad and pickle. It would have benefited from some coleslaw. My wife had a simple sausage baguette which was served with chips. She was fairly happy with this and the sausage was ok although given all the local produce on their door-step we would have liked to have seen a better quality sausage than you could probably get for half the price at one of the kiosks just half a minute away.

There was lots of staff working and they all seemed pretty cheerful and on the whole very young. Tables were cleared quite quickly and despite being busy they managed to keep on top of things.

Reasonable value at about £7 each.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank primarysteve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been to the Queens Head,Hythe Quay, Maldon many times. It is by far my favourite in Maldon. The menu is quite straight forward but always of a good standard, staff are friendly and polite. The bar has a good selection of lagers and ales. But the nicest part about this pub is it,s setting on the Blackwater Estuary. The pub is set below the church with superb view of the river, the Thames barges with the iconic red sails are moored about 50 yards away and the Promenade Park just a stroll away. Wonderful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great quality, good value pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fast, polite service. Super range of real ales, very family friendly and fairly priced. Set in Maldon Promenade Park, the pub enjoys top views of the river. The perfect summer lunchtime venue. Been here dozens of times. A fave with our family.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Essex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing