We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian I've eaten”
Review of Maldon Tandoori

Maldon Tandoori
Ranked #19 of 103 Restaurants in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Award Winning Maldon Tandoori Our restaurant was established by my brother and myself in 1987 following the vision of our father who had a passion for cooking. The main cuisine is Indian/ Bangladeshi. Being from Bangladesh we have great expertise in traditional home-made food and regularly promote Bangladesh nights bringing the authentic foods to our customers. We serve dishes made to customer's specific requirements, including anything from mild chicken Korma to hot and spicy chicken Naga. Our most popular dishes are Tandoori chicken Bhuna Balti and Tandoori King Prawn Jalfrezy Balti. We only use the finest king prawns from Bangladesh which are noted for their freshness and size. Many of our ingredients are sourced locally, although some specialist ingredients come from our suppliers in East London. We have many customers as friends at Maldon Tandoori and hope to make many more. We hope to see you soon.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Indian I've eaten”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant and I'm annoyed I haven't visited sooner. The food was lovely and was such a reasonable price. Service good and staff friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thirtylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice place above average for an Indian”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went here last night for the first time with my wife. We have eaten in a few Indian Restaurants as we live local, this one is first class.
Food was of a very good standard (my wife had Steak & chips) she felt bad ordering this but is not like me and deos not like spicy dishes, The staff did not make her feel silly for ordering this if anything they informed her that she is not the only person who goes to an Indian restaurant and has steak and chips.

The restaurant is above average and a bit more upmarket than some (makes you feel like you have gone out for the night) we were not kept waiting nor were we rushed at any time, but when we wanted a drink we didnt have to wait around waiting for a waiter (spot on).

Willl we go back? of course we will but next time with all the family.

Summary, if your looking for a first rate Indian Restaurant in Maldon i would say try this one well worth a visit, good food, good value for money, nice decore, pleasent staff what more could you want.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently the best curries.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

An excellent restaurant. Jhual, the owner, is willing to accommodate most requests, gives great advice on new dishes, and always aims to please.

The atmosphere is good, it's rarely quiet, and the standard of the food is exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A popular restaurant”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We brought an Italian friend to try the cuisine for the first time. The staff were welcoming and helpful. We ate vegetarian as two of our party of three prefer it. There was a good choice. We were only looking for a light meal as we had been to Cambridge for the day and were going on to an Art exhibition in the town. Despite it being a Friday the service was reasonably swift. We started with poppadoms and cutneys and ordered 2 veggie mains and a series of vegetable side dishes. The food was tasty.

My only criticism would be that the mango chutney was very runny and there weren't many bits of fruit in it, the others were rather liquid, so not easy to eat with the poppadoms. The mains and side dishes were fine, but the mushroom korma also suffered from too much runny sauce.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Simply best Indian subcontinent cooking we have ever had - although not experts we are old enough to have tried a lot of places in our time. Subtle is probably the best word. Utterly delicious. A delightful bonus was the charming and expert service. It seems that this place sticks to its guns in offering the real thing when it could - perhaps - earn more by cutting standards. Very good value for money. Spotless and stylish interior and cutlery/crockery/glasses. Well done.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank fishamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maldon Tandoori also viewed

 

Been to Maldon Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing