We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, freshly cooked Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahn Fai

Bahn Fai
Ranked #29 of 99 Restaurants in Maldon
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, freshly cooked Thai food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Bahn Fai is a lovely restaurant situated at the very top of Maldon high street, in the quiet bit, which is another plus for the restuarant. I have had take away meals and have also dined in the restaurant many of times. They also have an upstairs section if you would prefer a nice romantic meal or you can also hire it for private functions. The food is delicious and is cooked fresh to order! All their meats are brought from local suppliers.....which means you really can taste the difference in the quality of the food.

Ok so the decoration is a little dated.... but it is clean and fresh and the waitress who I had during my last visit was lovely (plus she makes mean Thai crackers!!!).

Try it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food could do with a refurb.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me here on Saturday night. The food was great as was the service but I felt the decor needed updating. I also found the chairs uncomfortable. Will always do well as its the only Thai restaurant in maldon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixie_Belle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always lovely food!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We prefer to eat in, but takeaway is good too! This family run restaurant is one of our favourites, and we do feel very lucky it is just around the corner! The vegetarian set menu is really good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonJonesFamily999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have eaten here over the last few years and found the food quite pleasant, well presented and the staff very attentive. On our last visit though the food was very disapointing. The chicken looked as though it had come out of a packet as it was so evenly and thinly cut. Has put me off going back which is a shame.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have only eaten in the resturant the once but have taken away often, result is the same, delicious food. The menu is varied and also has a good set menu, which is helpful if you are not familiar with Thai food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahn Fai also viewed

 

Been to Bahn Fai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing