We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has this place changed ownership”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pig at Maldon

The Pig at Maldon
Ranked #17 of 99 Restaurants in Maldon
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
essex
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“has this place changed ownership”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've always liked this restaurant and found the food to be very good indeed. They used to do 2 lunchtimes meals for £10 which was great when meeting up with friends. We did used to laugh though that soooo many of the meals had a supplement making the £10 offer a bit of a joke but on the whole very worthwhile. We went recently and found the offer had gone, the menu not quite so good (but almost) and the usual bustling restaurant empty apart from us which always effects the atmosphere. The food was nicely cooked and presented and still at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsay l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretgardenMaldon, Owner at The Pig at Maldon, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes we changed ownership over two years ago now, which is when the 2 for £10 deal finished. We are pleased you enjoyed your food, many thanks, The Secret Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    74
    16
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I visited for the first time with friends recently (Oct 12) and had a great time. The food and service were both excellent and the little restaurant was quaint and atmospehric. The only downside was that my walnut salad had no walnuts and my cod and chorizo stew had no chrorizo...in addition, I dound it pricey. I expect to pay £25 for a good fillet steak in London (where I work) and not in a small market town.
However, putting all that to one side, I would still recommend going...if only once. Despite the slightly hefty price tag, we really enjoyed ourselves. If they could shave 15% off the prices, the place would be packed and we'd be regular customers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markjmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretgardenMaldon, Owner at The Pig at Maldon, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant.

We were concerned about your other comments so we checked the food orders from that date but we found no orders for a walnut salad at all. There must have been some misunderstanding perhaps. Also our fillet steak (priced £23.95) is relative to the market price (which would be the same as London prices, if not slightly more) and it does include our mushroom sauce which would have been £2 separately. But we do appreciate your feedback and we are working on reducing the prices with our suppliers so we can pass the saving on to our customers.

Many thanks

The Secret Garden Maldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by a friend a few weeks ago and returned last night with family to check that it was as good as we thought it was. This is the sort of place you should visit if you enjoy good food, old world standards of service and a leisurely relaxing meal. This is not a fast food restaurant so do not expect to be in and out in five minutes, but do go if you want to feel pampered with nothing being too much trouble for the staff.Between us we have tried several of the dishes, food all souced locally, and enjoyed them all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coolkahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretgardenMaldon, Owner at The Pig at Maldon, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased you have enjoyed your visits to our restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

The Secret Garden Maldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food and good surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend ate here last night and were impressed with the whole experience. It is a small restaurant and i recommend booking to ensure you're not disappointed.

The waiter was very attentive and was well knowledgeable. He managed our expectations perfectly.

The food and atmosphere were both good. My girlfriend and i both tend to prefer non meat based meals and the menu catered for us both. The main menu and specials board offered a great choice. The food was not cheap however it and drinks were both reasonably priced.

Although i would say TSG is not young family friendly, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickardrydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
secretgardenMaldon, Owner at The Pig at Maldon, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We do try to provide as many vegetarian options as possible (including our Christmas 2012 menu) so it is good to hear your feedback!

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

The Secret Garden Maldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Love the building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Small restaurant so may need to book but great food and atmosphere. Good variety of dishes on offer and you can get deals on the day

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nikiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pig at Maldon also viewed

 

Been to The Pig at Maldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing