We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Boar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Bouchon Hotel(Heybridge)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Horse(Maldon)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanson House(Heybridge)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limes(Maldon)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel(Chelmsford)(Great Value!)
$129
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
76
85
28
35
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
85
28
35
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslots of characterold coaching innmicro brewerythe blue roomgreat beerreal alefunction roomhistoric hotelopen firefollowing morningwell worth a visithigh streetantiquesbeerscenturykateancient
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 269 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We'd eaten in the bar before, but we decided to stay there and eat in the restaurant this time. The bar was heaving and there was a party in the restaurant - and a wedding the next day. Our bedroom was great, with a four poster bed and antiques everywhere, just as you would expect. Very comfortable room. Wish I had had the belly of pork again, but went for something different. It was nice, but not as good as the belly. The whole atmosphere is great though and compensated. Service is good and the staff are friendly. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very late December was my birthday and one of the treats from my partner was to go away for the night to somewhere completely different.

It’s not often that you can stay somewhere affordable that dates back to the fourteenth century but here we were.

The post code of the hotel is CM9 4QE and to find the car park, you drive past the main entrance, turn first left and left again, it being at the rear of the hotel itself (very narrow entrance).

As you walk through the car park, the main entrance to the hotel and restaurant is to your left with the pub to your right, the back room to the pub is as a ‘snug’ for light meals and quiet drinking of the delicious five real ales always on tap.

The hotel itself is magnificent, as the photographs show, nowhere is left untouched by the heritage of the building, the receptionist was very helpful and guided us to our room. The barman over at the pub was a pleasant fellow and was very knowledgeable about his ales.

During the evening, we dined in and Jenny, our table hostess for the evening was only too willing to spend as much time as we needed to ensure that we ordered precisely what we wanted, received it with perfect timing, even suggesting different wines for the courses.

Out four poster room was surprisingly comfortable – a misnomer accompanying the look of the room – it was old therefore it must be uncomfortable.

Any down side to the hotel – well I really am having to think hard here but if there was anything, it would be the blessed bells of All Saints Church adjacent to the hotel that rang all night long and also the lady of the house who served our full English and moved around the room busying herself at a hundred miles an hour – tiny faults for such a wonderful stay.

Can’t wait to return, now on to a hotel less than a month old – great contrast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick_Jane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked three rooms and dinner on Saturday evening for my birthday. First the good:- after a good walk in the bitter cold the blazing fire, the home brewed beer and the choice of whisky in the bar were very welcoming. Then the not so good:- we'd been promised three rooms each with a 4 poster bed. When the time came they could only provide two. The third room had a double bed (room 1) but two outside walls, and was very cold. The other two rooms were fine, and in particular room 17 was lovely - very big, and clean and comfortable.
I know it can be difficult finding good food for vegans and vegetarians, but the Italian bean casserole was not appreciated - so much so that my wife complained. The good thing, though, was that the friendly and helpful waitress didn't charge us for them. The puddings, on the other hand, were great. Breakfast was average, and the single waitress couldn't really keep up. It didn't match the wonderful setting, which has been described before. The breakfast room was also rather cold. Huge single-glazed windows in bitterly cold weather can't have helped.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 in cold weather. Room 17 is spacious and almost grand
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petermillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Imagine an old coaching inn in the middle of a very old town with sloping, creaky floors, staircases all over the place, open fires and draughty public rooms. Now add an in-house brewery, an OK restaurant and an atmospheric Taproom bar with gravity served beer. That's The Old Boar. Oh, did I mention the enormous bedrooms with four poster beds?

We stayed there for two nights in the middle of a very cold and windy spell of weather. The restaurant and lounge were a bit chilly, but our bedroom was fine.

I mentioned that the place is quirky. The owner has a tendency to buy random stuff up at auctions and scatter it about the hotel. I know most of it comes from auctions because many of the items still have the ticket on them! There's even a font in the lounge!

All in all, we loved the place. It isn't modern, it isn't in pristine condition and it doesn't have all the facilities (though it does has free Wi-Fi).

The only fault we could find was that the towels were a bit small. That's all.

We'll be going back.

Room Tip: We had room 3, overlooking the Church.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After booking for dinner we arrived to find the hotel reception/lounge a mess of dirty tables stacked high with empty glasses,bottles and crisp packets and the floor and around the fire place was also littered with the same. The receptionist was noted by her abscence and (after 10 mins or so), we were finally graced with her presence and shown to a table in the freezing cold restaurant apparently the heating hadnt kicked in yet!!. After all it was only 7.30pm,!! We had our drinks and vacated to find a restaurant with welcoming staff and a warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlh248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews