We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful, beautiful lodge”
Review of Warren Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warren Lodges
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, beautiful lodge”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed in. Lodge 9, it was superb. we enjoyed the peace and quiet, the lodge was beautiful and luxurious, can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We apologise for the extremely delayed response to your feedback, Warren Lodges is now under new management. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in 2011 and made the time to leave us a positive review, we really do appreciate it. We hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
46
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had an enjoyable weekend at Herbage Park, the lodges are comfortable and kitchens are well stocked with cooking equipment and utensils and the extra en-suite bathroom was a bonus. But we didn't think that the lodges were finished to as high a standard as some of the other lodges we have booked through hoeseasons which were a similar price. The fittings were contemporary and nice enough - but the cheap mattress protectors on the bed which rustled every time you moved definitely didn't match the chic decor!

That said the location was lovely - and very central for visiting lots of pretty villages and seaside towns and it was great for spotting wildlife - rabbits, birds, fish etc. which our young daughter loved.

My one word of advice is that they are still building a lot of lodges on the site. We stayed in lodge 9 where a lodge was being finished off a few feet away with the workmen starting at 7.30am and working until 8.30pm in the evening to fit the decking outside the lodge. Not quite the peaceful break we were hoping for! But in all fairness, when we complained about the noise to the reception, they did apologise and talk to the workmen straight away to ensure that they were not planning to work on the Sunday too. I notice that the new Hoeseasons brochure does specifically say that building work is taking place which they didn't in the previous brochure that we booked from. Maybe we were just unlucky, but if you are after a peaceful break, you may want to contact the park before your break to request one of the lodges a bit further away from the building work.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Me and my boyfriend came to Herbage on our first "holiday" together. We didnt know what to expect and were a little worried about what we had got ourselves in for because of Reviews.

But honestly this was the best get away i have ever been on. We stayed in lodge number one which was called Kestrel. It was beautifully decorated and furnished. There is a fireplace in the living area which was lovely to snuggle up in front of in the evening.

The bed was comfortable. If you fidget in your sleep then you might find that the bed sheets slip off on your side. The on-suite had a jet shower which was so nice. and there was a bath in the other bathroom. which was nice as we could both have a shower/bath at the same time and could get ready quicker.

We also had a hot tub and BBQ with our lodge which was an absolute BONUS.

I cannot praise Herbage up enough. The whole place is set amongst wild life.

on arrival we were met by a friendly lady who actually came out of the reception and introduced herself. There were two ducks which roamed around the valley. They came up to our cabin around 6pm every night. it was so private and peaceful.

We ended up booking the lodge for another 3 nights as we didnt want to leave. But somehow we didn't get to use the Swimming pool which was minutes away.

We have actually tried to book again for the 22nd November but its all booked up and now we know why. Its an amazing place and we will be booking for next year defiantly.

if you go to Herbage defiantly check out the town near by its amazing.

Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: deffinatly stay in Kestrel Lodge 1. Its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonnieJxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We apologise for the extremely delayed response to your feedback, Warren Lodges is now under new management. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in 2011 and made the time to leave us a great positive review. We hopefully look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Herbage Park looks very new, as if the lodges have just been placed there at the side of a golf club (obviously land not suitable for developing as part of the golf course) landscaping around lodges and in general at the park could do with some improvement and development. A lot of growing to do here I feel - not at all established.
Swimming pool very small - adequate for a quick dip or a play around with tiny tots only. You are on display to world once in the pool! Gym? what gym was that then?
The lodge (Number 18 Bramley) itself could have done with a more of a thorough clean - found myself cleaning fridge and bathroom before using! Nice little layout to the lodge. Staff very friendly and helpful with suggestions of placed to dine out. Added extra of discounts at local golf club and lovely local pub The Anchor for dining if you show your key. The Bell pub lovely good value menu and very worth a mention and visit is just down the road.
Maldon nearby worth a short trip - eat at the Secret Garden Restaurant, lovely menu and staff - again good value.
The set up at the park looks like its just getting started with a sales office keen to sell you a lodge.
If your are looking for very quiet weekend and like spotting rabbits and watching telly - give it a go. Good base for visiting area only.
Want more from your break away and the site you stay on try somewhere else!

Room Tip: Lodges are good value. Warm and fairly comfortable self catering accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNEV42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The lodge we stayed in was great, complete with outside decking area, spacious and well specced, which included an outside hot tub, Lodge No 9, next to the large fish pond, it has not rained for a while, which is full of large koi, the resort sits in a valley, adjacent to a golf course, which you cannot see from your lodge. There are quite a few lodges on site, but many are being either built, or enhanced, ours was being lanscaped, the outside grassed area was being seeded, and we had the added attraction of a mini digger with us for most of our stay, I know they have to get the work done, but there was other lodges which could have been attended to, as they were empty, but I suppose at least they did wait until they noticed we were up on a morning before starting work!!, as we also had a lodge adjacent to us which was having their area seeded. It was still relaxing as when you return from visitng an attraction, you settle down into the hot tub while the BBQ heats up.

The swimming pool was excellent, we had it to ourselves most times when we went in. The gym though was VERY small, looks a bit like an afterthought. The staff were friendly though, the receptionist even offered to bring us in one of her own walking books to look through.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011. We are sorry for any disturbance which was caused during your time with us at Warren Lodges (previously Herbage Park), due to the landscaping taking place by your lodge. It seems you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, making use of the hut tub and BBQ during the summer. The gym is very small for our site, and we are currently looking into moving the facility and developing it to suit the size of the park. Thank you once again for the positive feedback, we would be delighted if you decided to come and stay again with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked two lodges for a midweek break of four nights. The location is stunning and there is lots of peace and quiet, exactly what we were looking for. In contrast the furniture in the lodges were very uncomfortable, particularly all of the beds with all of us feeling every spring! The beds are also not long enough for people over the height if 6 foot. Although described by Hoseasons as luxury lodges with a price to match, the furniture was very worn and uncomfortable, beds and settees, one towel per person for the duration of the stay was also not great and not what you would expect from this grade of accommodation. On the positive side, the location was stunning, it was very peaceful but the lodges do need some upgrading to justify the price of the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Although this site is still up and coming, it was great, so peacfull and the staff were very helpfull. There was only about 20 lodges on site which made it better for us as we wanted peace. We would sit on the decking and watch all the rabbits, ducks and at night the 2 fox's that were living in the bush. We had a hot tub on the decking as well and it was great sitting in there at midnight with a glass of wine. Malden village is like something from the 1940's what a great little place to shop. Would go back anytime it was fab.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpiebergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011, and hope you decide to come and stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
2.8 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#2 of 3 in Maldon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
6.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warren Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warren Lodges

Property: Warren Lodges
Address: Woodham Walter, Maldon CM9 6RW, England (Formerly Herbage Park Lodges)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Maldon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warren Lodges is an idyllic rural retreat nestling in 360 acres of exquisite countryside and woodland within the Warren Golf and Country Club. Utterly in harmony with a natural environment that includes native grazing deer, this haven of peace and tranquillity unites glorious Constable Country with excellent access to central London in less than an hour - truly the best of both worlds. Design takes centre stage in these carefully considered and beautifully appointed lodges, with plentiful space and superb comfort complemented by windows that maximise the uninterrupted views. Or simply soak up the scenery al fresco from generous decks with sumptuous outdoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Warren Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbage Park Hotel Maldon
Warren Lodges Maldon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing