We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice when it is finished”
Review of Warren Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warren Lodges
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The lodge we stayed in was great, complete with outside decking area, spacious and well specced, which included an outside hot tub, Lodge No 9, next to the large fish pond, it has not rained for a while, which is full of large koi, the resort sits in a valley, adjacent to a golf course, which you cannot see from your lodge. There are quite a few lodges on site, but many are being either built, or enhanced, ours was being lanscaped, the outside grassed area was being seeded, and we had the added attraction of a mini digger with us for most of our stay, I know they have to get the work done, but there was other lodges which could have been attended to, as they were empty, but I suppose at least they did wait until they noticed we were up on a morning before starting work!!, as we also had a lodge adjacent to us which was having their area seeded. It was still relaxing as when you return from visitng an attraction, you settle down into the hot tub while the BBQ heats up.

The swimming pool was excellent, we had it to ourselves most times when we went in. The gym though was VERY small, looks a bit like an afterthought. The staff were friendly though, the receptionist even offered to bring us in one of her own walking books to look through.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011. We are sorry for any disturbance which was caused during your time with us at Warren Lodges (previously Herbage Park), due to the landscaping taking place by your lodge. It seems you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, making use of the hut tub and BBQ during the summer. The gym is very small for our site, and we are currently looking into moving the facility and developing it to suit the size of the park. Thank you once again for the positive feedback, we would be delighted if you decided to come and stay again with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Warren Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

We booked two lodges for a midweek break of four nights. The location is stunning and there is lots of peace and quiet, exactly what we were looking for. In contrast the furniture in the lodges were very uncomfortable, particularly all of the beds with all of us feeling every spring! The beds are also not long enough for people over the height if 6 foot. Although described by Hoseasons as luxury lodges with a price to match, the furniture was very worn and uncomfortable, beds and settees, one towel per person for the duration of the stay was also not great and not what you would expect from this grade of accommodation. On the positive side, the location was stunning, it was very peaceful but the lodges do need some upgrading to justify the price of the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Although this site is still up and coming, it was great, so peacfull and the staff were very helpfull. There was only about 20 lodges on site which made it better for us as we wanted peace. We would sit on the decking and watch all the rabbits, ducks and at night the 2 fox's that were living in the bush. We had a hot tub on the decking as well and it was great sitting in there at midnight with a glass of wine. Malden village is like something from the 1940's what a great little place to shop. Would go back anytime it was fab.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magpiebergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011, and hope you decide to come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed over the Royal Wedding weekend with young family to explore the area and in particular musuems. Wonderful location. Well appointed and maintained accomodation. Superb leisure facilites. Near to Maldon which has good amenities. Perfect visit, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bucksfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night break. The lodges are great, very clean and comfy - except for the double bed!! Pool, sauna small gym and private hot tub all fab. There are two pubs serving food within ten mins walk - we only tried one of them -The Bell- which was very good. The Pearl chinese delivered a very good meal to the site one evening FOC. The village shop also sold most things that you may need and is ten min walk away. Not much to do in the surrounding area, except lots of river side walks , (we walked- Maldon, Burnham on Crouch and Tollesbury, Beeleigh Manor gardens are worth a visit if they are open). Southend is about 30mins away with fun fair and pier, we also found a nuclear bunker at Kelvedon to visit but not much else for the teens to visit!! There are still not many lodges at the park (16 at the moment I think), so there was low key building work going on, which really didnt disturb us at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amenab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2011. The park has developed over the past few years, so we would be delighted if you decided to come and stay again with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

On arrival we were impressed by the location the local wildlife and the friendliness of the staff. The lodge looked clean and tidy and we were impressed with the hot tub and the swimming pool. My impressions however soon changed on getting into the bed that evening. The matress was of such a poor quality that you could feel every spring. My husband and I turned it over then ended up padding it out with blankets etc but it gave us terrible back ache. We were glad of the hot tub to ease the pain. The following day I spoke to the staff about it, yes they had had lots of complaints and they would let the owner know. You see these lodges are owned privately and let out through the Hoseasons name. They had no spare beds so we had to endure it. I have never felt such relief to leave knowing I would get into my own quality bed. When I spend nearly a Thousand pounds for a weeks holiday I expect hotel quality beds, my student days are long behind me I do not expect to have to slum it on an expensive weeks holiday!

We stayed at number 1.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hotelsurfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just arrived back from our stay where we stayed for 7 days in Lord lamborne lodge.We had the most amazing view by far the best on site( we stayed at number 6).Our own private hot tub and a spacious accomodation with washing machine free view etc.Our 3 children explored the trees, went bramble picking,gazed at the rabbits(there are millions) and saw a deer on their last night.we felt totally secure and at ease allowing the children to explore the area around them.There is a stone bbq right near the lodge which we enjoyed 2 bbqs before settling down for the night in out hottub.This was by far the hightlight of our stay where we enjoyed the luxury of being in a hot tub morning and night.
The swimming pool was excellent had it to our selves most days-provided arm bands ,floats etc which was a fantastic help as we had forgetten to pack any.
Staff were very friendly and couldnt fault at all.
I would recommend this 100% for a tranquil setting-kids loved it we loved it .
Spent a fortune on entertaining during the day as london is soo expensive but we did visit south end on sea and chelmsford which wasnt soo bad.
The only thing id say is there are only 8 or so lodges here at the moment but they are planning on developing loads more.which i personally think will spoil the over all effect of the quietness here.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank ema28Grimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Warren Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review, we apologise in the delay in responding to you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us back in 2010, it seems your children had an amazing time watching the wildlife around the park whilst you all enjoyed BBQ's and the use of the hot tub with your lodge. We are developing the park and had new lodges put on our site over the summer of 2013 which we have received great feedback from. Thank you once again and we hope you decide to come and stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maldon
2.8 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
190 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Bouchon Hotel
Le Bouchon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heybridge
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
551 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warren Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warren Lodges

Address: Woodham Walter, Maldon CM9 6RW, England (Formerly Herbage Park Lodges)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Maldon
Price Range: $90 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warren Lodges is an idyllic rural retreat nestling in 360 acres of exquisite countryside and woodland within the Warren Golf and Country Club. Utterly in harmony with a natural environment that includes native grazing deer, this haven of peace and tranquillity unites glorious Constable Country with excellent access to central London in less than an hour - truly the best of both worlds. Design takes centre stage in these carefully considered and beautifully appointed lodges, with plentiful space and superb comfort complemented by windows that maximise the uninterrupted views. Or simply soak up the scenery al fresco from generous decks with sumptuous outdoor hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Warren Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbage Park Hotel Maldon
Warren Lodges Maldon, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing