We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, staff are shockingly rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good value for money, staff are shockingly rude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend in room 12.
Entered the hotel, stood by the front desk waiting to be greeted, NOTHING. I had to initiate conversation and inform them about everything.
The woman was very quiet and rude, seemed like she didn’t care and just wanted to be in bed drowning her sorrows with a tub of ice cream.
Anyways, we were given our key and she pointed to the direction of were the room was. Room was decent for the £50 I paid for one night, large room, nice bathroom and big bed. BUT the bed was ridiculously uncomfortable. They need to upgrade the beds.
Nothing such to say about the room, was a little dated but you get what you pay for.

Was in Wales for a function in the Valley’s. on arrival back to the hotel I went to the bar to get a bottle of water for my room where I was interrogated by the extremely rude bar staff. They didn’t believe I stayed at the hotel even though I had a key card, which I found very offensive. I could tell they just wished they were at home playing with themselves. Very rude, management need to train or sack them.

Port Talbot is a dump, you do escape that when you enter the hotel. The lounge area is pleasant and the entertainment was really good.

Breakfast was basic. Drinks were London prices.

All in all, you get what you pay for but the staff really let this place down. It has the potential to be such a nice little hotel, only if the staff would bother to care.

Management really need to sort this, I really feel I should complain in and ask for some form of reimbursement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FURY_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    118
    54
    31
    41
See reviews for
104
148
8
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

we have stayed here on numerous occasions
the themed nights are brilliant & excellent value for money
the food here is amazing *****
ive had different experiences of rooms, I stayed downstairs once & I was not impressed - it was very dusty & felt very unclean but then I have stayed upstairs twice & have had great bedrooms which were lovely & clean

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolash19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Highly recommend for a short stay. Changed our room for one on the ground floor (because I had forgotten to request this when booking) and made it available early.
Room could do with a little more attention to cleaning in the corners but generally acceptable.
Breakfast better than a lot of 'high end' hotels and dinner was acceptable and excellent value for money.
Surprising how quiet the rooms are, even with functions underway on both ground and first floors.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wengad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Briefly, I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay as we did when we went to the nearby Princess Theatre to see Jimmy Carr.
Junior suite room was clean, spacious and well equipped,breakfast was excellent but you have to request fried eggs otherwise you help yourself to scrambled.
Restaurant and bar was impressive,very good food quality and drinks also reasonably priced.
Port Talbot town itself is rather depressing to say the least but if you have children / adults who act like children seek out the Joke and Magic Tricks shop on the main street you will be impressed.
The couple who are mature professional magicians are very helpful !
The next time Im passing on the M4 and looking for a meal and drink I will be stopping off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Blanco's after attending a wedding in margam. Easy trip via taxi and just what we needed after a long day of travel and celebrating. Easy check in - we called beforehand to ensure that we could do a late check-in and were informed this was no problem. Upon arrival the wedding at Blanco's was finishing and guests leaving the hotel, but this did not hold up our check-in. The room was fairly spacious, modern and clean. In the morning we filled ourselves on buffet breakfast, a good variety and staff busily topping up coffees and teas. The only shortcoming was the under done toast. So, all in all an easy stop over and not too expensive!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stassy_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A nice straightforward hotel. Good check in, nice room. The room was a very good size and good to do some paperwork in. The hotel says it only has wired Internet, I got an excellent wi fi signal.
My room overlooked a busy road and it is rather bleak around the hotel, but the double glazing was excellent so I slept well.
Happy to stay agin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dm41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed in Blanco's for a long period and would definitely go back, good location and friendly staff, you can also use facilities in sister hotel 10 minutes away. Recommended for business stay and/or long-term stay. Best internet connection I ever had in hotel, and free!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreekWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
3.9 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Neath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
6.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Blancos Hotel & Restaurant Green Park Industrial Estate, Port Talbot SA12 6NT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for comfortable accommodation for the night or a sophisticated venue for a meal or wedding function Blanco's Hotel and Restaurant, is Port Talbot's newest and smartest place to eat, drink, relax and stay. Conveniently situated between junctions 40 and 41 of the M4 Blanco's has all the facilities required by the most discerning of guests. Blanco's is the perfect place for a relaxing overnight stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanco`s Hotel And Restaurant
Blancos Hotel Port Talbot
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing