We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of the show and stay 80's night. Hotel bar/restaurant was fantastic- lovely seating areas, food and the best selection of lager I've ever seen! The room was exceptionally clean, bed was huge and comfortable. All areas of the hotel were to a very high standard indeed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    116
    54
    29
    40
See reviews for
101
147
8
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

to be honest I dont know how people can complain. We stayed here with friends and cannot fault the place, entertainment was good, food was excellent and the rooms were comfy and clean, staff helpful and friendly, nope cannot fault it sorry and neither can our friends, we all enjoyed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWINDON
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just one night here and found the place to be friendly and efficient, rooms are smart and comfy and a good bar and restaurant, breakfast the next morning was a bit hectic though, it seemed a big party were all there at the same time. Good VFM and would definately reurn .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGRIBBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

As I had an early start nearby, my travel planner booked Blanco's for a night's stay this March.

First impressions; situated on a pretty nondescript roundabout I wasn't sure of what to expect, a bit confused by the front and rear (or should that be rear and front!) entrances as the main reception is the far side of the hotel when you pull into the car park.... but the inside of the hotel more than make up for the outside. Decor is fairly modern and definitely clean (although a faint smell of bleach or chlorine was in evidence upstairs).

The reception staff were really efficient and quickly dealt with check in and check out the following day. The evening meal in the restaurant was nice and filling, although someone else mentioned the extra peas and chips that I didn't expect with a rice dish! Breakfast was OK too, but the scrambled eggs were a little runny for my tastes...

I'd certainly stay again for business but would probably choose somewhere a little more picturesque for a holiday/trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been going to Blancos since the 80's,when it was smaller. The food and atmosphere was alot better than the meal we have just had tonight. When they closed down and went to the Tower Swansea we would have a meal there. That also was very good. Since coming back to Port Talbot it seems as though they are trying to do to many things in one evening and the food has taken a dive. We have visited tonight and it was very noisey(live band playing at 7 15pm great if your expecting a dinner dance evening which it wasnt) Starter arrived wasnt sure if the chicken was suppose to be either hot or cold so that went back. Then the grilled sole arrived and wasnt cooked all the way through so that went back. Husband ordered halibut came out as haddock(obviously music was to loud waitress didnt hear the order) we were told that they would cook sole and halibut so they came out fresh together. Halibut was nice but sole was the same as served before just well grilled and very dry. We cut our losses didnt order dessert or coffee and when we tried to speak to management they didnt want to know. So after all these years of supporting them we wont be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank xcitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Went for a family Sunday lunch. Denied they had a booking despite 2 phone calls about it. No apology, no "let's just sort it out". Took 3 different people to get a table sorted as we stood around looking like we were putting them out by being there.

Sunday lunch is 3 sorts of meat and a vegetarian option. The meat is all served off one large platter so pork, turkey and whatever the third was all mixed in together. Had the pork which was ok though the stuffing was vile. Food got cold very quickly - lots of use of the microwave I wondered. Dessert was a slice of cake - not really gateau as they grandly called it. Cheesecake looked a little more appetising. All served on freezing cold plates just out of the fridge. Don't think we saw a single waitress smile the whole time.

It's only redeeming feature was the price but that's it. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamNetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, having stayed many times up to a year ago on business. Now retired and this was a leisure trip. Found the bar area extended and gives a lot more room. Restaurant, as ever, was superb quality and value and we had NO problems with the waitresses.
Rooms are large and very comfortable and extremely clean.
Try a Friday night when you can get BB and a £40 voucher for the restaurant for a lot.
Brilliant and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
3.9 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
6.8 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
9.0 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Blancos Hotel & Restaurant Green Park Industrial Estate, Port Talbot SA12 6NT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re looking for comfortable accommodation for the night or a sophisticated venue for a meal or wedding function Blanco's Hotel and Restaurant, is Port Talbot's newest and smartest place to eat, drink, relax and stay. Conveniently situated between junctions 40 and 41 of the M4 Blanco's has all the facilities required by the most discerning of guests. Blanco's is the perfect place for a relaxing overnight stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blanco`s Hotel And Restaurant
Blancos Hotel Port Talbot
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing