We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Day Out”
Review of Margam Park

Margam Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pencoed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Family Day Out”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visited Margam Park with my husband and a friends 9 year old daughter. There is no entrance fee, just £4 for the car park. We visited the fairy tale play area which was enjoyed by the 9 year old. The castle was a favourite. But I felt it was in need of some repair and updating. Some of the garden areas are a little neglected and there was some renovation ongoing of the monastery ruins area which were fenced off. The church and main house were very interesting with lots of historical information. There were water sports on the lake and some visitors were cycling. There is a large adventure playground and a farm trail, with many different farm animals, which were happy to be petted. There was also an educational centre with activities for children. The train was running but we did not use it. There was plenty to do to occupy 3-4 hours. The site does also have the Go Ape attraction which incurs an extra fee. To see everything including the different garden areas, this does involve a lot of walking. We took a picnic with us and sat on a bench by the lake, although there are also two cafe's on site. There are large green open areas where you can sit, but there is a shortage of picnic tables, other than for those using the cafe, there are just a few by the adventure playground. Overall it was a great family day out, for very little cost and I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    142
    38
    7
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Crown of Port Talbot”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Margam Park is a superb mountain biking venue. They have introduced family trails which are quite challenging as well as giving the opportunity for families to cycle around the lakes on the flat. The experience is enhanced by the herd if deer which are roaming free all around you. The park used to be the back garden of the stately home, giving us an idea of the lives the ultra rich Victorians used to lead. Some of the earliest photographs in the world were also taken in the park by the Talbot family who were pioneers of photography in the early years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David_M1474525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the cafe”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to come, cheap as many have pointed out. Great walk, with extensive play area, lots of animals to see. The 2 cafes are very disappointing (we love a nice cafe) - lots of chips, horrible jacket potatoes, baked beans, burgers and stale pre-made sandwiches. If this was improved I'm sure we would visit more often. The train is very good, but too seasonal - as soon as the summer hols are over it completely stops, even on weekends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Medieval August Bank holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I went to Margam park, for the medieval day, it was so good that my Daughter came along with her family, it was a truly good day out, they had a good group of entertainers, my grand children enjoyed the ferret racing.
Have been to Margam park many times before, this time we had a ride on the small train, you got along ride for the money this was the first time we had ever seen the train run . There's a some good cafes serving some good food. There's a small animal farm with some real unusual chickens. A good Adventure play ground and a nice visitor centre. You can have a wonder around the castle, which has sadly been damaged by fire, you have a number of ponds, the mini motor boat pond, there's a garden centre and some lovely woodland walks. There's usually something going on most weekends I'm sure there's still parts of the park I haven't discovered yet

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shazra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out for the family”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

What was suppose to be a little picnic in the park turned out to be an entire afternoon spent admiring this beautiful country manor and park. This was our first time visiting Margam country park and having read the reviews, I couldn't wait to pack a picnic and escort the whole family there. With the weather on our side(miraculously during the summer holidays!!) we were able to make full use of the generous facilities the park has to offer. It really is value for money. And the total cost of the day you could get away with is the mere £4 for parking. There is a little train which takes you on a scenic route from car park to the "castle" and at£4.20 for a family(2+2) it wasn't too far a stretch compared to the usual £20+ cost of entry at the local farm! Wasn't neccessary to take the train as the orangery is very close to the car park and would probably be the best starting place for your adventure anyway but we thought the train would make the day extra special for the kids. Will definitely return but with our bicycles as that would add to the experience and change it up a bit. Definitely recommend that you visit even if it's just the once!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeLikeFoood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margam Park also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Margam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing