We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Margam Park

Margam Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice big place, free entry (parking for the day is £4), good farm area, cracking gardens and buildings... A great place for a full day out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    142
    38
    7
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

this castle and church as well as the other buildings, or ruins were fabulous. We visited on a day when there was also a Welsh market and it was great for us Aussies. the only downfall was that the castle was not fully open so we could not see through it all. A great day for us and our Welsh friend who frequents the park to take photographs and relax. Also very close to where we stayed. Only fee was parking and was reasonably cheap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anytime of the Year attraction”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Luckily I live no more than about 10 miles away so can visit whenever I like. But the best time for me is winter when it is quiet but still has its fair share of 'all weather' visitors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting day out - for just £4 parking!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is such a delight and has a lot to offer. We came here with the family on a glorious hot sunny day. The only cost was £4 for parking which is very reasonable as there was no entrance fee - if this site was part of the National Trust it would have cost in excess of £20 for a family of four.

We started at the Fairyland play area. The kids (aged 9&6) enjoyed playing hide-and-seek in the castle and the giant chess and draughts were good fun.

There were plenty of picnic areas all over the site and many of which were in the shade.

The train ride was only running for a short time so we didn't get a chance to go on that. There were lots to see along the walks including the orangery and old castle ruins.

We love history and this did not disappoint! We then had a few ice creams which were reasonably priced as was the decent gift shop.

We then walked to the adventure playground which was decent, safe and enclosed. We then went to the animal area were there were plenty of chickens and goats from a variety of breads.

The only downside was the Discovery Centre shop and cafe closed at 3pm by which point we were thirsty. We made our way back through the woods and the wood sculptures.

Overall this was an enjoyable day out which took us by surprise. Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justmyopinion101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was amazed by how inexpensive it was to visit Margam Park - £4 per car, and this on a hot Saturday in July. Compared to similar parks, it offers real value for money.

The park is huge, and there's a fair amount to see - a Victorian Gothic 'Castle' manor house, the ruins of Margam Abbey, a farm park, deer park, mini-train, orangery and children's fantasy park - as well as gardens, countryside, lake and wood sculptures.

Having said this, there were quite a few limitations in place on the day we visited - the abbey ruins were fenced off due to falling masonry - a shame, because although not extensive, they looked very picturesque. Let's hope they can be made safe to be fully enjoyed in the future. The manor house also had limited access as it's being used as a filmset for a US TV series about Leonardo Da Vinci - it was still worth seeing, though. No access to the orangery as a wedding was taking place. There were enough other things to see to make up for these restrictions, though.

On a hot day, the café at the Discovery Centre is the place to go - the one at the Castle was serving hot food, which looked good but which was the last thing we felt like eating on a scorching day. The Discovery Centre had good sandwiches made from local produce and a pleasing rustic atmosphere, with wooden benches - a great place to cool off by an open window.

I'd say the site would benefit from a few kiosks selling cold drinks/ice cream in summer, as it was quite a hike between refreshment stops - we saw several people searching for places to buy a drink. The range of items at the gift shop seemed a bit tacky - more items related to the nature and history of the site, and fewer glittery things would have been better!

The farm park is not to be missed - some magnificent rare animals and the most majestic turkey I have ever seen.

A 'Go Ape' has recently opened as a separate attraction within the park - if you go with someone to this facility, but don't want to take part yourself, you'll have no difficulty passing the time while you wait.

Park features - very conveniently located and easy to find - come off the M4 at junction 38 and you're there within about 3 minutes! Dog-friendly as you'd expect from a country park.

Overall - unbeatable value for a park of its kind; I'd definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malentaheloyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margam Park also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Margam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing