We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out for all the family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margam Park

Margam Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham
2 reviews
“Great day out for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a beautiful park with lots to see and do, you could easily spend a day here.

Lots of lovely walks around the castle and monastry ruins. Also a nice farm trail that the children loved.

The fairytale playground was great and my children loved the play castle which they played in for ages.

Lots of trees to hide and climb in.

Excellent value for money as you only pay for parking which makes it a cheap day out if you have a large family. Minature train slightly expensive though as it was only a 15 minute ride... But enjoyable nonetheless.

By far the best part of the day was the story telling by the maid in the castle. You don't get to see much of the castle as it is currently being used as a filmset but this didn't matter at all.The maid shared her life stories as the maid in a country house and this gave a fascinating insight into a life in service. She really made history come alive and involved the children. Her acting skills were outstanding. I think this was a special event for the school holidays but I think they should do it every weekend.

This was a great day out. Great for families with young children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nellipoohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    135
    35
    7
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Activity Days for all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My 9 year old son has just been 'stand up paddle boarding' and he said it was the best thing hes ever done. It was £6 for an hour of jam packed fun which is excellent value for money. It was really well run by Simon and Ben and worth twice that at least. These activities run throughout the school hols on Tuesdays and Wednesdays I think and if you have got kids of any age or want to try out some new sports you must go. I intend to make it a regular. Brilliant!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sunny day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Margam Park is perhaps surprisingly a really good place to get off the beaten track. I suppose most people who visit do so for one of the organised festivals and gatherings of different sorts throughout the year. Last Sunday 26 May was a mix of kite festival, antiques and craft fairs with a sprinkling of model boats to try out by the lake. I however headed there with the intention of heading into the hills above the park to make the most of a burst of Bank Holiday sunshine. Plenty of walking available on the flat throughout the park but for someone wanting to take a slightly more strenuous walk or even head out on a mountain bike (Not sure if the hire these out) there are plenty of options. The red deer and fallow deer herds provide a pleasant change in the fauna and the rhododendron in season must be pretty spectacular. there is a good outdoor play area for the younger visitor. The only essential is the weather, with a dry day being much more preferable as the inside attractions are limited. All in all a great day out and with only a parking charge for the car to pay a very reasonable family day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kite Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a day out in Margam over the bank holiday weekend and took my 2 year old nephew with us. It's a great attraction for young and old and my nephew loved the freedom and the amazing Kites flying over the park, we have never seen such an assortment of shapes and sizes. The animal walk was a brilliant area again for all of us and the only downside we had was the quality of the food in the cafe by the house... Best advise is take a picnic as the park is well worth a visit and only £4 to park with no additional entrance fee

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great family attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've been here a few times recently with my young family having rediscovered the place after moving out of Wales. It's free to get in - which is incredible - all you pay for is car parking and this is only a few pounds for a whole day. It's a huge park with lots of space for kids to run around in. There is an animal area, adventure playground, lake, train ride and the castle itself. There is a tea room which is offers good value food and drinks. Highly recommended for families. I suppose the only downside is if it rains you will get wet with limited indoor activities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rsgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margam Park also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Margam Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing