We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great big beach!”
Review of Aberavon Beach

Aberavon Beach
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Port Talbot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great big beach!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great beach that was huge, wild and empty - loved it. Our daughter ran and ran and just let herself have so much fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    105
    21
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely day out at the seaside”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ventured further from our normal day's out near Llanelli and Swansea, to the beach and lido at Aberavon during the hot spell we had at the beginning of the summer holidays.
Parking across the road from the beach in the large car park was great and cost us just £1 for the day. Also good as it is so close to the attractions, which makes it easily accessible.
We spent a few hours in the lido area first, where there was plenty of room to sit to watch the children playing in the water. There were also deck chairs you could hire from the lifeguard on duty. The lido had a small kiost selling drinks/ice creams and a selection of seaside goods, a basic shallow pool and an area with water squirters on timers.
There are 2 main places to eat and drink, Care Remos, a bar/café (sit inside or outside on the benches overlooking the sea) and Francos, a takeaway fish and chip shop.
After a spot of lunch, we ventured down to the beach. The sea was patrolled by a group of lifeguards and a lifeboat. This making me feel safe as I had taken the children out on my own, lol!! A lovely long and clean looking beach with plenty of room for everyone.
Anyway, we had a good day at Aberavon and have been a few more times since :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorraine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went for a little walk with my camera and was stunned by the beautiful sunset, the surfers, the fishermen, the wildness of the sea. Just avoid looking left, there is some ugly industry in the distance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“This what beaches should be like!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I visit here regularly to walk the dog, either on the main beach in the winter or the small beach to the east which is open to dogs all year round. The beach is immaculate, nice clean sand, and ideal for kids. Totally safe and with a lifeboat and lifeguards to keep an eye out over you. The promenade is a cycle path/footway that takes you past the restaurant (Remos) and the fish and chip shop (Francos). Everything is tidy, smart and well maintained. Plenty of grassy areas above the beach, a skatepark and an excellent splash pool area. Of note is the fact that parking is free! Places like Porthcawl and Barry Island take note - this is a proper little seaside resort with no parking hassles. Park on the main road and the beach is a minutes walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Aberavon beach”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the beach we visit most, there is plenty of parking available close by. Across the road from the beach is a cinema, often after seeing a film we will take a walk along the seafront to finish of our visit. Also on the seafront is a cafe/restaurant which provides anything from a hot drink and a snack or ice cream to full meal. A little further along is a children's play area and a paddling pool and a takeaway chippy.these amenities make the place a pleasure to visit at any time of year. The beach itself is always clean, it's very long and never seems to be crowded. A great place to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberavon Beach also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Aberavon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing