We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spooky awesomeness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Margam Ghost Walk

The Margam Ghost Walk
Ranked #6 of 15 things to do in Port Talbot
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spooky awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a ghost tour last night for my birthday, had the whole park just for me and my friends, it was really enjoyable, would recommend to others, Jim was fantastic, knew his history, catered to all our needs, easy to get along with, also the food in the prince of Wales pub, it was outstanding, friendly people, would recommend to all to visit the little haunted pub, over all a great night, spooky, just what I wanted-thank you Jim-Amy and friends :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Amyloburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time for me & would definately go again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I didn't expect this to be as good as it was. I went with a group of friends the night before Halloween and this is a fantastic time to go. The first thing I noticed was how different the park was at night and how eerie it felt, and how we all got the feeling of being watched. I was pleased that it was done in good taste and it was genuinely interesting to hear information about the venue.The guide was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable of the park's history and residents along with haunted sightings. I recommend this to anyone who is interested in history or the paranormal. I did get a bit scared or unnerved on occasions but its worth the experience, and I would have been disappointed if I hadn't been. The mulled wine and welsh cakes was a nice touch. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimCardiffresident, Owner/operator at The Margam Ghost Walk, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for your review Claire! I am so glad that your first ever venture on a ghost walk was such a positive experience. Margam Park is certainly packed with atmosphere and it is really encouraging to read you felt the walk managed to combine the stories and the setting so well. I'm glad you enjoyed the mulled wine and Welsh cakes too - they didn't last long that was for sure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting history snippets in creepy setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Well organised, knowledgable staff. Couple of very enjoyable hours wandering around the park, around the ruins and into the house with well rehearsed tales at frequent stops. Don't forget to take a torch & wrap up warm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank DrippingDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ghost Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Fantastic opportunity to visit this lovely park by night. Great "ghostly" experience and really good storytelling skills from the staff. Very well organised and well worth the £8 entrance fee. Probably more of a historical tour than a spooky one, which actually makes it very suitable for even the most nervous of dispositions! Excellent chance to explore this beautiful manor house and climb the "haunted" staircase which is normally out of bounds to visitors. Main tip for this walk is to dress up warm, wear decent walking shoes and have a bright torch (some of the pathways are quite uneven). Enjoy!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, Genuine and spooky.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Fab tour very informative, interesting, honest and friendly. No gimmicks. Really worth going. Standing in the ruins of the Abbey you hear eerie stories of historical and personal experiences, in margam castle its incredibly spooky, but nothing to worry about! The guides are very helpful.

Helpful?
4 Thank mjscfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Margam Ghost Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing