We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value and quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic value and quiet location”
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I stayed here one night on a business trip on the strength of previous reviews. It is probably the best value hotel stay that I have experienced recently and is certainly a hidden gem. Do not be put off by the exterior or the area. I travelled by taxi from the station and was a l;ittle worried when I arrived - the outside does not give any clues to the good quality interior of the hotel and excellent service from the staff. I cannot priase it enough and would certainly stay here again although next time will try to arrive earlier so I can use the pool, which unfortunately is not open early enough to allow a morning swim if on business and working the next day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeezerWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    307
    124
    37
    37
See reviews for
178
252
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

This place is a hidden gem, should you ever need to stay in Port Talbot or Swansea. Its opposite a water amusement place and is next door to a hotel with a bar and rasteraunt and a chinese restaurant (which you should definately go to as the food is fab and its great value)! We booked on lastminute and got it for £40 for the room for both of us with no breakfast, but this rate is available on Best Western's website too! Bargain! The bar and restaurant are lovely and there is a huge indoor pool with sauna and jacuzzi - all rather new. The lifts are a bit slow but functional and the corridors are nice and wide. The room was a lovely suprise as was quite spacious with a supberb ensuite with lots of nice toiletries. The bed was very comfy, the tv was a good size, ample wardrobe and drawer space and a decent dressing table (unfortunately no light over mirror so no good for make up - bathroom ample though)! There was lots of drinks to go with the kettle, so great! Absolutely recommend for stay in Port Talbot. A bit far from Swansea (approx 7 miles) but a bargain and won't find a hotel that cheap in Swansea so worth considering! We'd definately go back in the summer as its right opposite the beach.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JofromWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Found the hotel online, stayed three nights whilst on a lesuire trip in south wales. Although (as we read in previous reveiws) the area isn't brillant, and on arriving at the hotel, it too doesn't look appeeling at all, once inside it is a completly different picture! the main reception and bar area modern clean and lovley and the pool area, lovely too, especailly in the sun, heats up like a green house! the rooms are too very modern, with very comfy beds, tv's kettle etc and sparkling clean bathrooms!
the staff were brillant (bar one) very friendly and knowledgable.
amazing value for money!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night whilst working in Swansea. The drive to the hotel did not get my hopes due to the estate close by which has surveillance cameras everywhere and once arriving in the carpark and seeing the hotel exterior I was seriously contemplating rebooking elsewhere.
However upon entering the hotel you are greeted with an immaculate reception area that overlooks the pool area, a far cry from the exterior. I highly suspect that this hotel is in a regeneration period and once it's complete it will be worth a 5 star review as the only thing thats lets' this one down is the location and exterior.
The room was spotless, you get free gin/whiskey and tonic and to add to that an excellent view of the beach if you choose the sea view rooms. You might think it's going to be expensive, it's not, at £50 a night INCLUDING breakfast this hotel is outstanding value for money.
Breakfast was great, service was great, in fact for internal service and facilities I'm struggling here to think of any negative points!!
The only bad thing about this hotel is the location, yes, it's next to Hollywood park (a part finished cinema and food complex) which although should help to regenerate the area attracts the chavs in their "stick on tat" cars who drive up and down the seafront until the early hours. However looking out of the window there was a good police precense so please don't let this put you off.
If you are working in Swansea or Port Talbot I can highly recommend this hotel, if you are on a leisure trip to South Wales then again, highly recommended. As the title says, don't judge a book by it's cover, i nearly did and would have missed out!

PS if you do stay and need wireless choose Xyzel rather than the hotel connection as it's lightning fast, i suspect the hotel is changing is over to it at some point as the Aberavon connection doesn't work properly

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Berks
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2008

For the first time ever we decided to spend Christmas away from home and after a long time spent surfing the web for the right choice of Hotel we found the Aberavon Beach Hotel. However, I don't think we could have bettered the choice we made, as other reviewers have said about where the Hotel is situated and the look of the outside appearance, once inside you can see a totally different vision.
The reception Hall with its striking ceramic tiled floor and friendliness of staff is just an opener. The Lounge/Bar area has a good choice of comfortable chairs and quality carpeting. The Bar is well stocked and reasonably priced. The Restaurant is well laid out and the food is as good as you would get in a 5* Hotel. The Breakfast choice cannot be beaten. With 2 lifts operating is was no long wait getting to the Bedroom floors and although we did not have front view room of the wonderful Beach & Sea ours was a side view it was quite a pleaseant view. Tea &
Coffee facilities were there and topped up daily. Rooms cleaned & Towels changed each day.
The Pool area and Jaccuzzi were adequate for the size of the Hotel although a little overlooked from the Reception area.
As this was Christmas break the Hotel arranged for a trip to the Panto in Swansea where Sue Pollard (Hi de hi fame) was appearing along with other stars from TV. Also we had a Mystery coach trip on Boxing day all around the Gower. This was included in our price tariff and so all in all it was quite an exceptional Christmas. The Manager was always available and spoke to all of his guests making you feel very welcome. The only downside to this Hotel is that if you want to venture out you need a car. If you go in the Summer I would think that with the long Sandy Beach and closeness of the Sea would be an ideal place to stay.

  • Liked — As our visitwas in December the Hotel was very warm and comfortable.
  • Disliked — needing transport to get around if wanting to venture away from Hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raymaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights for short break with my husband and 16 month old. As other reviews, don't let the initial drive through tatty residential area to the hotel put you off! Equally the oustide appearance of the hotel is very dated, however once inside the hotel has been re-furbished and has modern, clean decor!

Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating with our requests, welcomed us with our busy toddler who was running around everywhere! The family room was very clean, spacious (plenty of room for our travel cot) and nicely furnished. Breakfast was excellent and although we didn't eat in the restaurant the menu looked great (if not a little pricey for us)...bar meals were very good and fairly priced. Small indoor swimming pool looked great and well maintained, very popular with over 65's.

Beach just across the road and childrens play park 2 mins walk along front, Spar shop 2 mins walk away and great family restaurant next door at the Four Winds. Swansea and Mumbles 10-15 mins drive away so great location for touring base.

  • Liked — value for money, service, rooms
  • Disliked — outside appearance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiMac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We booked this Hotel a few months in advanced for 75GBP - this was for a family room.

I'm generally not a fan of Best Western - my previous experience has been poor with them (particularly milan), but this was the only place near the where we wanted to be.

From the outside the place looks a no hoper. The facade is a bit grubby and the signs over the doors are from the 70s. However the room was reasonably modern (free wireless internet) and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. However some of the other rooms had slightly leaking windows which wasn't great for the stormy conditions.

The swimming pool downstairs is of a reasonable size and the jacuzzi was nice too. The resturant and communal areas where all of a good standard.

However the greatest asset of this Hotel is the staff. They were unfailingly polite and all seemed to know what they were doing. We had one minor problem with a paper not being delivered but they were apologetic and offered to rectify that within a short time. Breakfast was excellent and served promptly. Whilst that was the only meal we ate their the menu for other meals was good and reasonably priced

I'd definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Liked — Staff were excellent
  • Disliked — Looks shabby outside
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DrBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
491 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
775 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#11 of 22 in Swansea
718 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing