We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel to celebrate a year of married life. As we were married here I would recommend it for any wedding. Fantastic facilities and a warm and friendly environment make you want to keep going back. For our most recent stay the pool, food and of course the room were first class.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeNPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    296
    119
    34
    35
See reviews for
165
235
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have stayed here many times and changes to the pool area have not worked. The pool was cold, the spa not as warm as usual and the sauna cold. Hope they sort the problems caused by these changes out, by the time we are due to stay again later in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at the Aberavon hotel and I have to say that it surpassed my expectations! When we arrived my heart did sink a bit as the building looks like a 1970's concrete part of a hospital wing... but as soon as you step inside its a different matter. You can tell its all been refurbished and feels airy, clean and fresh! All the staff we met couldnt do enough for us and were always friendly and helpful. The food was a bit overpriced but as it was a treat staying at a hotel we didnt grumble and it was lovely! We had a family room which was large and clean but I think you have to be a member of Mensa to work out the lights as there were a lot of switches and we never did work out the combination to work the right ones!! The only downside is the pool...... while the rest of the hotel has been overhauled you can tell that the pool hasnt been, as others have commented it was freezing... literally. The pool wasnt the cleanest either as it was old and in places chipped. If you have kids then they wont mind the cold, mine didnt and happily jumped in, but for adults.. no thanks. I think that this area of the hotel really lets it down and hopefully perhaps they will take notice of the reviews and give it an refurb. Apart from that moan the hotel is great and we will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here the night before an interview with the local council, and found the hotel clean, comfortable and friendly. The problem here is the location. If you go for a walk on the beach, turn right rather than left out of the hotel (to the west) and then you won't see the industrial eyesore of Port Talbot. But then you'd have to look at it coming back... To be fair, if you have to visit the area on business as I did, it's good that there's such a comfortable and reasonable hotel nearby. The breakfast was excellent, shame I didn't have time to linger. The previous night's bar snack of a "Platter of Welsh cheese" was pretty ordinary, though, apart from the spicy home made chutney, which was great. The pleasantly friendly barman wasn't quite sure what the cheeses were, but I doubt if they were all Welsh. I didn't try the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFelixPolenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lovely hotel, celebrated the second happiest day of my life here and have regularly used hotel since. Food excellent, staff friendly, room comfortable. Have been an intermittent member of the health club for three years, once again today the pool was uncomfortably cold and once again was given a list of excuses masquerading as reasons for this. There is no customer comments facility at the hotel so I'm using Trip Advisor in the hope that a lasting solution will finally be found. Come on Aberavon Beach, don't let yourself down like this!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with a lovely beach and seafront . Shame about the area in whitch it is located. Food quality was very good and the bar area was clean and relaxing . The pool was very clean . A good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends overnight, asked for early check in and was very pleased when arriving just after midday to be told the rooms were all ready. Staff all pleasant, facilities clean and more than adequate. When we are back in the area we will definitely stay again... if welcome!! Thanks again, Doonhamers Tartan Army.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing