We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great start to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Havant, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great start to our holiday”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first night of our holiday this year, I have stayed because of work before. The hotel is very clean and tidy and it is great to have local people working on reception and in the bar as they gave us some nice tips about where we could go, the area etc. The lady on reception could not have been more helpful as with the lady serving behind the bar. The weather was lovely, prearranged:), and the walk along the beach before dinner was great, just ignore the industrial bit of Port Talbot, you can walk for miles along a litter free beach, all the way to Swansea if you want! We had our evening meal (fish and chips) in the bar, they were well cooked and generous portions too. Our room had a sea view and being as the sun had been shining, the room was warm, when we asked for a fan, the receptionist quickly brought one to our room. The breakfast was well cooked and there was also a good buffet provided. Checkout was quick and friendly, I will definitely return to this hotel if I am in the area again, it is nice to stay in hotels that have some personality about them, that is what I find you usually get with Best Western. Thank you to all of the hotel staff for a very enjoyable start to our holiday

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the sunset can be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    296
    119
    34
    35
See reviews for
165
235
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived and the weather did not help. We drove off the motorway and through the estate to the sea front and the hotel was a bit of a shock. The car park is a bit of a mess but after sitting a minute deciding whether to go in or not; we were glad we did. The hotel is really nice inside and the reception staff are very helpful and friendly
The room was clean and comfortable and we did have a sea view but we could also see the steel works and the less appealing view off to the left
On the first night we went to the local curry house (Cinnamon) which was ok to be fair - except that one of the waiters dropped some ice on the floor as he was filling the freezer and just picked it up and put it back into the freezer instead of throwing it away
Saturday the weather was great and we took the local bus - £4:50 return we think was great value. The bus is every hour into Swansea and then we changde for a bus to Caswell Bay and Mumbles it is all quite organised. We walked along the sea front to the coffee shop, Verdis, and this was busy but nice and then walked around the shops before getting the bus back to Swansea town center and into the shops. We got the last bus back to the hotel at 5:30 the bus driver was a bit careless and we took to counting the times he hit the curb !! A little disconcerting but made us laugh
Saturday night we went to the restaurant about 5 minutes from the hotel ( Bar Gallois ) NOW this is pretty grim ! we did complain and the staff were great and to be honest the chefs let them down badly. We paid £25 for 2 meals and a bottle of wine, the wine was nice but the chicken was disgusting and my partner actually joined and wrote on Tripadvisor for the first time !
Sunday was lazy and we drove to Bridgend to the outlet which is ok
The food at the hotel was good, we had breakfast both days and although they seemd to rush you it was well cooked and fresh
It was ok but don't think we would stay again which is a shame as the staff are lovely but the area and outlook let it down

Room Tip: Ask for room completely sea facing so you don't see the steel works
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrQuincy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went for a short break with a friend to sample Gower Peninsula.Chose hotel because it was on the beach. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.The hotel was very clean the decor was tidy but on the dull side. Had sea view room( just) at extra cost. maybe because, we had stipulated a twin bedded room. Bathroom was excellent, with shower over bath and the decor was attractive
The restaurant was pleasant. A good selection at breakfast, dinner was O.K with a menu for the month with choice from about half a dozen starters, mains and desserts.Service was good from the friendly staff. The food was well cooked and presented. It was adequate but not outstanding
Average cost of two course dinner was around £22 to £23 . Mussel starter was outstanding.
Overall the final bill was reasonable Despite several weddings and conferences taking place, we found the hotel quiet and peaceful. We were on the second floor, looking to the harbour and steel works in the distance.
You only need to cross the road to get to the very clean and tidy beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilasticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We wanted a short break at a cost that wouldnt break the bank. The hotel met our needs perfectly. It does, as has been stated, look pretty dire from the outside but inside was absolutely fine. friendly staff, decent beer and the afternoon welsh tea selection with sandwiches and cakes was fantastic. Aberavon as a whole looks a bit on the poor side but the beach and sunset was absolutely brilliant and I would definately come to the hotel again.
As I said, for a cheap a good value stay it was perfect and we have great memories of the stay.

Room Tip: a sea view would have been a good choice if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Had our wedding there with 180+ quests & only had 2 bar staff working fridges run short of bottles during the photo shoot hotel was good in appearance had a buffet which was ok during the night had wedding cards stolen & have had no help or apology off the hotel.so I had to go to the police.been told after all this that anything I take into the hotel is at our own risk which is not what I want to be worrying about on the most special day of mine & my wife's life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

From the outside I thought mmmmm this could be interesting , however once entering I noticed how clean everything was . Staff on reception were very good on check in and we were given a sea view room which was very clean . The only fault with the room was the bathroom , The shower was not very good and the extractor fan didn't work . On making a cup of tea in the morning they provide a small tea pot which is a nice little thing however it does not hold enough tea for the 2 mugs provided ???
Bar staff kept disappearing so waited quite a few times to be served and the draft beer was not kept to a high standard , being in the bar trade it was clear to work out that the beer pipes needed a good clean out , The Lager was flat and the bitter very pitted and Guinness was not sticking to the side of the glass which are signs that the beer pipes needed a good clean .
You get this sort of thing in hotels as they don't employ proper bar managers who know what they are doing .

overall I could not fault this hotel too much as they just need to correct a few issues and if in the area again I would stop again

Room Tip: sea view are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a friendly welcome from all the staff including cleaners. It seemed everyone had been versed in the art of pleasantries Well Done. Couldn't fault the Hotel, clean, spacious room with a sea view as well. Only ate breakfast in the hotel and that was good. Only one slight irritant, not worth marking down for, was the delivery of cooked breakfast while still eating the cereals. Will use the hotel again when in South Wales

Room Tip: get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187048David_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 22 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing