We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't dismiss this lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed March 24, 2013

In the 37 years I have lived here, I have never been inside this hotel. My boyfriend and I booked a seaview room here last week and was pleasantly surprised. The reception area was beautiful and staff extremely friendly. We stayed on the top floor and did have the seaview but unfortunately had a big bulk of the building blocking the Swansea/Mumbles view which really is the best part of the view. The room was nice but couldnt figure out why the curtains on one side of the window were pulled over to the side wall and tucked behind the tv which was situated on the wall? Very odd. The light swtiches totally had a mind of their own and switch on different lights every single time we flicked them, sometimes they wouldnt come on at all! The bathroom looked very clean but had an awful urine smell which prevented me from taking a shower as it was so strong. My boyfriend did shower though and said the water was going from hot to cold throughout. The bed was really comfy but the pillows I found were really hard.
Breakfast was ok. The sausages were horrendous. They seemed like the cheapest sausages you could buy.

So even though there are negatives here, they are only minor and our overall stay was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaniajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 776 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

From the approach the exterior looks very tired and drab, poor quality carpark surface and the building itself is very dated........However on entering, what a difference! modern clean and spacious lobby. front desk staff were extremely polite. our room had a nice modern decor to it and was a good size. next morning the inhouse restaurant served us a very delicious cooked breakfast. All in all a definate hotel to return to!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank illusiveTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a dancing weekend. Loved the warm Welsh welcome at reception. They were busy with a large group that couldn't seem to make up their minds. However as soon as we moved to the desk we were sorted out.
A well decorated clean reception bar area had an amazing glitter floor. The interior of the hotel is really nice compared to the out dated exterior.
Our room 210 was spotless comfy wand warm (it was cold outside) a big TV and plenty of room. made for a very pleasant stay.
In the restaraunt the food was hot and tasty. It was served by some of the most courteous staff we have encountered on our many travels. Thank you all, you made our stay very enjoyable.
The Ballroom has to be seen to be believed. An amazing dance floor and nice surroundings made for an excelent dance weekend. Bar staff were very helpful and once again very courteous. Bar prices were reasonable Pint of Stella £3 . 40 Bottle of house Chardonay £14 .00 not bad at all. Thank you everyone a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

had a wonderful set lunch the food was wonderful.we booked here for my sister in laws 50th birthday.i even have a fuzzy teen that wouldnt only eat chips and onion rings the waiter even manged to get rgis for us as well which was wonderful i would go back and have another meal there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last few months, while working in the area. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I did experience occasional problems with the WiFi but the hotel staff were more than willing to let me check my emails etc from their office. The breakfast and room service were both great and the view of the sea /beach amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we got married in this wonderful hotel.. the service was brilliant must admit looks like a block of flats from the out side but inside is to die for.. having r blessing reception there in may this year.. the room prices r really good would recommend a stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manofkent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Twice I booked this hotel through Expedia. Booked bed and break fast as it sounded reasonable price. You are expected to pay at the time of your check out . I booked for family ie adults and kids. When I went to settle the bill I was asked to pay extra for my kid's breakfast !! Second time I made sure through expedia that the price is for bed and breakfast . Then I had to waste my time and money on the phone to expedia to sort it out. So be careful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
517 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
751 reviews
15.2 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,029 reviews
4.9 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: $57 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing