We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, Very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good fun, Very good staff”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for a dancing weekend. Loved the warm Welsh welcome at reception. They were busy with a large group that couldn't seem to make up their minds. However as soon as we moved to the desk we were sorted out.
A well decorated clean reception bar area had an amazing glitter floor. The interior of the hotel is really nice compared to the out dated exterior.
Our room 210 was spotless comfy wand warm (it was cold outside) a big TV and plenty of room. made for a very pleasant stay.
In the restaraunt the food was hot and tasty. It was served by some of the most courteous staff we have encountered on our many travels. Thank you all, you made our stay very enjoyable.
The Ballroom has to be seen to be believed. An amazing dance floor and nice surroundings made for an excelent dance weekend. Bar staff were very helpful and once again very courteous. Bar prices were reasonable Pint of Stella £3 . 40 Bottle of house Chardonay £14 .00 not bad at all. Thank you everyone a nice weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    300
    123
    36
    37
See reviews for
172
249
20
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

had a wonderful set lunch the food was wonderful.we booked here for my sister in laws 50th birthday.i even have a fuzzy teen that wouldnt only eat chips and onion rings the waiter even manged to get rgis for us as well which was wonderful i would go back and have another meal there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last few months, while working in the area. All the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I did experience occasional problems with the WiFi but the hotel staff were more than willing to let me check my emails etc from their office. The breakfast and room service were both great and the view of the sea /beach amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we got married in this wonderful hotel.. the service was brilliant must admit looks like a block of flats from the out side but inside is to die for.. having r blessing reception there in may this year.. the room prices r really good would recommend a stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofkent123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Twice I booked this hotel through Expedia. Booked bed and break fast as it sounded reasonable price. You are expected to pay at the time of your check out . I booked for family ie adults and kids. When I went to settle the bill I was asked to pay extra for my kid's breakfast !! Second time I made sure through expedia that the price is for bed and breakfast . Then I had to waste my time and money on the phone to expedia to sort it out. So be careful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

On arrival the check in was friendly, maybe that was to lull me into a false sense of security.
Once i got to my room i tried to access the wifi, checked the hotel information pack and it said to look for 1 of 3 different connection names, which i found but the booklet didn’t give me the password! Why not include that in your welcome pack?
I tried to ring reception to get this password but couldn’t get through on more than 1 occasion, and this was only to be the start of my problems!
I thought to myself, get a shower and go down stairs, then you can ask for the password, well after moving the shower curtain i noticed the bath was full of pubic hairs, again i tried to ring reception a few more times with no luck! Just to have a shower i had to rinse the bath out? I have photos which i can forward! Let’s not even speak about the toilet, after lifting the lid i can’t describe the urine stains that were there!
Still my night was to get worse! After going downstairs and telling the reception staff about my disgusting finds and asking to speak to a manager i was met with an apology and the offer of a free “pint”
I then for my dinner ordered a jacket potato (advertised in the bar menu with a choice of 2 toppings) with chilli-con-carne and cheese, after a wait of 10-15 minutes the food came, and upon inspection i couldn’t find the chilli-con-carne at all! I showed my meal to the bar staff who said she would sort it out!
By this time i had literally given up on getting any pleasure from my visit so i told the bar maid i didn’t want a replacement, but again i was offered a free pint!
I wonder if all the complaints were met with a free pint, could you afford the bar bill?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just left after a 2 night stay. (2 adults 8yr old daughter + of course the woofer as its a dog friendly hotel) 2nd time for us..don't be put off by reviews saying about external look of hotel. Inside its spacious/clean + rooms are great size. swimming pool is warm/sauna even warmed ha ha! spa pool. All included for free. Towels provided free.

Food is perfect. Rare to find a chef who thinks about kids + preps theirs first so yours is hot but kids don't burn mouth!!

Children's prices are super £4 full Welsh breakfast.

Adults £11 cooked brekkie but you can also help yourself to cereals/toast/juices etc etc.

Room service was excellent.. No room tray charge like elsewhere. Prices cheap. And can bring anything from bar or restaurant menu to you.

We ate from bar menu one night. £9 average cost +children approx £4. They eat of adult menu choices + portions large. Drinks sensibly priced too.

Beach easily reached. Less than 5min stroll. Dogs welcome everywhere off season.

Water park 10 min drive away at Lc2 in swansea is a must if you have children. Water slides/lazy river/area for little ones/soft play area well.

Neros restaurant is lovely + will do a takeout on burger/pizza meals.

Spar shop at back of hotel if need anything.

Recommend visiting gnoll country park in neath £1 parking fee. Massive play parks/feed ducks/woodland walk. Great for kids + dogs

Def going back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.2 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
483 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
5.7 mi away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#5 of 22 in Swansea
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
765 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
609 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing