We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a let down”
Review of Bryn Bettws Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Talbot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Bettws Lodge
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a cabin, and it was such a let down. We were mostly alone there and the place really was deserted. In order to use the facilities such as hose to wash the bike or the drying room you need to phone someone to come and open it. One day we had no electricity almost all day because of a lightning. We were trying to get hold of someone to find out what is happening, but no success. Another time we were waiting in the rain for 20 minutes for someone to come and open the drying room. Eventually we gave up and went back to the cabin. First day we came it was raining like crazy, we were so wet and cold. Sadly the shower and the heating didn't work. Day after the shower was fixed, but it flooded the floor.
The stuff is helpful and kind when you are lucky to get hold of them over the phone or in the lodge. The food they do is priced well, but we were not lucky to see it open after the rides.

If I was not short of time, I would have asked for a refund and go else were. If you have a dry weather then this place would be fine as you don't need the stuff. The location is superb - right on the Y wall near the zigzag section.

It sound like this place is ok when it is full, but defiantly not when it is empty. I give 2 stars just because of its location...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brnzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Arrived late on Friday on train to Neath, reception was closed but a quick call to the owner meant I was sorted within 10 mins. This is very good hostel style accomidation, rooms have bunks and are en suite with bedding included. Owners & Staff could not have been more friendly and the breakfast will set you up very nicely for a day on the trails. Speaking of trails they start from the gate but it is easy find reviews of these. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipp-man-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed in this bunkhouse for a long weekend (three nights) so that we could go mountain biking in the area.
It is well signposted from the nearby village and has plenty of parking. The site is beautiful, with stunning views into the valley. There is plenty of outdoor seating, play area and even a 4X track!
The welcome on our arrival was very friendly and we were shown to our room, which was very well-equipped for a bunkhouse! The room and bathroom was very clean.
We got a cup of tea from the cafe area. The cafe area had picture windows looking out down the valley and also had a bar, television and plenty of seating.

The bunkhouse was fairly busy during our stay but was overall a very quiet, relaxing place to stay.
Breakfast was the biggest surprise of all - absolutely fantastic with almost everything you could think of on offer (sausage, hash browns, baked beans, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, toast). For vegetarians there were veggie sausages and extra eggs/hash browns.
We had dinner at the bunkhouse one night and it was very good. A choice of meal and pudding too!
The only downside was that our room was by the reception area, which had a vending machine which every few minutes went through a refrigeration cycle and sounded like an aeroplane taking off. This meant it was very hard to sleep, so earplugs a must!

Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

loved it. we had 6 of us. worked out cheaper than B&Bs. slept 5 comfortably and one in one of their campbeds. very very freindly. no hassle. didn't even see the owners until i dropped the keys off. good (basic) breakfasts in the cafe. all the basics you'd need (plates, glasses, cuttlery, fairly liquid, tv, power sources, fridge, etc). would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only one room per cabin (sleeps 2). all 4 cabins looked the same. ours was one in the middle and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gareth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Well what a fab time was had at Bryn Bettws, we booked in 16 boys from our Under 11's rugby team in with 6 coaches for an overnight teambuilding experience. Not many places welcome 16, 11yr old boys but Bryn Bettws did and they had a ball. Plenty of outside space to burn off some of their energy, comfy and warm inside the lodge. BBQ was available so they could have a camp fire and toast mashmallows.
If you are looking for somewhere that is relaxed and welcoming then this place is top of the list.
Will we go again, they were all ready discussing it as we packed up this morning. Fantastic :)

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Robby and the team at Bryn Bettws are the perfect hosts. Great laugh. Good facilities - bike wash, bike lock up, DVD and big screen, bar etc. Rooms are always clean and tidy, the food is great and the booze is cheap and freely available. Big fried breakfasts, massive chicken curry. £25 hard to beat.

Plus....great spot to start ride - located at the top of the final descent of The Wall and within a few kilometres of the part of Skyline which leads you to final sections of White's Level....in other words you if you've hit it hard on a Saturday and you want to ease in gently on Sunday morning all the climbing has already been done.

Room for improvements? Jump park gets boggy in patches - needs hard packing down as lose too much speed in mud. When it's quiet it can take a while to find someone if need bike wash / bike lockup - but you could just have a beer while you wait and remember your on holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We just stayed at Bryn Bettws and it was great. very friendly and helpful staff (they may even give you a lift to the train station if you break your ankle!). rooms were clean and the food was great. im not sure what the person who gave the negative comment below was expecting for £25 per night but i can assure you it was great value and perfect for mountain bikers, hikers and alike. Also the kitchens are on full view to the cafe and looked clean to me. Get yourself down there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Talbot hotels
1.7 mi away
Afan Lodge
Afan Lodge
#1 of 7 in Port Talbot
170 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
505 reviews
7.2 mi away
Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm
5.3 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Bettws Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Bettws Lodge

Address: Gyfylchi Farm | Pontrhydyfen, Port Talbot SA12 9SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Port Talbot
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Bryn Bettws Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing