We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely barn lovely host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm
Ranked #2 of 7 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip after booking on late rooms. I phoned ahead as i was going to arrive later than expected and was asked if i would want dinner and Phil offered to book me a table at the local pub which was nice.
when i arrived i was met by Phil in the car park who promptly asked to carry my lugagge and showed me to my room.
The room was a good size, clean, well equipped with a bath.
There is free wifi which was useful as i had little or no phone signal in the barn.
I had a vegetarian breakfast which was okay, the slight negative was my vege sausage was not cooked enough, he apologised and offered to rectify this.
I would stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tayo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I agree with all the comments with regard to the barn B & B.

The proprietors show how it should be done with regard to service, attitude, quality, value and cleanliness, well done.

One little point, not to do with the proprietors, which caused me a problem, is at the present time the railway bridge adjacent to the Barn is closed to road traffic. So if you are coming from the Swansea direction you end up with a big and confusing detour, so make sure you have a detailed map available. Which I did not, my fault.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights to start my Wales roundtrip. Good location for Cardiff and Swansea, close to motorway M4. Bedrooms located in separated part of the listed 16th century building. Thick walls and new windows lead to a good room climate and put the noise of the motorway in the far distance. Good size for British rooms, even for the single room I had. Beds soft and you sleep well on them. The hearty and delicious breakfast is served in the "farm house" part that is lovely decorated. Last but not least, very friendly couple run this B&B, always good for interesting talks discussions about everything. For children: they have chicken, cats and dogs on the premise, funny to watch. They also sell homemade (and selfmade) delicious jam or chunteys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1975Kenny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

What a nice place to stay when you are on the road, driving 7.5 tons of truck and Theatre Set. After my arrival I broke the news that I wouldn't be back for my second night till around 1am in the morning after a Theatre 'Get Out' - no problem. Got in quietly had a great shower in the sparkling bathroom and fell into bed with a cup of hot tea. 'Slept like a Log', very comfortable mattress, quiet room in a very tastefully done up old barn. Stone exposed, some 'arrow' slit windows, character but not overdone. A fantastic full welsh breakfast set me up for the day at 7.30am. I was able to arrange to come again the following week arriving after midnight and letting myself in. I had chose this B&B for its closeness to the M4 which I was having to traverse, and it was great, pretty simple to get to but not so close you would be bothered by traffic noise. NB. there is a low bridge on one route to it, I was okay fully loaded but probably would have got stuck empty!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here on a visit to the UK before getting the Swansea - Cork ferry back home and will be a regular in future. It's in an ideal location with very helpful hosts who made us feel right at home. Nothing was too much. Breakfast was a real treat, the personal touch you get here really makes you feel welcome and we were at the ferry in no time!
Fabulous beaches and walks in the locality too, glad we took the time to look around Wales before coming back home.
There should be more places like this!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingtipCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelKP59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Talbot hotels
5.4 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
7.7 mi away
Afan Lodge
Afan Lodge
#1 of 7 in Port Talbot
175 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 7 in Port Talbot
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
4.7 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
538 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Knights
The Twelve Knights
#3 of 7 in Port Talbot
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm

Address: Water Street | Margam, Port Talbot SA13 2PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range: $97 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The barn is a 16th century grade 2 listed 4*B&B offering 6 ensuite bedrooms 2x single 3x double/twins and a family suite. We opened for business in 2010. We have secure lock up and bike wash for bikes as well as a drying room. Just off the M4 junction 37 or 38 Margam Park,15mins from Swansea city center and the Liberty Stadium, 20 mins from Cardiff and the millemium stadium. Winners of best B&B Swansea bay 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barn B and B at Ty'n Cellar Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barn B And B At Ty'n Cellar Farm Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing