We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Afan Mountain Biking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect for Afan Mountain Biking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Afan Lodge is situated immediately overlooking the trail that links Whites Level and YWall / Penhydd trails, so you couldn't be better located for a mountain biking trip in the area.
Rooms are clean, spacious and all you need for a couple of days. Most of them look out over the valley - great views!
We had a friendly welcome and service throughout our brief stay.
Sitting outside on a warm evening after a full-on day's riding was just what we needed. Food could be better, admittedly, but it filled us right up anyway. Actually the included breakfast was a lot better then expected. Good range of beers, wine etc. in the spacious bar.
There's a bike wash (well, a hose), secure bike storage and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: best ones are looking over the valley (not the road side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    37
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
16
31
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The fabulous location with easy access to great mountain biking and helpful and welcoming family team, didn't quite make up for the dreadful food - the website stated that they sourced local produce whenever possible, I can only assume they have an Iceland nearby! Wish I had read previous reviews advising better eating in Neath.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just come back from 2 nights at this hotel. Location amazing, easy to get to and value for money brilliant. Richard and Louise made my stay great. Personal attention was helpful, I travelled on my own, had a great room, clean, spacious, beautiful views. Great place for a novice bike rider or walker. I have never trail biked before. Food was excellent with a great breakfast. i went during the week so not so busy with other bikers. really did feel like I had "escaped". No mobile coverage here which suited me. Cant wait to go back and try something more challenging in this beautiful forest. Thanks richard and Louise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three days this is a great location with good facilities . Record heat so it was good to have to have air conditioning at night. Breakfast was excellent as was the dinner prepared by Vicky in the kitchen . Meat was locally sourced from the Gower. The bar guy James was friendly and recommended the local Neath ale which the beer lovers liked a lot. Of course the hotel is a great attraction for hard core cyclists because of the highly rated trails . However, for the casual cyclists it seems there are long flat trails on old rail tracks and we had a long walk along the lower level. All in all a great place for local trips but also good for walks and chill out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic place, the staff were absolutely amazing, Richard made us all feel so welcome and Wyn was a legend. Afan Lodge was everything you could wish for and more. 11 girls headed to conquer the trails of Afan Forest and after a hard day in the saddle what could have been better than to come back for a well deserved drink and a delicious bite to eat in the lovely restaurant. The lady who served us breakfast was brilliant and so accommodating. We stayed in one of the family rooms and there was bags of room and it was so clean and tidy, there were even containers to put our muddy clothes in. We are just sorting out a date to come back for next year as this place is well worth revisiting. Thank you to everyone at Afan Lodge for making our girls trip away such a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyHollyHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this weekend for my partners 30th birthday and couldn't of asked for a better weekend. Every staff member we encountered was really friendly and helpful. We had plans to go into Swansea on the second night for dinner but after eating in Afan's restaurant the first night we went back there instead. This place is paradise in the middle of nowhere. The views are breath taking and the hotel its self is beautiful. We will definately return and take our two small children with us. Could not fault anything. A truly lovely weekend thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernlouise09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just can't understand why this hotel received any bad reviews

We have stayed there 3 times over the last 3 years

Just returned from another 3 day mountain bike holiday
At afan
There was 8 in our party
And without exception we cannot praise the staff and manager at the Afan lodge enough

The rooms were exceptionally clean and spotless
The Resturant food was so good that there was no need to go anywhere else for food
We can recommend the steak and ribs special
there is a reasonable selection of veggie option on the menus

A hearty breakfast is included to set you up for a days mtb ing
Although I couldn't talk the cook to do me a bit of fried bread

Although the bar was meant to be closed on the monday The manager opened the bar in the afternoon especially for us to have a drink after a hard days riding

They provide a safe storage place for the bikes and a hose and water to wash the bikes
The manager is a mountain biker and does guided tours and an up lift facility
They have an extensive knowledge of the mountains
And provided hand written maps of other trails not on the main maps
They provide a safe storage place for the bikes and a hose and water to wash the bikes

This is not the first visit to Afan lodge and we all intend to return next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Port Talbot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afan Lodge

Property: Afan Lodge
Address: Afan Road, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afan Hotel Port Talbot
Afan Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing