We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Afan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Port Talbot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great find”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a fantastic place, the staff were absolutely amazing, Richard made us all feel so welcome and Wyn was a legend. Afan Lodge was everything you could wish for and more. 11 girls headed to conquer the trails of Afan Forest and after a hard day in the saddle what could have been better than to come back for a well deserved drink and a delicious bite to eat in the lovely restaurant. The lady who served us breakfast was brilliant and so accommodating. We stayed in one of the family rooms and there was bags of room and it was so clean and tidy, there were even containers to put our muddy clothes in. We are just sorting out a date to come back for next year as this place is well worth revisiting. Thank you to everyone at Afan Lodge for making our girls trip away such a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyHollyHandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
34
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked this weekend for my partners 30th birthday and couldn't of asked for a better weekend. Every staff member we encountered was really friendly and helpful. We had plans to go into Swansea on the second night for dinner but after eating in Afan's restaurant the first night we went back there instead. This place is paradise in the middle of nowhere. The views are breath taking and the hotel its self is beautiful. We will definately return and take our two small children with us. Could not fault anything. A truly lovely weekend thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernlouise09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just can't understand why this hotel received any bad reviews

We have stayed there 3 times over the last 3 years

Just returned from another 3 day mountain bike holiday
At afan
There was 8 in our party
And without exception we cannot praise the staff and manager at the Afan lodge enough

The rooms were exceptionally clean and spotless
The Resturant food was so good that there was no need to go anywhere else for food
We can recommend the steak and ribs special
there is a reasonable selection of veggie option on the menus

A hearty breakfast is included to set you up for a days mtb ing
Although I couldn't talk the cook to do me a bit of fried bread

Although the bar was meant to be closed on the monday The manager opened the bar in the afternoon especially for us to have a drink after a hard days riding

They provide a safe storage place for the bikes and a hose and water to wash the bikes
The manager is a mountain biker and does guided tours and an up lift facility
They have an extensive knowledge of the mountains
And provided hand written maps of other trails not on the main maps
They provide a safe storage place for the bikes and a hose and water to wash the bikes

This is not the first visit to Afan lodge and we all intend to return next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Dude
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great - activity lead location , with dedicated access to the local trails , and a discrete but friendly vibe, with great food , beers (with great local specials ) and sofas in which to recount the adventures of the day - or contemplate the stunning view .
Breakfast is great , with friendly approachable staff helping you to fuel up for the days adventures .
Id recommend this place to my friends .......................

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeDude049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great value place for mountain bikers and walkers right in the action zone. Great restaurant with good size meals, big english breakfast. Fantastic views, clean rooms. The guys are all bike nuts, always helpful, on advice of the trials, big thanks. Plus some great ales. Sweet !!!!!!! Ps and the sun shone all weekend........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stifford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Afan Lodge. We usually travel in a group of 8-10 and the hotel staff are always very accommodating.

The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the M4.

Catering predominately for mountain bikers you would imagine the place would be full of muddy and sweaty bikers, but it couldn't be further from the truth. The first thing I noticed about the Afan Lodge was how clean and modern everything is.

The beds are very comfortable, the restaurant is great, the breakfasts are always top notch, your bike is kept in a secure lock up and they serve a great post ride pint.

Why even chance anywhere else?

Room Tip: Stay away from us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Afan Lodge has a perfect setting with beautiful views over the valley and immediate access to lots of mountain bike and walking trails. The wide open spaces and beautiful views came as a pleasant surprise given how close the area is to the M4 - normally this sort of scenery can only be found an hour or two from the nearest motorway. The lodge itself is spotlessly clean and tidy and has everything you want, but nothing that you don't want, with clean simple and comfortable rooms. The food is very nice pub food (steak, scampi, sandwiches etc), served very quickly and efficiently, and when we were there they had a couple of local micro-brewery real ales on tap which were absolutely delicious.

Afan Lodge have an excellent relationship with a local bike hire company, and when we arrived our very good quality hire bikes (one of them brand new) were there ready for us along with our guide for they day, who was brilliant and we'd highly recommend paying the extra for a guided tour, at least on the first day.

Lastly, but perhaps most importantly, every member of staff that we spoke to was very enthusiastic, friendly, helpful and welcoming.

We'd definitely stay here again - for a short break mountain biking or walking I can't think of a single way it could be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
6.5 mi away
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
5.5 mi away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
483 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The BlueBell Hotel
The BlueBell Hotel
#1 of 3 in Neath
315 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
609 reviews
10.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 22 in Swansea
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afan Lodge

Property: Afan Lodge
Address: Afan Road, Port Talbot SA13 3ES, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Talbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Afan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afan Hotel Port Talbot
Afan Lodge Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing